We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see to believe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Otavalo Market

Otavalo Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This colorful Indian market takes place each Saturday and features some of the finest woven products in the region including ponchos, sweaters, wall hangings and shawls.
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must see to believe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This market goes on forever! We spent a good part of the day going from stall to stall. There is everything from clothing and crafts to food and spices. We did all of our Ecuador shopping at this market and spent more than we expected. We were able to find gifts for everyone back at home. The town is nice and had lunch at one of the many cafes. We also tried some local food from the street vendors. This should be on everyone's list of things to see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    291
    109
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice market with some good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

You need to be prepared to bargain. You need to remember that this stuff is all available in Quito and other markets. It is fun, but not terrific. I would have found a better way of getting there if I had thought it through. Go on a Saturday for the best selection.

It is fun - if you like this sort of thing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BmmrBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Road trip for a big market with lots of the same stuff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My cousin and I went yesterday (Saturday) to the market. We got to the Quito bus station at 8:30 and stood in line for 20 minutes to buy tickets, only to have moved about 5 feet up. A German couple approached us and we shared a taxi with them to Otavalo. It was worth paying $12.50 each instead of the $2.50 bus ticket so we could actually spend some daylight there. The city was packed - as to be expected - but with almost all locals. We saw very few tourists, and it was neat to see the women in the traditional dress. After walking down one street, the stuff started to look the same every few stalls. I bought a traditional skirt and pants - be sure to bargain for your goods! Go down about 30%, and never pay full price. We ate lunch at Oraibi - a small vegetarian restaurant with a lovely courtyard - and had a delish bowl of quinoa soup and a margarita pizza. Walk to the bus station - it's not far, and ask for the "Quito directo" bus - $2 for the ride back.
Overall it was a neat experience and beautiful scenery on the ride out and back, but once is enough.

Helpful?
3 Thank travelingtexan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lots of handcrafts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Lots of handcrafts at this market. Similar to the markets in Peru and Guatemala. You can barter to get a better price. It helps if you speak Spanish.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Woodsnottraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trip In/Around Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked our tour through Metropolitan Tours and am so glad we did. From the person we spoke to that booked our transfer and tours to the local guide and driver - ALL were so very nice, accommodating and thoughtful. Our arrival flight in to Quito was 3 hours late and I was expecting to take a taxi to the hotel, but our transfer was there to meet us at 1 AM with a smile on and a concern to get us to our hotel after a long day. Our Otavalo tour was guided by Bonnie and driver Carlos. We had such a fun day with both! The sights are beautiful and the tour was well paced. Although a long drive (approximately 2-1/2 hours each way), there was ample stops to get out and look around so you did not feel locked inside the car. We booked the Private Guide/Tour with lunch at the La MIrage - a nice hotel/spa. DO NOT miss Cotacachi, a town known for it's leather goods. Bought myself a nice Christmas present - a leather jacket! Very stylish, two tone and only US$145! I've seen similar jackets in the USA for over $250! Great time, Great Tour Company! Will use them again on our next trip to South America!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dona1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otavalo Market also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Otavalo Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing