We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I will come back!”
other travelers have booked this property
Entering your living room in Casa Moinca
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering your living room in Casa Moinca
Casa Ana... a delightful place to visit Your living room in Casa Monica...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Entering your living room in Casa Moinca
Casa Ana... a delightful place to visit
Your living room in Casa Monica...
Your dining room in Casa Monica
Your kitchen in Casa Monica
Enjoying a wonderful meal...
Family time...
Your master bedroom in Casa Monica
Dreamy, your bedrooms in Casa Monica.
Whimsical... your bedroom in Casa Monica.
Fun with our farm animals...
Casa Monica from outside...
Building an outdoor grill with river rocks... Children love this...
Your hosts in Casa Monica, Janine & David
Your master bedroom in Casa Ana...
Your 2nd bedroom in Casa Ana...
One of your lovely bedrooms in Casa Ana...
Your dining room in Casa Ana...
Your living room in Casa Ana...
Your den in Casa Ana...
Walking around our ranch...
Now we can make homemade cheese...
Free to run...
The cycle of life...  begins...
Horseback riding lesson...
If you want you can help us work the land... Optional and great fun!
Gathering veggies from our organic garden...
We loved our visit...
Freshly eggs...
We are off on an adventure...
Visiting some off the beaten track sights... what an experience!
Visiting the market area...
More of the market area...
Finding our way through some caves...
A local festival...
Picking corn to make humitas...
Grinding the corn to make humitas
Now we will cook the corn to make humitas...
Our visitors having fun milking the cow at sunset...
The waterfall at the end of our valley...  you can hike there from your villa!
The local animal market...
Otavalo market... get ready to discover wonderful souvenirs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Otavalo, Imbabura Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
toralac
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will come back!”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I was looking for a special experience to offer to my family and particularly young children for their first visit to Ecuador. I wanted to share with them some of the moments and feelings I had when I was young in a few haciendas in Ecuador. Hacienda San Juan de la Vega exceeded my expectations, Janine, her husband and all the staff we met made very enjoyable every hour we spent there. The place offers magnificent views, nature is splendid, there are plenty of activities to keep everybody busy all day long. My kids asked me that next time we go to Ecuador instead of visiting all the country we should just stay at Hacienda San Juan de la Vega.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nature
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
We are soooo thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you visit once again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alloverth...
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ecuador Dude Ranch!”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the moment we arrived, we knew we were somewhere special. Patricio greeted us with a welcoming smile and within a few minutes a beautiful salmon and veggie dinner was laid out for our family of 6. The lodging is homey and comfortable, down to the fireplaces and the down comforters. We were encouraged to go out on the horses for a trail ride in the hills surrounding the hacienda, collect our own eggs from the chicken coop, and milk the cows. If we wanted salad, there was great lettuce, broccoli, spices, and squash in the "all you can gather" garden. We felt far removed from the hustle-bustle of Otavalo's market, but when we wanted to shop there, we were only 25 minutes away. We would highly recommend Hacienda San Juan de la Vega for your next stay, but you'd better book quickly, because we're going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great hospitality in the clear mountain air.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda...
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Ecuador”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in San Juan de la Vega for one night with my Ecuadorian parents and my U.S. American husband. We were in Ecuador for around 10 days and the 2 days we were in this beautiful hacienda were definitely the highlight of our trip. Some of the place caretakers, Patricio, his wife and Sandra took excellent care of us. They made sure our fireplace was on whenever we wanted; the meals they prepared were amazing and Patricio was a great guide during the beautiful hike we did.

The scenery around the place is amazing. My husband mentioned that it looked like we were in a movie. The house we stayed in was gorgeous and had everything we needed.

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the lake area of the Ecuadorean highlands. Personally, I am already looking forward to bringing my in-laws for a bit longer stay than what we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Fairway, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Like home, only better!”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

San Juan de la Vega is an amazing place, full of fun (and peaceful!) activities for the whole family. The staff took exceptional care of us and made the week we stayed truly memorable. The kids (daughter-8, son-6) loved helping out with farm "chores", and they felt very important. The animals are all lovingly cared for, and the dogs were loyal to us even after only a few days! Down to the smallest detail, I would recommend this place to anyone looking to experience the beauty of Ecuador up close and personal. You'll wake up to a breathtaking view of cloud-tipped mountains right outside your window. (And, if you need rubber boots, never fear! A variety of sizes, from kids to adults, are provided! That's the kind of detail you can expect!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisasteve...
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas Enchantment”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My family and I, first time visitors to SA and Ecuador, arrived Christmas night after our days in the Amazon, to a stunning hacienda, ablaze in lights, warmed with fireplaces, and greeted by Patricio and the rest of the staff. A wonderful dinner prepared by the staff was soon waiting for us on the table. The house, its furnishings, bedding, bathrooms,kitchen appointments, staff, and comforts are top tier and will please even the most discerning traveller. The valley that the hacienda sits in feels like an emerald green Shangri-La and I regret not having an additional day in my itinerary to just stay put. The added bonus of the house is the owner, Janine, who ever so patiently responded to my voluminous emails, and worked with me to set up a very busy itinerary for visiting the local sights. Her attention to detail was appreciated and followup during our stay was invaluable. The house, the staff, the location, and the owner combine to put Hacienda San Juan de la Vega as one of the very best rental experiences one could ask for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was perfect but the resplendent rose bouquets made (mom) my day! Thank you
Liked least: It was perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn B
Quito, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal stay!”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My group of 6 had an incredible weekend at San Juan de la Vega! We were blown away by every detail. From the ridiculously beautiful house to the picturesque scenery with flowers galore - everything about this visit exceeded our expectations. Also, the kind staff not only organize your activities (milking cows, horseback riding, cheese making), but also build fires each night and help do dishes - both are very, very appreciated! I am so thankful to have found this gem and plan on returning as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The home felt so cozy with soft mattresses and 2 fireplaces!
Liked least: That we didn't get to stay longer!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulinara...
Quito, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST PLACE EVER!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

It´s the best place ever to stay if you have kids or only adults. There are a lot of things to do, and it´s teh best place to relax from the city and really have peace. Go, visit, relax, have fun and enjoy family time and nature!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It´s a place like your own
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing