We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum...spicy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taco Bello

Taco Bello
Ranked #11 of 63 Restaurants in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yum...spicy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I like Ecuadorean food, but after a while, it can seem rather bland. The sauce here had a nice bite to it, and the guacamole is freshly made and delicious. Food is very reasonably priced as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go see Carlos, watch 80s music videos, and drink Margs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Title says it all. My GF had an internship in Otavalo for 4 months so we developed a habit for going to Taco Bello at least once a week. We both worked service industry jobs in the states and it was refreshing to see Carlos have such a hands-on approach to running and managing a restaurant. He is incredibly friendly and accommodating, speaks English even though we both can speak Spanish, and is overall just a great proprietor. The margaritas are the best you will find in Otavalo, and the food is pretty good. I will say that if you go, get an almuerzo or merienda combo. As of writing this review, an almuerzo/merienda costs $2.50, comes with a (drink maybe) soup, and a mexican plate of your choosing with rice and beans. This pricing scheme is absolutely loco. Consider this, a two taco platter w/ rice and beans is something like $4. If you get an almuerzo with two tacos, you get soup plus the SAME two taco platter for $2.50. It makes me feel like I am taking advantage of Carlos, but it's a hell of a deal. So like I said, go see Carlos, watch the music videos, (or World Cup as it happens to be right now) and drink margaritas. You should not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on these margaritas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We hadn't been seated for even a minute when the free guacamole and homemade tortilla chips appeared on our table, followed by some delicious hot salsa and the menus. We had the chicken enchiladas and quesadillas, both delicious. Not the best Mexican food we've ever had, but maybe the best Mexican food in Ecuador. The margaritas are 5-star, nice and tart, and for the price, can't be beat. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hgavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecuador
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love The Margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This place was recommended by visiting friends from Durango, CO, so we tried it. Although the Mexican food is nowhere near as good as in the States, it's decent enough to come again. I got the enchiladas, Fred got the burrito (rice and beans included) and those meals included a plate of nachos--their version--along with a healthy portion of freshly made guacamole. Their tortilla chips are homemade and good. After Fred tasted my margarita he decided to order one himself -- and he never orders that drink! It was gringo-cold and just right. Then after our meals came, we were served a 2nd bowl of that good guacamole. A friendly place. Eaten here many times since. I happen to really like his margaritas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank retiretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atuntaqui, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good Mexican food for Ecuador, GREAT MARGARITA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The food here was very good by Ecuadorian standards of Mexican food. Trust me, you can't find the ingredients here to make it "just right." I try, but its hard. Still, worthy effort, good guac. Even harder to find good tequila here, and someone who knows what to do with it. This guy, who is very nice by the way, know what to do with his Jose Cuervo. It's worth the trip just to savor that sour salty goodness once again. Ah.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Bello also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Taco Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing