We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Otavalo
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
475
114
35
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
475
114
35
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles dining room the owner public rooms basketball court otavalo market san pablo galapagos cruise roaring fire horseback riding ping pong the main house beautiful grounds vegetable garden common areas high altitude extensive gardens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 642 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Picturesque and exudes history. Staff generally helpful and accommodating. Wood fires nice. However, the property lacks investment. The carpets and furniture are old, and in some cases frayed and paint is peeling off. The games room was a nice touch, but it seems silly not to have spent $10 to replace the darts. There is no dining nearby, so most eat at the property. The $30 three-course prix-fixe was passable, but uninspiring. Feels like owner is treating it as a cash cow, or else needs to raise price and invest to make the rooms, facilities and dining live up to the charm of the hacienda.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick-in-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

La Familia de Cusin is delighted that you found the property 'picturesque', sensed its powerful history and appreciated their service, charm and the log-fires. Thank you.

Antiques are, by definition, old, and rural antiques in particular appear to need restoration. New darts (and considerable sports equipment) are available at nearby Reception.

There are several very good restaurants nearby, as in-guest room information, Reception and website/s describe. The majority of guests, knowing of nearby choices, lunch whilst touring Imbabura, prefer and wish to eat dinner in Cusin. Those guests know that Cusin's menus are very flexible and the chefs very accommodating to adjust a dish to the guest's need.

However, your 'cash-cow' comment is uninformed: staff are amongst the best paid in the Ecuadorian hotel industry, 80% own their homes; 28 guest rooms have recently been re-decorated, including new bathrooms and floors. Sala de Lectura's damaged carpet is being replaced this month. The owner, who constantly re-invests in the property, receives little compensation.

The owner, about to visit New York for a few days, would enjoy meeting you for lunch, as his guest, to hear of your suggestions. Please contact him, with alternative lunch dates in September, at casamolinan@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

Just stayed here for three nights, as a party of 7 including a 13month old baby. Firstly, we arrived at, 01.00hrs, there was a solitary spanish only speaking security guard to let us in to our rooms and no cot as requested and promised, a nightmare. This was eventually sorted the following day, however, the open log fire and hot water bottles were bliss. Be ware that as lovely as the open log fires are, you and your belongings will smell of wood smoke. The rooms are basic, there is hot water, but, it will take a few minutes to arrive and if someone else is having a shower then there is poor pressure. Plumbing is basic, toilet paper can not be flushed. On the positive side, the food was freshly cooked and of a good standard, we ate breakfast and had evening meals, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the location is great, the grounds are well kept, pity there were no hoops on the basketball court. All in all, I would return.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-Helen-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your frank and helpful; comments, so important to Cusin's development. I am appalled to realize that no requested cot was, initially, provided. And your late evening arrival made such an error, worse. Please accept my apologies.

A receptionist, waiting for your unexpectedly late arrival, fell asleep; the security staff took initiative. It appears that the receptionist had not followed room pre-arrival procedures, which included testing hot-water. I apologize for the inconvenience. The security guard is an exceptional person.

Thank you for such appreciative observations, which will energize Cusin's staff!

Toilet paper: Cusin's plumbing is modern enough to accept toilet paper but the pueblo's recently installed sewer processing system is not yet so.

Basic (guest) rooms: all guests have cel. phones (if not, one can be borrowed); internet precludes an in-guest room television - with some exceptions. World news and Netflix, etc. is easy to downloaded. A recent, 6-months guest-survey revealed that 96% of guests reject television as an in-room necessity. And, according to the NY Times, 85% of college students do not own a television set, prefer streaming. The future is here. I notice that in-room wi-fi removes guests from public spaces - salas, gardens, etc., from inter-relating (with family and other guests, or staff, and, often divert shrt-staying guests from exploring the properties).

Basketball hoop nets: terrible! The owner, an aficionado, will be aghast. New nets will be installed pronto!

Life-conditions in a relatively poor, very beautiful country can be trying at times!

BEST of all! You wish to return, and when you do, the changes will astound. Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

The management of this beautiful hotel should
Alert guests if there is a wedding happening same evening
Not allocate the room nearest the action to a guest who has been treking all day
Fix the windows in the rooms so they do not reverberate making the bass from the live band sound like feedback.
Arrange a sensible curfew for lucrative wedding functions to allow other guests to sleep before 2am.
Honestly we were happy for the 130 guests to party and after the first set the disco was somewhat quieter, but when the live band (they were very good) came back louder than before, after 12.30 we were very unhappy. Our room was shaking. The glass almost came out of the frames they rattled so much.
We had looked forward to a good sleep after an active day, with another to come.
The hotel is very beautiful, food great, staff lovely, but beware. Apparently weddings at haciendas are becoming very popular!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for your understandable feelings and comments.

Yes, Cusin is beautiful place and holding a wedding in its grounds was a very serious management and fiscal error, which will NOT happen again.

Small and large weddings, such as the one you experienced, have always been managed by Cusin's experienced staff, using the central garden, under the giant Cedro tree, for the ceremony, followed by a joyous procession to Cusin's guest wing, El Monasterio, for the Reception Dinner, dance and fireworks. And without disturbing guests (nor the owner) in Cusin's quiet, historic centre.

However, for the first time in over 20 years, the wedding party decided to use an Ecuadorian wedding management group for the entire event. That group was utterly insensitive to the historic property, its unique gardens (which they covered up with tents), and the tranquility of its non-wedding guests. Never again!

If you return to Ecuador, as I hope you will, please accept 2 complimentary dinners, a night in a double room with breakfasts.

I am truly sorry for your experiences. Please accept my apologies. Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights. The grounds of the Hacienda are beautiful, it is an enchanting place. You can disconnect easily from the outside world. The service was excellent. I would recommend this place without hesitation. The only suggestion is that they should have more food options. The menu is limited.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiroloco-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Many thanks for such generous comments so valuable for our weekly staff meetings.

Information upon each dining room table describes Hacienda Cusin 'as a conserved, home of a 19th century family' and that meals are, as in many such historic buildings, served 'home-style'.

The four-page menu varies daily, always with soup or salad, fish, meat and vegetarian dishes, 3-desserts, and a choice of sandwiches, pizzas, guineapig, etc. and can be changed on request by very engaging waiters and chefs.

Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017

This place is amazing! Old colonial style with a lot of old paintings and literally tons of flowers everywhere. Big, wonderful gardens old monastery to visit - great murals!
Our cottage was so romantic and beautiful that we could stay forever. Wonderful staff. I mentioned doing reservation I like cottage no 10, because this is our anniversary trip, it was long time ago. But during dinner we were surprised with anniversary wishes , cake with candle and free wine! Totally unexpected, great super nice surprise.
One more important thing - this Hacienda is very affordable for what they offer! Regular room ( beautiful one!) costs about 150$ ( breakfast and taxes included) suite and cottage 187$. For example Hacienda Zuleta from the same region charges over 600$ per night.
If you look for romantic gateway, surrounded by art and flowers -it's your place!

Room tip: Cottages and suite are in beautiful gardens, you have a lot of privacy and nice place to just seat down and admire what's around
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jolka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews