We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful spot, relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mojanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Mojanda
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“beautiful spot, relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The staff was wonderful to us. They heated up the soaking tub before we sat out there after dinner. What an amazing spot to watch the stars. The food was great. Sadly, the hiking didn't happen as the rain turned the trails into mudbogs. A totally relaxing place to spend a rainy couple of days. The room was beautiful, the fireplace was lit for us during dinner. We should have taken the hint of extra blankets on a shelf - even with the fire and the space heater - we were chilly while sleeping - our fault!

Room Tip: Use the blankets :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    17
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
83
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
danville, California, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at Casa Mojanda in late Feb. 2012 and didn't want to leave. First, they sent a car to pick us up from our hotel in Quito, which arrived exactly when they said it would. Upon arrival, we were taken to our room which was actually it's own little casita, right next to the amazing library. The room was very spacious, furnished artfully, with a writing desk, an extra bed, a fireplace in the corner (that would be lit for us each day) and a big bathroom - the high ceiling made it feel even bigger. Our view was of the snow capped Cotopachi volcano. We utilized the wood fired hot-tub, and settled in. The food at Mojanda far exceeded our expectations - plentiful, inventive, local, healthy and very, very delicious. The dining room was a great place to hang out before/after meals - huge room with very high beamed ceilings, lots of art & antiques and musical instruments, and a nice fire in the corner. Anytime we wanted coffee or tea or snacks, the staff/cooks catered to our needs. The service was very personal and friendly. We spent quite a bit of time around mealtimes chatting with the other guests/travelers, and with our hosts Betti and Steve, who were always helpful with any questions and very gracious. If it wasn't for Steve, we wouldn't have checked out the bird sanctuary/condor park, which was one of the highlights of the visit. Gustavo, one of the staff, drove us to the park and gave us a tour - fantastic afternoon, and opportunity to see many types of raptors/owls/eagles/condors up close. Daniel, the manager, arranged several other activities for us - touring local villages/authentic crafts shops, walk to the Mojanda lakes, and of course the famous Otavalo Market, including the live animal market. Betti & Steve actually joined us and a bunch of other guests to the market on Saturday, and Betti purchased two alpacas!
There are numerous hiking trails that you can take directly from Mojanda - one to a nearby waterfall. Just up the road (by car, that is) 20 minutes away or so is Mojanda Lakes, a beautiful wilderness where you can hike around a lake in the crater of an extinct volcanoes and see condors overhead. Lots to do.
The time we spent at Mojanda seemed like we were there for longer - as relaxing or as eventful as we wanted. We felt right at home - we hope we can come back again - the whole area is spectacular, and there is plenty to see. This is the perfect location to explore the Otavalo area and all it has to offer. I would also add that it was an excellent value considering the accommodations, service and quality of the food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talbothall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This truly is a wonderful intimate resort experience. The staff are very friendly and are all service naturals. Meeting and getting to know Betty and her friend Steve was both inspirational and fascinating as one soon gets the impression of the passion and hard work Betty and her staff have dedicated to the resorts development and the resulting superior guest experience . We spent 4 nights and our stay was packed with adventure and enjoyment. The animal market in Otavalo was a total hoot and the market was candy to the eyes. Horseback riding, hike to Mojanda Lake,stories around the fire. Pizza baked in a forno oven, great home cooked meals, a different exotic fruit juice ever day,live local entertainment-------what more could you ask for.
All in all its great value and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Casa Mojanda was our first stop on a 10 day trip through Equador. It remained our favorite place and quickly realized we did not plan enough time in the area and Casa Mojanda. The food was amazing as well as the staff and hosts very enjoyable and helpful. We are already planning our next trip Back to the region.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My daughter and I recently spent a week at Casa Mojanda, enjoying oh so many aspects of such a special place! The physical plant was beautiful, comfortable and accessible with a beautiful and well used organic vegetable garden, Japanese hot tub which was delightful after a full days activity, kissing llamas, horses, a chosa (traditional house), warm and cozy and well stocked library, and a well-appointed dining room which was a warm and delightful gathering place. Betti and Steve were amazing hosts, along with Daniel and the entire staff was helpful and friendly. The food was consistently freshly prepared and simply scrumptious! Being there a week gave us the opportunity to enjoy both on-site activities (walking to the stunning waterfall, horseback riding over the scenic mountains, hot tubing, and more) as well as day trips to villages to watch artisans at work, the high dessert, the lakes, the animal, food and artisan markets, etc. Ending each day, gathered around the fire in the dining room, making new friends, lively conversation, eating spectacular foods and reveling in the glow of satisfaction, brings a smile to my face still.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyb410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

I booked to stay 2 nights at Casa Mojanda but soon extended to 4 after a warm welcome from hosts Betti & Steve over a delicious lunch when it become obvious there was so much to do in this beautiful area.
The cosy, authentic rooms, hot tub, library, impressive vege garden and friendly staff make CM so enjoyable.
Trips/walks to the bustling local market, lakes, condor park were easily organised and I was thrilled to participate in the special day trip to Intag cloud forest to bird-watch (including 'cock-of-the-rock') and hike through a spectacular part of Ecuador. I look forward to returning in the future & highly recommend CM.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

The hospitality from Betti, Steve and Daniel was unique in all our holiday experiences - it felt almost therapeutic in the way we were made to feel so welcome and accepted. The exquisite attention to detail in the main restaurant/dining hall, the delicious food, the log fire in our bedroom, the llamas, the walk to the waterfall in glorious mountainous surroundings, the animal and clothes markets and lots more will stay in our memories for a long time. I would be astonished if anyone could visit this place and be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalkyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
21.6 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
7.1 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 27 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mojanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mojanda

Property: Casa Mojanda
Address: Apartado 160 | Km. 3.8 via a Mojanda, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mojanda 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mojanda operates on the basis of a firm and ongoing commitment to the principles and practices of ecological tourism and contribution to the surrounding community. Casa Mojanda was designed to have a minimally intrusive impact on our local ecosystem and culture. We believe that ecotourism operations must at a minimum “do no harm,” and be sustainable socio-economically and environmentally, as well as harmonious with and actively supportive of indigenous traditions and cultures. When it comes to lodgings and resorts, we believe that small is beautiful. By keeping Casa Mojanda large in vision but small in scale, we are able to interact with our guests personally, and whenever there is interest, we will connect visitors with local schools, clinics and environmental projects. Each guest is a part of this ongoing process and your feedback and participation are most welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Mojanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mojanda Otavalo
Casa Mojanda Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing