We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
480
114
36
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
480
114
36
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles dining room public rooms the owner basketball court san pablo otavalo market ping pong horseback riding the main house roaring fire every corner beautiful grounds vegetable garden common areas extensive gardens galapagos cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 648 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019

I first stumbled onto Hacienda Cusin on trip adviser about a dozen years ago. I’m a sucker for anything with hundreds of ecstatic reviews so decided to risk a two night stay. Once inside the gates I fell hard. If it wasn’t the flowering trees, it was the hummingbirds, the bougainvillea vines and the abundance of calla lillies. All that was before I’d even tasted the food and experienced the rooms.
 
Since then we’ve been back more times than I can count, becoming a little sheepish to have admit to friends that yet again we’re headed to Hacienda Cusin. How to explain it? Certainly not by the fact that it is always spring in that part of the world or that  coming from New York City we don’t have to give any thought to changing time zones or converting currency or electronics, but none of that hurt.
 
This time we had the good luck to check in just as a wedding was getting underway. Under a stately cedros tree ancient relatives were helped to their seats. The priest blessed the union, the band played a Spanish version of  Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah and guests tossed red rose petals at the newly minted couple—so much more delicious than rice. Come to Hacienda Cusin at your own risk. As my beloved reminded me on our horseback ride along mountain trails the next morning, “this much beauty is hard to tolerate.” 

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

To have such a lyrical review composed by a distinguished author is praise indeed; more so from a guest with such experience and knowledge of the complex properties. "this much beauty is hard to tolerate" - WHAT a phrase!

Regresa muy pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

The hacienda, located about 10 kilometers from Otavalo, is one of the most extraordinary lodgings my husband and I have ever experienced. Its history dates back to 1602, when the Spanish sold an enormous spread of property in Ecuador to Castilian aristocrats whose daughter was marrying nobility in the New World. What happened after that fills 4 single-spaced pages of the hotel’s written history. By 1990, however, the property had fallen into grievous disrepair. Happily a former teacher from Manhattan who had traveled in South America for decades, collecting exquisite textile pieces as he went, was persuaded to buy the place. Since then, Nicholas Millhouse has transformed the main house, which recalls the glory of an 18th century manor, and expanded it by creating a fantasy “monastery” studded with both centuries-old art and wild expressions of wit and creativity.

We had the good fortune to spend a night at the hacienda when Millhouse was in residence. A gracious host and captivating raconteur, he was generous in sharing insights into his achievement, which includes assembling a team that is unfailingly warm and generous. Together they have made the extensive gardens a paradise. We stayed in the Duenita suite, equipped with a huge and wonderful bed. The wi-fi and shower water temperature were a bit sketchy, but the hacienda offers a lot of alternative entertainment: horseback riding, resident llamas, a well-stocked library, movies, and games. Meals in the romantic dining room were top-notch too. If you’re anywhere near it, my advise is: don’t miss this place. And don’t make our mistake. Stay longer than just one night.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you for such an extraordinary and detailed review, made sincere by its extent and warmth. Please spread the word and plan to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

We have stayed for 3 nights in this hacienda, I can say that it is a beautiful place, full of history and great value for the region. One night by candlelight highly recommended. From here you can access many interesting sites of Otavalo, a small town

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkNadines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you for such an appreciative (and romantic) review! It seems that the longer a guest stays, the better Cusin becomes! Please tell your friends and return again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019 via mobile

The hacienda is located about 10 kilometers from Otavalo (6$ taxi). Nice hacienda with beautiful spacious rooms. Helpful at the reception desk.
Food is good.
Service in restaurant and bar a bit hectic.
Nice garden.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank EdithS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you for such an appreciative and informative review! Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019

Decent rooms. Our room (No 2) had a comfortable bed, shower was just OK. Restaurant generally very good although with a couple of lapses. Plenty of choice for drinks, although on the expensive side. Staff friendly and generally very good. Wifi (reasonably fast) only in certain areas.

The place itself is worth a half day just to explore and the ladies on reception can arrange tours or give advice on where to go (the Saturday market in Otavalo is a 'must see', much better than the usual tourist oriented affairs)

Overall, a little out of the ordinary and that makes it worth a stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you for expressing your opinion. Guest-room Sierra 2 has had a new pine floor installed, doors to a small private terrace and a re-landscaped garden. Photographs of such changes will shortly be posted.

Wi-fi in such a historic and extensive property is constantly being upgraded. Return and experience the changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews