We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Otavalo Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Otavalo Market

Otavalo Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This colorful Indian market takes place each Saturday and features some of the finest woven products in the region including ponchos, sweaters, wall hangings and shawls.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Otavalo Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We went to the market as part of an excursion on our Nat Hab trip to the Galapagos. We enjoyed the market but had 3 hours to kill when 90 minutes would have been more than enough. You certainly need to bargain even though prices are much cheaper than one is used to in the states since they will tell you a price 30-50% more than you end up paying. We found that the further we got from what looked to be the main street, the better the starting prices were but of course we had already finished buying gifts so i don't know if they would have ended up being cheaper. The central square area seemed to have some very good prices, nicer produts, and some silver and turqoise jewelry. You can only find a bathroom in a restaurant and you need to buy something to use it and even then, odds of paper are low so be prepared.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank drcorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    291
    109
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I really enjoyed this bustling and colourful market. Shopping of any sort is something I usually hate but just walking through this market and looking at all the various things on sale was very interesting. Of course, many of the stalls sell the usual tacky tourist items available all over Ecuador, but there is a lot more than just that here. Handmade goods, food (including whole roasted pigs), clothing, art, jewellery...
definitely worth a visit. The journey from Quito to the market high up in the Andes was also a treat in itself, very beautiful.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JP123S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Take Your Time To Truly Appreciate...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The market at Otavalo is at first overwhelming. There are literally hundreds of vendors sprawled over a large section of the city. Yes, there are certain repetitive items, but there are some truly remarkable items available as well if you have patience. We got up very early and first visited the animal market outside of town. Although we were not looking to buy any livestock this trip, it is an extraordinary display of complete chaos and bedlam, a photographer's dream. The animal market runs from 6 to roughly 8 AM. After a couple cups of joe at the hotel, we headed to the craft market. We ended up attacking it in 4 sessions of about 1.5 hours each, taking breaks in between for 1) more coffee, 2) lunch (2 giant plates of chicken fried rice for 6 bucks) and 3) an afternoon nap. Each foray produced some nice finds. e did not bring enough cash with us this trip, so we will visit Otavalo again for the market in July 2012, on the back end of a trip to Poerto Lopez for whale watching. Don't be dissuaded by some of the negative reviews. The Otavalo market is something to be experienced...if you like photography, it is a rich opportunity.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zootenval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
306 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Skip the market.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We went on a Saturday, the big day. After one or two streets everything was repetitive. Prices were no bargin either, even when bargaining, which our driver helped with. I found same items in the city for the same price sometimes less. Save your time and visit the local parks in the city where you can find the same things in a nicer atmosphere any the sellers are much nicer.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tommysmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Half market, half bartering school”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

First off this market is expansive! It has three main parts, the tourist parts through the streets, the food area where you can buy market fare, and the grocery area where there are natives buying and selling vegetables and other foods items. You must must must barter for price in this market. The more foreign you look the higher the price. Check out a few stands before you buy any thing and never pay the asked price. You should shoot for a 50-25% discount on the asking price. Feel free to walk away and see how the price drops.
I speak a bit of spanish and this place was like barter school, I spent the day happily learning the art of negotiation in spanish. Lots of fun! Lots of stuff!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinsua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otavalo Market also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Otavalo Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing