We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/14/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$130
$110
View deal
SAVE $20
Free cancellation until 05/14/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/14/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Tripadvisor$110
ZenHotels.com
eDreams$130
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveler rating
493
114
37
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
493
114
37
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles dining room the owner otavalo market every corner horseback riding game room every evening soups small town guest rooms otavalo area unique experience a special place hiking trails quito airport main building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 662 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights and the service was absolutely fantastic. Cristina, Gaby and Enrique were really helpful and always very attentive to anything we needed. The food was also great, we had different meals almost every time and they were all delicious.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Paulina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thank you for such a positive and appreciative review, especially after experiencing the Cusin complex for 10 nights! Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Hacienda Cusin, from the welcoming staff, stunning grounds, and helpful reception team, to the delicious meals and endlessly fascinating décor. Staying here is not simply a bed for the night, it’s an experience in and of itself, introducing each person to the beauty of the Ecuadorian Andes and people. Below are a few highlights from my stay as a female solo traveler:

- Activities/Tours: The reception team can easily set up for you tours, taxis, horseback rides, and drivers, all reasonably priced. In a country where tourism information is not particularly abundant, the team can help you make the most out of your stay. The guide Christian in particular was excellent, going out of his way to show me areas tourists don’t usually see (ex. mountains that are reminiscent of the Sound of Music, indigenous villages and ceremonies, etc.). It's also lovely to spend a day horseback riding on their grounds, or reading a book amongst the beautiful backdrop of the gardens and mountains.

- Grounds and Decor: When you enter Cusin, you’re transported to a world lost centuries ago, full of a quirky mix of indigenous and Spanish art, roaring fireplaces, a breathtaking variety of colorful flowers, lush greenery, and even some friendly llamas. Make sure to request a free self-guided tour – the art and decorations reveal the layers of history in the area. There is no pretension here, only an environment that fosters the perfect combination of exploration and relaxation.

- Location: Cusin is located off the beaten path, surrounded by the majestic Andes (about an hour car ride from the airport, which reception can also arrange). However, it's also conveniently located within about an hour from many highlights of the Ecuadorian highlands. Easily accessible highlights (all arranged with reception) include the following, although there are plenty more I did not have time to see: Mojanda Lakes, the inactive Imbabura Volcano, small towns specializing in trades such as leather and woodworking, hikes/walks of all difficulties in the mountains and valleys, Peguche waterfall, and crater lakes (including Cuicocha). Various horseback riding tours are also offered at the hacienda, catering to all experience levels - all take you through the gorgeous scenery of the local villages and/or mountains and valleys.

- Meals: All are tasty and varied, and include fresh ingredients from their garden. The orange juice, lemon juice, and tree tomato juice are all a must.

- Hot water bottles in every bed at night are a lovely touch

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

You define 'review'! Thank you for such an extensive, descriptive and helpful details. The owner especially appreciates your 3rd paragraph and Reception staff, your 4th paragraph. The staff are overjoyed! How can you possibly not return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

This was the most amazing place to stay. I was there for 11 days and the rooms and food was great. This was my first time I travel international and the service I experience was so awesome! I would definetly go back. The cooking and serving staff Christine, Gabriella and Marco was best.

Room tip: All rooms are in a great location
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernie1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

To appreciate Hacienda Cusin in such a way and after staying there for 11 days is high praise indeed! Thank you! So please, keep your promise and return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

We stayed for a total of 11 nights and had the most amazing time! The rooms are each specifically decorated and so cozy with a quaint fire!

The best part is the STAFF! Aside from the beauftil landscape, the staff at the Cusin is amazing. Gabriella, Christina, and Enrique are so incredibly attentive and sweet! They are like family now, I wish I could spend more time with them! Christina and Gabriella made it a point to learn my name, and treated us so well! They were the highlight of the stay! Marco is also a great addition to the team!

Highly recommend spending at least a week here, you will not regret it!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Ryanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

To have such appreciation for Hacienda Cusin after an 11 nights stay is 'proof of the pudding'! Gabiella, Christina and Enrique are, in particular, overjoyed and inspired by your words. Thank you for recommending and joining La Familia de Cusin. Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Atmospheric room, beautiful grounds, attentive friendly staff, great location for Otavalo by bus, lovely walks and cycle rides.
Lots to explore in hotel area, including secret door in monastery ! Great fun

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimrob1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thank you for appreciation and important advice! Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews