We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Otavalo
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveler rating
468
113
34
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
468
113
34
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles dining room the owner public rooms basketball court secret door otavalo market san pablo galapagos cruise roaring fire ping pong the main house horseback riding beautiful grounds vegetable garden common areas high altitude
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 633 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2016

We were in one of the rooms in the garden, away from the main house. Our room had a fireplace which was lit every night, although it was not really very cold. The room was decorated with beautiful local and antique art. The gardens are lovely and spacious. The rate included breakfast, and we also had dinner twice in the dining room. The full meal seemed rather pricey, compared to the local restaurants, but since it is a $15 cab ride to get into town, it works out about the same. The bar rates are very reasonable for wine and beer. The front office was great about arranging for excursions and transfers. There is wi-fi in the common areas, but not in the rooms.

Room tip: Wi-fi in common areas but not in rooms.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank picturegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2016

It is always so good to have a guest's appreciation and advice! Many thanks for taking such time to write such words. Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016

My husband and I loved our 3 night stay at Hacienda Cusin; it's a quiet retreat in a beautiful mountain setting surrounded by lovely extensive gardens, wonderful art throughout, very nice staff and good food. We were fortunate enough to meet Nik, who is the owner and a most congenial host; he is very quick to share stories about the history of his lovely property and the surrounding area near Otavalo. We were there for Valentine's Day, and there was a special treat waiting for us at dinner.....the dining room was romantically decorated with pretty roses, candlelight and gifts of candy for all the guests. We were serenaded by Ramiro, one of the excellent waiters, who is a gifted singer and guitarist. A wonderful, thoughtful celebration all around.
If you are interested in hiring a guide, and we recommend that you do, ask for Christian....he speaks perfect English, is very willing to take you around the area and see the sights, and since he is a local, he is happy to share his knowledge of the old and new in this part of Ecuador.

Date of stay: February 2016
Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2016

WHAT a party that Valentine's Day dinner was! Such good company inspires Nik to excel!

Thank you for mentioning staff names, especially Ramiro and your recommendation of the guide, Christian.

I'm sure that you will return! Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2016

We stayed 3 nights. The gardens are wonderful with humming birds galore. We had a bungalow in the garden which was very cute. The rooms do get chilly in the evening but the hotel provide wood-burning fires in rooms and hot water bottles in bed so it wasn't an issue. The lounges were spacious and again the fires made them cosy. The staff were very helpful. The food was simple and tasty and portion size about right. The reception desk can organise guides if needed though the leaflets etc could have been more plentiful and informative, but we got by. Well located for exploring Andean life.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2016

Thank you for such an appreciative and detailed review, so inspiring to Hacienda Cusin's 'family'.
Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile

Realy nice place . Staff impecable. Room are litel small but have a nice big bed this place was a monastery not so longtime ago. Tres joli hotel le personel est serviable et souriant . Good restaurent .Good food .

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank SylvainG946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2016

I'm so glad that your stay with us was so enjoyable! Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2016

What a fantastic find this place was. It was included as part of our tour and we had wished that we had more than one night there. My friend and I got the Gardener's Cottage to stay in which was separate from the main building. We had a cute room with a sitting room with huge windows that looked over the beautiful grounds. A nice modern bathroom and we also had a fireplace. While we were out having dinner in the fantastic restaurant on the grounds, the staff came in and lit the fire and when we came back to the room they came with hot water bottles for our beds. It was cold so we really appreciated them. The main building itself has a beautiful lounge area with a roaring fire where you can sit and have a glass of wine before dinner. The dining room has a fire going as well and we had a excellent dinner there as well as a very good breakfast the next morning. We were sad to leave the Hacienda Cusin and would recommend at least a 2 or 3 night stay.

Room tip: As for the Gardeners Cottage
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gayle6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2016

Thank you so much for your, warm detailed and appreciative review. A inspiration to us all.

It is clear that you HAVE to return! Regresa pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews