We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Mojanda is a unique experience in the Ecuadorian sierra”
Review of Casa Mojanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Mojanda
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Roseneath, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casa Mojanda is a unique experience in the Ecuadorian sierra”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

In Feb. 2014 six of us Canadians spent a memorable four days at Casa Mojanda - a series of comfortable cabinas appropriately constructed to fit into a hillside setting with panoramic views, and having excellent relations with the neighbouring indigenous Minga (community). Casa Mojanda is an ideal spot from which to access the Otavalo valley and its many artisan villages. However, you can walk to a waterfall, horseback ride, or soak in an outdoor hot tub right on/from the hotel's premises. Then there is the question of the delicious meals served in their restaurant... where you can also meet some of the very interesting owners of some of the other cabinas (yes you can buy one, or purchase a plot of land on which to construct your own). The 'management' and 'staff' quickly accepted us as part of a larger familia. The owners showed a willingness to engage with us in a broader political discussion of events in the country and in the region, something that we appreciated and that is not often experienced in other 'tourist' destinations. We were also accorded one staff member we could turn to help us plan the various visits that filled the interesting days spent this part of the Ecuadorian sierra. On our final night the local Minga-based group Ali Huayra brought their traditional music to the dining room, and everyone was soon up and dancing. After the warmth of the hospitality enjoyed at Casa Mojanda and experienced in the Otavalo valley generally, were we keen to return to the minus 20 degree weather in Canada...? I think not!

Room Tip: All the cabinas/rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
87
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

In October 2013, I came back from my 7th visit to Casa Mojanda over the past 10 years. It is truly a magical place that has become a regular part of my life even though my home is in Toronto. I have had the good fortune to share Casa Mojanda with many family members and friends of all ages and they each have left with the same love and enthusiasm for this very special place, particularly my daughters aged 17 and 21. We are really hoping to buy a vacation home there one day. My visits have ranged in length of stay from 1 to 3 weeks and with each visit, regardless of the fact that I have explored the region extensively, I always find new and wonderful things to see and do and I am constantly amazed by the breathtaking beauty and cultural diversity. A few years ago, I began working on a Casa Mojanda cookbook in response to the rather high demand by guests, and I have been working closely with Betti, the resident owner and her wonderful and dedicated kitchen staff. The cookbook project has grown in scope in an attempt to capture the rich local culture and traditions, and so it is now back-ordered and we hope to be able to complete the new book within the next year.

During my last three visits, I have come to fully realize how important the hosting at Casa Mojanda is. I must thank Betti the owner, who is in many ways the heart and soul of Casa Mojanda, for her extraordinary dedication to detail and her personal care for her guests. I see that recent reviews have also extolled the friendly helpful owners and staff at Casa Mojanda and to me that is the singular factor which makes it much more than just a hotel or resort in a gorgeous setting. Betti´s partner Steve is a delight, as interesting and knowledgeable as he is sociable, and very helpful to guests in planning their adventures. Some of the assistant managers over the past few years have not, to be honest, been as knowledgeable, but Steve and Betti are always there keeping an eye out and keeping the music and conversation flowing at meals. If you are a musician or singer, as I am, there is always opportunity to play one of the many instruments available in the dining room, sing or just enjoy the music. I am an enthusiastic and very experienced horse-person and my daughters and I love to ride their beautiful and gentle Peruvian Paso horses. We have enjoyed many extraordinary rides in the area over the years. However, one of my last two rides was unfortunately poorly planned and poorly supervised. I strongly suggest that if you are planning to ride here, make sure that Betti either goes out with you or is in the paddock before you start the ride so you can have a very helpful (and free) lesson to go over the basics before you leave, especially since the guides speak very little English. That said, the trails are gorgeous, and my horse riding at Casa Mojanda has been some of the best I have ever done.

Although I wasn’t able to visit this year for New Years (always such great fun), I know I will be back again before long.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wordancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Casa Mojanda gives its guests an atmosphere of home and comfort. This region of Ecuador is known for its friendly culture and beautiful landscape and Casa Mojanda epitomizes these qualities.

Breakfast and Dinner are served communal-style giving guests the opportunity to mingle and meet people from around the world. The owner and his staff are friendly and join their guests for dinner.

It's just outside of town and a quick taxi ride (arranged by the lodge) will quickly take you where you want to go. If you're interested in the markets on Saturday, getting a peak at the smaller communities and their handicrafts, visiting Laguna Cuicocha or shopping for leather goods in Cotacachi you're close enough to fill in several days of activities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMojanda, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa Mojanda, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much, farrkristin, fo such a wanderful review about Casa Mojanda. We and our staff deeply appreciate it. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Casa Mojanda provided me with my first South American experience and it was beautiful.

You can't help but be amazed by the view and the location. The view from our window every morning was of the snow increasing or decreasing on a mountain peak across the valley. The grounds are beautiful and the buildings follow the natural slope of the terrain. The buildings are in excellent condition, and traditional in design and construction. If you want the true local experience, as opposed bland Holiday Inn, you will love your cottage. There is a fireplace in the corner which they light for you each night if it is cool.

Betti, the owner, was a great den mother, always making sure that we were well taken care of. Need a massage? She knows the guy. Horseback riding? She arranges tours for beginners and experts. Eco-tours? She has the perfect location in the mountains and has been doing them for years.

The food and service were excellent. Soups are tasty and home made from ingredients grown on the property. All meals are traditional South American cuisine so, like the accommodation, you get an authentic local experience. They have beautiful terraced gardens in which they grow organically most of the produce they use in cooking. They even have small livestock, also raised organically, that they use for meals. What isn't grown on the property is bought from the markets in Otavalo, which is only about 10 minutes away.

Otavalo, is a beautiful town that gives you both an urban-ish experience ("ish" because it is a town, not a city) and an indigenous one. It has at least three markets, all of which are really cool. The food market in the middle of town has fruits, vegetables and mostly cooked meat, all sourced locally. The crafts market, also in the middle of town, has beautiful indigenous clothes, fabrics and tchotchkes. You just have to be careful to get the authentic ones and not the polyester ones. Early on Saturday morning is the livestock market, which is awesome!

The best compliment I can pay is that I will go back to Casa Mojanda!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irchamandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pachamamacita, Owner at Casa Mojanda, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
It was wonderful to host you on your very first trip to Ecuador, which I hope will be the first of many. We are so pleased that you enjoyed what we offer at Casa Mojanda. Thanks for your kind words and for the great photos too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilcabamba, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you like beautiful places, memorable dining experiences, exceptional conversations and good music playing quietly in the background this is a rare find because this is that kind of experience.

Casa Mojanda offers great food. In Ecuador where the food is often mediocre this is a remarkable and rare find. We watched the staff harvesting blackberries from their extensive organic gardens (which are watered by the incredible, highly mineralized, pure water and grown in the incredibly fertile soil n this area) - the blackberries became both fresh juice and a fresh blackberry tart for dinner. Each night all of the meals where fresh from the garden and right to the table. To come here just for the food would be easy to do.

But the place is so special. There is a library, horses, llamas, hikes to waterfalls, high ceilings and great art. This place has the feeling of being tucked away in a great vineyard up in Napa, California sharing wonderful harvest meals with some great friends. Evenings on the hillside soaking in the hot Japanese bath under the moonlit stars is perfection. The air is cool and the bath is hot which makes it such a wonderful combination.

If you are in Otavalo and any of these things appeal to you - you must come here. After all there is so much more time in a day than just great shopping.

Room Tip: The only place to eat if you like organic food in Northern Ecuador.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UniverseCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMojanda, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa Mojanda, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you so much for such an amazing review! We deeply appreciate it. We hope to have you sometime again with us at Casa Mojanda!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a lovely 4 days or rest, relaxation and fantastic food at Casa Mojanda. Diego was so welcoming and helpful and everything was arranged to our satisfaction. From the horseback ride, tour of artisans in Otavela, the cab rides to and from the airport and markets and the outdoor hot tub, we saw and did so much in the time we had in this beautiful place before embarking to the Galapagos islands. Highly recommend coming here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 but I think all the cabins are nice. You may need them to get a fire started f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nprytuluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMojanda, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa Mojanda, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Only a short note to thank you for this review that says so much in a few sentences. Hope your adventure in Galapagos was a great one!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

All of the reviews we have read confirm the experience we had here. Diego, Umberto and the kitchen staff, not to mention Gustavo the wrangler, were first class. It was as much an experience as just a place to stay. The communal dinners might not be for everyone, but we found them to be a great way to interact with fellow travelers and a lot of fun. The food was just outstanding! The best we had anywhere in Ecuador. This place was definitely a highlight of our trip to Ecuador, and we hope to be able to return soon.

Room Tip: Each room is a private "cabin", so you really cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pachamamacita, Owner at Casa Mojanda, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Am so delighted that you enjoyed the Casa Mojanda "experience!" I totally agree that communal dining is a huge part of the fun, but we do offer the option of solo dining if for any reason and at any meal, guests prefer their own table. It always surprises me how very few of such requests we get, but we won't feel snubbed if anyone opts for a separate table.
Thanks for your lovely comments. We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
21.6 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
6.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
7.0 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 28 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mojanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mojanda

Property: Casa Mojanda
Address: Apartado 160 | Km. 3.8 via a Mojanda, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mojanda 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mojanda operates on the basis of a firm and ongoing commitment to the principles and practices of ecological tourism and contribution to the surrounding community. Casa Mojanda was designed to have a minimally intrusive impact on our local ecosystem and culture. We believe that ecotourism operations must at a minimum “do no harm,” and be sustainable socio-economically and environmentally, as well as harmonious with and actively supportive of indigenous traditions and cultures. When it comes to lodgings and resorts, we believe that small is beautiful. By keeping Casa Mojanda large in vision but small in scale, we are able to interact with our guests personally, and whenever there is interest, we will connect visitors with local schools, clinics and environmental projects. Each guest is a part of this ongoing process and your feedback and participation are most welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Mojanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mojanda Otavalo
Casa Mojanda Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing