We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Otavalo
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
468
114
35
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
468
114
35
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles dining room the owner public rooms basketball court secret door otavalo market san pablo galapagos cruise roaring fire ping pong the main house horseback riding beautiful grounds vegetable garden common areas high altitude
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 635 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2016

Hacienda Cusin is an extraordinary place - make time in your itinerary to get to Otavalo and stay there! This hacienda is one of the most incredible places I have ever been - it is peaceful, beautiful, and absolutely enchanting. My daughters and I stayed only two nights and I can see how we barely brushed the surface of what Hacienda Cusin and Otavalo have to offer in activities and excursions. This would be a sensational site for a wedding or other destination event. * As your plan your Ecuador trip, consider giving up a day in Quito and push to get here - Hacienda Cusin' s charm is well worth your effort.

Room tip: Each is unique, historical, with a fireplace and a bed warmed with a hot water bottle at night!
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you for such a generous review - thrilling for La Familia de Cusin to realize. Thank you, also, for your recommendations. YES, weddings are spectacular!

To complete your explorations and 'dig' deeper into such a multi-leveled place, return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016

My family was absolutely blown away by Hacienda Cusin. When you step onto the property, you immediately feel transported into 16th century Ecuador (with all of the necessities of modern day, of course!). The decoration is superb -- turquoises, reds, and beautiful murals line the walls of the Hacienda. The property itself is spectacular-- there are stunning gardens and a horse stable. We came with a family of four, and the property kept us busy during the day.

We had a lovely conversation with the owner, who took over the monastery in the 80s and has completely transformed it into the stunning hacienda. The service at the hotel exceeded all expectations. They have special touches such as putting a hot water bottle in each bed every night to keep it warm. There is also a library (including a special movie watching area where the hotel staff brings popcorn) and a game room.

I cannot wait to return!

Room tip: Rooms are large and perfect for families
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

WHAT a wonderful, gratifying and understanding review of your visit for La Familia de Cusin to receive! It is so good that you had the time, and curiosity, to explore such a complex place. GRACIAS! Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Stayed for two nights in September. Restored but rustic rooms are charming. Excellent food. Llamas, horseback riding, ping pong table, movies and lots of fun things to do. Excellent service. Pretty exclusive clientele--we met the US and Canadian ambassadors who were having tea by a roaring fire in the common area! They were wonderful!!

Room tip: Private cottages with gardens are available! Excellent restored rooms with fireplaces that are lit each night by staff.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mmuller7753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2016

What a pleasure to read your review! Thank you so much for enjoying and appreciating the many aspects of Cusin, and for taking the time to do so. You gave such joy to the hardworking staff. Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016

I spent four nights at Cusin and was totally enthralled by its antique charm. The Hacienda has been painstakingly restored and is decorated with beautiful Andean textiles and artwork. The food is some of the best I sampled in six weeks of travelling through Ecuador and the gardens are a delight. There are plenty of activities to choose from but I particularly enjoyed the horse riding through stunning valleys. However, it is the people which really make this beautiful Hacienda special - the staff are charming and nothing is too much trouble, and I hope that the owner and I started a friendship which will continue for many years. This really is THE place to stay North of Quito - you will not want to leave.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2016


Thank you for SUCH an appreciative, helpful and understanding review of your stay with La Familia de Cusin. The Cusin complex takes time to digest and you certainly did so.

If there was a tripadvisor hotel guest review for the staff to compose, they would have awarded you 5 stars. The owner, an art, Andean textiles and gardening aficionado, who reflects your wish, would have canonized you. Regresa pronto, and for many years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Beautifully done gardens with wonderful common areas to spend time by the fire. Meals were fine, though definitely not the best we had in Ecuador. Friendly service on our quick overnight during a 3-day horse trek (with Ride Andes - see separate review for more on our awesome experience)!

Room tip: Room 10 is an adorable free standing cottage with wood stove located in the wonderful garden
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casamolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2016

Thank you for taking such time to write such an appreciative review. Horseback riding is one of the finest ways to explore such a remarkable countryside, particularly with Ride Andes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews