We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otavalo market”
Review of Otavalo Market

Otavalo Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.00*
and up
Otavalo Indigenous Market Day Trip from Quito
More Info
$156.00*
and up
Otavalo Day Trip from Quito: Craft Market and Parque Condor
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This colorful Indian market takes place each Saturday and features some of the finest woven products in the region including ponchos, sweaters, wall hangings and shawls.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Otavalo market”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Six of us spent a day traveling from Quito through the countryside, ending in Otavalo market. It was a lot of fun, with sections for tourists as well as locals. Everything was sold there, including livestock. Bargaining was necessary and fun. It's part of the culture. Everyone was pleasant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    309
    121
    31
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Otavalo, Cotacachi, and Cochasqui, Ecuador”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked a tour for 2 with Alexander Lomas in Quito for 2 of us. We like Andean History so we asked if there were any ruins we might visit. He picked us up at our Hotel in a nice Ford Explorer and with a driver we went into the countryside. The highway was excellent with beautiful views and scenery. Lots of old volcano's. We went several miles on a cobblestone road past quaint houses to Cochasqui which is a collection of buried pyramids on a hillside. A local guide took us for a walk around them explaining the history and there is a small museum and replica of a dwelling. We also hand fed wild llamas. It was worth the stop. We then went to Cotacachi, "The Leather town", which has a long street lined with shops selling all kinds of leather goods at great prices. We had a nice lunch and then good shopping. Next we went to Otavalo and, even though it was a weekday, there was still a large market in the plaza selling typical Andean goods. Alexander was very flexible and accommodated our requests during the day, I recommend him highly. His English is excellent and he is very knowledgeable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsburgh, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local foo market”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Everyone knows about the Otavalo market, the biggest in South America, But you need to go to the food market. Huge building about 5 blocks from the everyday market and one 1 block from the Saturday Market. Just ask to go to the Fruit Market, fruit is outside and meat and food vendors are inside. Totally an awesome experience in culture, not many tourist here, just locals and the restaurants buying their daily food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank GraceCanada1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Took a day trip from Quito and enjoyed walking around and soaking up the local color. Prices were good but it helps to haggle a little and use whatever Spanish you know.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pattycakes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not just for tourists”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

One of the best things about the market is that it's not just for tourists. Along with the touristy panama hats, figurines, and alpaca toys you can find locals shopping for everything from clothes, to string, to even produce if you walk down a side street. A visual feast of color as you walk around.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank 955jessican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otavalo Market also viewed

Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Otavalo Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing