We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Mexican food for Ecuador, GREAT MARGARITA”
Review of Taco Bello

Taco Bello
Ranked #12 of 70 Restaurants in Otavalo
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Atuntaqui, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good Mexican food for Ecuador, GREAT MARGARITA”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The food here was very good by Ecuadorian standards of Mexican food. Trust me, you can't find the ingredients here to make it "just right." I try, but its hard. Still, worthy effort, good guac. Even harder to find good tequila here, and someone who knows what to do with it. This guy, who is very nice by the way, know what to do with his Jose Cuervo. It's worth the trip just to savor that sour salty goodness once again. Ah.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Being from Texas, it is important to get your Mexican food fix when you can and Carlos at Taco Bell does as good a job as anyone I have found in Ecuador. While it is not up to Texas standards, beggars cannot be choosers. He has a great little salsa bar, plenty of chips and guacamole, and they even have jalapeños, if you ask. The main hot pepper in Ecuador is aji, which is fine, but it is always nice to get jalapeños when you can find them. All the dishes on the menu are cheap and fairly well prepared. Plenty of bang for the buck! Definitely worth trying if you are shopping in the market on weekends or are simply lucky enough to find yourself in Otavalo.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrWestalke82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, EC
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food. Good Price.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I went here with some friends. The food was good, especially when you consider the price. I had a fajita lunch for $2.99. My Husband had a burrito. The lady at the next table, who we struck up a conversation with, had a huge plate of nachos and a glass of juice for $2. Everything was fresh and tasty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsburgh, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Taco Bell of Ecuador, in Otavalo”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Loved this little place, lunch specials of $2.50, fresh juice, beef and chicken tacos, with hot sauce and avocado on the side. Beans and rice.
I have been introducing my friends from the Intag Valley to this place and they loved it too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceCanada1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rionegro, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Great Eats!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Taco Bello has awesome LA-style tacos, flautas and other dishes at super prices!

This is not a formal eatery, and isn't a place to go for fine dining, and isn't really cut out for vegetarians, either.

However, it's great for a casual bite after shopping or riding buses. The owner makes his own nachos which are delicious and can be served with meat and white cheese if you request. There is pico de gallo and guacamole available - both are good! It's an excellent place for budget travellers or those who spent more than planned on artesanias!

The owner escaped the rat race after living some years in Los Angeles and now has the most wonderful commute in the world - a short walk downstairs!

Taco Bello compares favorably with almost all budget-priced Mexican food that I have eaten in California and Texas (which cost more). It may not be high-end culinary Mexican, but it is decent within its price range. And, it's a super alternative to bland Ecuadorian food.

The only suggestion I would have would be to experiment with a couple other types of salsa and have a small salsa bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R_S_10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Bello also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Taco Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing