We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Otavalo
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
480
114
36
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
480
114
36
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles dining room public rooms the owner basketball court san pablo otavalo market ping pong horseback riding the main house roaring fire every corner beautiful grounds vegetable garden common areas extensive gardens galapagos cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 648 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

We came here for the first leg of our Ecuadorian honeymoon. It's a magical place, if you value impeccable gardens, attentive service, delicious food, and a sense of history. They arranged for our airport transport and transport to our next destination, as well as a knowledgeable, fluent English-speaking driver to take us around to the surrounding towns and sights. We rode horses from their stables, and enjoyed the surrounding stunning vistas. The gardens within the hacienda compound provide food at the restaurant.
Excellent experience.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bethmyselfandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

What a magnificent, understanding and sincere review for La Familia de Cusin to have.
You explored the complex grounds and inspire us! Thank you. Please spread the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2016

Atmospheric place within some lovely grounds – flowers, trees and vegetable plot. A few birds around. Our allocated room, situated at the end of the path, was like a mini detached cottage. Very comfortable, ornate and with a log burning stove (which was required surprisingly). Only downside was a few mosquitos. Loads of games available. Food – bit limited choice and quality though a fast efficient service. Great artefacts and pictures decorate the property.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mike707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Thank you for such a sincere, enthusiastic and knowledgable review. Fortunately, Cusin's Andean altitude is far too high for infectious mosquitos which relish heat, humidity in areas below 5,000' feet/1,600 metres. Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

Hacienda Cusín is simply an enchanting hideaway. You can explore garden trails, appreciate colonial architecture, and admire the gorgeous tapestries and textile art that adorn the common areas and rooms. Come here to escape... don't count on a great internet connection, but enjoy the fireplaces, warm showers, and charming common areas. I recommend the casitas and the rooms in the "old house", which seem coziest. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but it's a nice luxury to be able to stay comfortably within the confines of the hacienda. And while having dinner we felt like an ancient royal family! Romantic for a couple or charming for a family (without small kids)... I look forward to returning soon.

Room tip: The casitas and rooms in the old house are cozy. The monastery rooms are more basic (think: monastery) and farther from the common areas.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuleraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Thank you for such a heart felt review, much appreciated by La Familia de Cusin.
You clearly explored this complex property, making your advice so genuine, so real.
Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016

From the moment you enter the gates of this 400 year old hacienda you will know you have arrived at a very special place. The pathways, garden borders, and carefully planned vistas combine to make this a truly magical setting. If you have visited great gardens such as Sissinghurst or Great Dixter you will feel at home here .If you haven’t , save the airfare and come here. To walk in the gardens with the sun shining and the sound of birds singing is something that you must experience. We stayed in the former dining room of the original house. The room had 20 foot ceilings with ornate plaster moldings, an enormous and very comfortable bed, French doors leading to a patio with fountains, and a couch and sitting area. Next door was a public sitting room with coffee and tea available, a library with a wide range of reading material and the most incredible view of a 200 year old cedar surrounded by paths and gardens. It was like having your own hacienda. The gardens, beautiful buildings, artwork, music and attention to detail, all make for the perfect setting. Drinks are served in the drawing room just outside the dining room which is furnished with period furniture including a large tapestry on the wall. Fireplaces are everywhere and sitting by the fire with a glass of wine before dinner is just perfect. The food was the best we had in Ecuador, fresh from the garden and perfectly seasoned by a capable chef. I read a review complaining about the amount of food at breakfast. I cannot imagine what they are talking about, as you get 2 courses, one a very large bowl of fresh fruit and muesli or cereal and the other eggs and bacon or ham or pancakes. This is served with fresh rolls and homemade jam. But as beautiful as the Hacienda Cusin is, what makes the place exceptional are the people. Their warmth and hospitality is not something that can be taught in hotel management school. From Daniela at the front desk who is so helpful and always smiling, to our waiter and waitress, who served us with great care, to our driver who warned us to be careful with our bags and made sure we got on the correct bus, we were well taken care of. If you are lucky the owner, Nick, may be there. He is an amazing host, great conversationalist and his love of Ecuador and his hacienda is evident. This is old world graciousness at its best, and we felt very fortunate to have found it. I recommend staying at least 3 nights to get the full enjoyment of this setting. We stayed 2 and did not get to do all we would want. There are lovely walks nearby, horseback riding from their own stables, and visits to nearby towns and lakes. There are rabbits, dogs and llamas at the stable and though the stablemaster spoke limited English and we speak no Spanish he was very happy to tell us that the baby llama was just 3 weeks old. Staying here is a privilege and one that you should not pass up. The hard part is leaving.

Room tip: Each room is unique. Cannot imagine a bad location.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dellswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Thank you for taking such time to write this sensitive, understanding, detailed, instructive and flattering ('gardens such as Sissinghurst or Great Dixter!') review. REMARKABLE, to say the least!

From an inspired La Familia de Hacienda Cusin, thank you!

Regresa PRONTO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016

We stayed 2 nights in Hacienda Cusin, and it is indeed a remarkable place with very good service. The staff are very capable, and while overall the place was fine, some minor issues made the stay less enjoyable:
a) The rooms in the monastery are fine, but they are at least a 5-7 minute walk from the main place, and feels very secluded if you are the only ones staying there.
b) DVD: the website mentions over 300 DVD library. When you ask, these are at a cost of USD 3/movie. Not a huge deal (and I think you get popcorn with that :-)) but considering the rates, and the info on the site, having this as an extra was not very professional.
c) Horseriding: once more, the website says 13 USD per person per hour. That in itself is quite steep for Ecuador, but the real price quoted was USD 18/p/h (I guess the tax on top?). Once more, the feeling that extra income was being sought after by the management, and in contradiction to the website
d) Finally: breakfast. This is served by the waiter, and you get to pick from a menu. Overall not bad, but be ready to receive only 2 small pancakes, and if you want more (as children usually do), be ready to pay USD 3,50 for another 2 (small, i insist). Once more, not exactly what you would expect from this type of accommodation, especially combined to dark looks received when juice (a bit more than the small carafe provided) or bacon (yes, we would like more than one silde) was asked for.

Overall: the place is impressive, the staff generally friendly and capable, and the fire in the room is great, but there is this nagging feeling that if the management is very keen to squeeze extra dollars out of you, and that slightly spoils the stay.

Room tip: Definitely avoid the monastery, except if you are keen to walk back and forth for your dinner and breakfast.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dar_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2016

Cusin is always grateful for reviews from its very guests, of whom very few post reviews. Comments can provide perspective, discussion for staff meetings, cause to make change and, frequently, inspiration for a devoted staff.

As with all things via internet, hotels and restaurants, worldwide, the local Government charges taxes. Ecuadorian law imposes 12% VAT and 10% Service Tax, stated throughout Cusin's website, in guest room information, its restaurants' and bars' menus and in your invoice. Not charging such taxes is a criminal offense.

a) I'm glad that your room was 'fine' but your walk from dramatic architecture through extensive gardens was inconvenient. To many, seclusion in this hectic world is privilege.
b) Yes, the charge per video/DVD film is not a huge deal.
c) Horseriding with a guide rates are below average Ecuador rates. Taxes are as you suggest. The Ecuadorian Government understandably seeks the extra income.
d) As per website, DINING page, breakfast is a complimentary 3-course meal, served by waiters. Not bad!
I'm so glad that you found Cusin impressive but disappointed that you blame Cusin management for Government Taxes. Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews