We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
480
114
36
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
480
114
36
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles dining room public rooms the owner san pablo otavalo market ping pong horseback riding the main house roaring fire every corner beautiful grounds vegetable garden extensive gardens galapagos cruise soups game room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 648 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2017

Located near the town of Otavalo and the San Pablo and Cuicocha lakes, about 90 minutes from central Quito, Hacienda Cusin is a 30 year labor of love by the proprietor, an expat British-American with a deep affection for South America and Ecuador.He's turned a small ruined hostel into an extensive collection of comfortable guest rooms and cabins furnished with an eclectic variety of antique and modern Ecuadorian, Peruvian and Mexican textiles, furniture and art. Conversations with him are a highlight of a visit. The numerous public areas provide comfortable 1950s overstuffed furniture and plenty of delightful artistic surprises. The dining room offers interesting foods supported by an extensive kitchen garden and excellent English-speaking service. Building exteriors include intriguing carved columns, panels and doors and eclectic traditional and modern wall paintings. The gardens seem endless and feature both spectacular design and an impressive array of orchids and bromeliads as well as some very friendly llamas and plenty of birds. The stables provide day and overnight horse treking as well as animals for amusement and the table. You'll feel like you walked into the pages of a Graham Greene novel as a very important character. If the atmosphere enchants you and you want to stay, long term rentals and condominium houses are also available. A magical experience.

Room tip: For convenience stay in the main house, for calm in one of the detached cabins
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j00095289754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Thank you for such an extensive, detailed and understanding review; surely the result of extensive and reflective explorations. The owner was ecstatic! A treasured review!

Regresa muy pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017

You have to experience this very weird place! Back in the 19 th century.
looks like you are in a 5 star monastery. about 100 so called 'catholic saints' can be found anywhere on statues, paintings, cards, candles etc.
sometimes a bit exagerrated. (like a mummified nun could fall out when you open your wardrobe. )
all rooms were different but very good. All comfort between very old furniture.
not realy loving this catholic stuff but a demonstration of a catholic God only caring for the wealthy, mighty & rich, while Jesus did'nt even have a place to rest his head...
anyway : you have to see it. it deserves at least 1 night stay !
staff was old (in age & service), but who cares : they fitted in !

Room tip: ask to see the room : all are different from tiny to very large !
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dirk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Thank you for your unusual point of view and for such appreciation comments!

Such complexity, laced with humor and essential irony - especially the Basil-baroque altar and references to the confluence of Moorish/Spanish/Indigenous/Fawlty passions - certainly deserves more than cursory, attention. Cusin's wise, gracious and humorous 'old' staff, each a gem, are full of magical stories.

I hope that you can return one day and enjoy an owner's (Basil Casamolina) property tour.

REGRESA PRONTO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2017

I stayed in this beautiful hotel while on vacation with my family for my husband's 40th birthday. My husband and I are designers and are highly critical of everywhere we stay but Hacienda Cusin met and exceeded out expectations (with the exception of the bathroom but still better than anywhere else in Ecuador).
We stayed in the older wing of the 17th century stables, converted to guest rooms with fireplaces. Some of our favorite memories during our travels are at this hacienda - the tranquil horseback ride into the mountains, our 4 star meals in the dining room, and the sweet conversations we had with the groundskeepers who started our fires in the evenings.
The gardens were immaculate and wandering among them was a relaxing way to spend the afternoon. Walking into town was a short 5 minute jaunt and the locals were very friendly.
Our entire stay here felt like it was out of a dream. We can not wait to return.

Room tip: Our room in the historic wing was quiet and secluded. Loved our big fireplace. Back door into the gardens were a plus!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arcarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Thank you for such an appreciative and detailed review - the finest nutrition for an eager, hard-working staff! I am so glad that Cusin exceeded your expectations! Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017

A truly beautiful, tranquil place with cottages on the grounds, ponds, lots of flowers, plants and flowering trees. And birds. U.S. Embassy personnel book weekend rooms when he want to get away from the traffic and noise of nearby Quito. Decoration is 17th/18th century paintings, tapestries, statues and more. A monestery has been created and similarly furnished as a meeting and conference place. The Restsurant is wonderful with most of its offerings locally grown and organic. My fish and my wife's smoked pork chop were outstanding.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Chinapjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Thank you! You clearly explored Cusin's large and complex grounds, its unusual art and appreciated its tranquility as an essential diversion from the noise of our modern world. Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017

I stayed at this lovely hacienda for two nights with a group of 15. I don't often give Excellent ratings but this hotel fully deserved this rating. The staff were warm and helpful, the food, particularly the breakfasts were enjoyed by all. The grounds were fabulous and I enjoyed watching the llamas graze the lawns, much better than using a mechanical lawn mower! There was no heating in my room but a hot water bottle was provided each evening and a fire lit just after dinner.

Room tip: Room 25 is ideal for honeymooners or couples.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

It is SO good to be 'fully deserved'! Your appreciative comments will inspire Cusin's devoted and long-staying staff. Thank you! Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews