We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven near Otavalo!”
Review of Casa Mojanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Mojanda
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Casa Mojanda was a great weekend escape from living in Quito. My husband and I went there on a Saturday morning and left on Sunday. Diego, the owner was gracious. The cabins were beautiful and the food from their garden was outstanding. There was good hiking all around. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time there.

Room Tip: All the rooms were away from the main house so I would think they would all be quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CML2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Casa Mojanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from ecuador...casa mojanda is "wow"...views,food,staff,lodging and location...short walk or cab ride into town ....do not miss the mojando lakes just up the road....was perfect place to unwind after trip to the jungle...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff12340007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

At 11 pm after an 18-hour travel day, one of the inn's owners welcomed me into the enchanting dining room and then personally served enchiladas mole made with fine, dark Ecuadorian chocolate... and it just got better from there. Casa Mojanda is breathtakingly beautiful. You will be hard pressed to find better food than what is so lovingly prepared there, and special diets are accommodated from the organic garden. There are also many nearby opportunities to immerse yourself in nature and in the cultures of the Andes. But it is the warmth and care of the staff and owners that will soon make you feel that Casa Mojanda is your place, too.

Room Tip: I was in what they call a "dorm" room, which was a beautiful private room with bath and in...
Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Jody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The place is beautiful and well kept, the gardens are incredible, and we had the best food we ate anywhere during our week in Ecuador. We took taxi rides to town and other nearby sights. It's sort of like being a guest in someone's home, the staff is very warm and genuinely like to help out.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank andy1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Located just a bit away from the built-up part of Otovalo, with gorgeous views towards snow-capped volcanoes, Casa Mojanda was perfect for us: in the country but with all of the amenities of the town.
The ambience is superb: no trip to a meal (all yummy) happened without one of the artefacts or artwork demanding a stop for a better look. The staff is smiling and helpful and Catherine manages all with grace and charm.
Comfy cabin with lovely fire to take the evening chill off the room.
If we're lucky enough to return to Otovalo, this is definitely where we'll stay - with great anticipation and pleasure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family of 4 stayed at Casa Mojanda for three nights in late March 2013 and loved every minute. The rooms and grounds are beautiful and furnished with a great eye for detail. The food - much of it grown in the organic garden right outside the kitchen - is truly exceptional. And the staff couldn't have been nicer. I came home with several recipes for the amazing soups they served at each dinner. (Make sure you have an afternoon snack of popcorn, served with fried garlic and onions.) The hot tub is a great experience - no chemicals! The market town of Otavalo is a quick, $4 taxi ride away. There are llamas on the property, and Mojanda offers horseback riding and hiking trips.There are great hikes to dormant volcanoes/crater lakes nearby.
One note: You'll need to bring your own shampoo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKTrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Private cabins, excellent food (mostly vegetarian and organically grown), warm, caring service--and a large, well-organized library, miles above the usual handful of books left behind by previous guests--make this quiet spot a great getaway. There's an outdoor hot tub and a viewing room full of DVDs. If you like horseback riding, they can provide mounts and a guide. Hiking is another option, and a separate space is dedicated to yoga and various New Age practices. You'll need a car or cab to get into Otavalo.

Room Tip: Since each cabin is private, they're all good choices.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momkat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
21.6 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
6.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#4 of 14 in Otavalo
118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#2 of 14 in Otavalo
145 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
#11 of 14 in Otavalo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mojanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mojanda

Address: Apartado 160 | Km. 3.8 via a Mojanda, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range: $157 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mojanda 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mojanda operates on the basis of a firm and ongoing commitment to the principles and practices of ecological tourism and contribution to the surrounding community. Casa Mojanda was designed to have a minimally intrusive impact on our local ecosystem and culture. We believe that ecotourism operations must at a minimum “do no harm,” and be sustainable socio-economically and environmentally, as well as harmonious with and actively supportive of indigenous traditions and cultures. When it comes to lodgings and resorts, we believe that small is beautiful. By keeping Casa Mojanda large in vision but small in scale, we are able to interact with our guests personally, and whenever there is interest, we will connect visitors with local schools, clinics and environmental projects. Each guest is a part of this ongoing process and your feedback and participation are most welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Casa Mojanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mojanda Otavalo
Casa Mojanda Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing