We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ali Shungu Mountaintop Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$105
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Mojanda(Otavalo)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$19
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Coraza(Otavalo)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
165
2
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
2
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenindigenous artdrinking waterbedroom and bathroomwould love to go backits charmsitting roomfrankpropertytownstovesuvbolivia
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 169 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 4 peaceful nights enjoying the first part of out trip through the Ecuadoran Sierra. Hidden away on a hillside with a gorgeous panoramic view of two volcanic peaks, the lodge is a perfect place to slow down and remember what its like not to have a frantic schedule. Frank is a great host whose many years in the area make him a good source of local information. You can chill out in the large, comfortable and attractive "cabins" or choose from a list of local activities and excursions that Frank is very helpful in explaining. He works with a couple of reliable, affordable drivers who can take you to a variety of places.
Cant believe I havent mentioned the food yet! Abundant, delicious, healthy vegetarian feasts for breakfast and dinner, and home made soups available if you're there for lunch. The local girls who work in the kitchen and restaurant are wonderful-- sweet and talented people. And a cozy fire will be waiting for you in your cabin when the sun goes down.
I completely recommend the comfortable hospitality of AliShungu if you're going to Otavalo.

Room Tip: Not a bad location on the property. All guest houses have a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodBruja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Frank and Margaret's Ali Shungu Mountaintop Lodge exceeded my expectations - great location, great property, great view, great food, and awesome hosts. The staff was wonderful. We felt welcomed. The guest houses were well appointed. We want to go back...and stay longer. I have a feeling we will be seeing Frank and Margaret again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

A rough and bumpy ride brought us to this idealic guest house away from busy downtown Otavalo. The cottages were huge, clean and very well appointed. The 2 meals a day were amazingly fresh and well sorced with many of the items coming from the garden. Frank and his wife were the font of all knowledge having lived in the area for over 20 years. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous mountaintop guesthouse with jaw dropping views. Spacious, tastefully decorated accommodation. Service includes a constantly tended wood stove and hot water bottles in our beds. Locally produced, healthy and tasty meals. Frank and Margaret were great hosts. Be sure to visit Margaret's gift shop. Highest quality crafts we saw on our whole trip. Horses, llamas, chickens, amd dogs on property add to the ambience. Frank can arrange a very reasonable driver and suggest very interesting stops, including a shaman! Also pick up and return to Quito Airport at reasonable price. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierro3816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Such a stunning location and spacious cottages. The perfect location for respite after the jungle and beach. Francisco, Juan Maria and their crew were on top of every single detail to ensure that our stay was exactly what we wanted. Exploring the area was very easy with Francisco's coordination and Fabian's driving. Returning to the lodge each afternoon was a delight with well stoked fires prepared, filling meals and a hot water bottle for bedtime.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MECLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews