We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecuadorian arts and crafts presented with British flair”
Review of Hacienda Cusin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Cusin
Ranked #1 of 27 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
1 review
“Ecuadorian arts and crafts presented with British flair”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a highly personal and extremely attractive hotel crammed full of interesting antiques and local craftsmanship. The owner genuinely seeks to make you feel like a country house guest making use of all sorts of attractive rooms: a well stocked library, sitting rooms with deep chairs and reading lights and complimentary tea and coffee making equipment and a most attractively lit dining room. The staff were very tolerant of my 3 lively grandchildren and I loved finding a hotwater bottle warming my bed!

Room Tip: The rooms are truly individual and vary from single to multi bed family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    93
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
128
186
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We were extremely happy with our 2 night stay prior to a Galapagos cruise. The hacienda was very quiet- there was only 1 other guest while we were there. We were picked up in a nice van from the airport at midnight and were welcomed to a cozy room and snacks. We explored the countryside the next day and relaxed at the hacienda in the evening. It's truly beautiful and we would return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkoz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just got back to the UK from visiting Hacienda Cusin and I can only agree with the many positive reviews this place has. Of especial interest is the museum quality art collection which is superb and we were fortunate enough to get a tour of the Hacienda and its treasures from by owner which was very much appreciated. Thank you for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumpole70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Walking the beautiful grounds, you'll feel like you were transported back in time. Make sure and explore every nook + cranny + all the great common rooms with fireplaces that have such an air of old world elegance. Don't give up on finding the hidden staircase! You can wander this amazing Hacienda for hours. Definitely dine in the gorgeous, incredibly romantic restaurant at night. Staying here is a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4EverTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecheria, Venezuela
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If your children enjoy nature and horses this is the perfect place. We rode every day. The horses were very gentle. The staff were so willing to please you. My family and i had a great time, we did not want to leave! The food was great, I really enjoyed all their soups! The hacienda itself was like a museum, every corner, every room was full of history and details.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

just back from a 8day stay in paradise.Wonderful gardens,lots of history,phantastic room(with fireplace),excellent food - don't worry,you have so much fun hiking, you work it all off!The staff makes this place even better,thank you Ramiro for my birthday-serenade,Delia,Ester,Gloria,Manuel(the master of the fireplace)and all the others and the wonderfully helpful Lupe and Valeria in the reception.Insider tip:if the weather isn't too good - have your siesta on the sofa in the library or reading room.The terrace in front of the library is a vantage point to watch birds,especially a blue colibri came twice daily to eat.Don't miss the phantastic murals in the Monasterio and make use of their great horses.
At Hacienda Cusin you're not a guest,you're a cherished familymember!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I don't think they have BAD rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrekkerAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for such an enthusiastic review, especially for mentioning the staff by name and your very helpful advice. You make it very clear that the longer a guest stays, the better the Cusin experience becomes. Regresa pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Staying at the Hacienda was like staying at a good friends' home. It was warm, charming, comfortable and extremely enjoyable. The grounds are stunning but the staff is what made my trip memorable! Nic and his staff were extremely knowledgable, helpful and accommodating. I only wish they had more locals all over South A
The town where the hacienda is located is extremely warm and friendly. I loved the feeling of living with the locals as opposed to visiting a hotel.
The hacienda is also in a great location, close to many of the extraordinary sites that region offers.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
7.0 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
218 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
9.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
2.1 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
7.0 mi away
Hacienda Zuleta
Hacienda Zuleta
#1 of 95 in Imbabura Province
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cusin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cusin

Property: Hacienda Cusin
Address: Calle Chiriboga | San Pablo Del Lago, Otavalo 123, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Cusin 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel. A restored, 400 year-old hacienda with restaurant - organic food, sports facilities - squash, basketball, horseback riding, mountain bikes & games rooms, library, several acres of gardens. 38 Staff. Within 20 minutes of Otavalo's markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Cusin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cusin Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing