We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary experience”
Review of Hacienda Pinsaqui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Pinsaqui
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Extraordinary experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

An extraordinary place. Bags of history (Simon Bolivar was a regular visitor) and a lovely garden, in a peaceful location out of town, and still owned and run by the original family whose current head gave us a welcome talk on the first night. The trouble is, the family clearly know nothing about running a hotel and they have not invested in any modernisation whatsoever. The rooms are vast - and freezing cold. They have open log fires in each room which the staff will willingly light for you, using a generous splash of diesel fuel to get them going (no - I am not kidding) and they put hot water bottles in the beds. You pretty much are forced to eat in their restaurant unless you have your own transport into town or want to get a cab (which can be done) but the food varies from poor to unimaginative. Despite all this it was a brilliant experience for one or two nights, but at least go with your eyes open. This is billed as a 4 star hotel by some companies - which it is not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    59
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
52
82
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Amazing 300 yr old hacienda. Not a lot of modern conveniences, but everything needed for a wonderful family stay. The staff is very helpful and hardworking. The owner is always overseeing meals, etc. and wants to make sure you are comfortable. The rooms are huge and homey. There is nothing like coming back to your room with a blazing fire in the wood stove and a hot water bottle heating up your bed! These simple touches make this hotel a cozy vacation spot. The grounds are lovely with horses and peacocks roam the courtyard that overlooks some of the rooms. The food is very good too! A must place to stay! Beds are comfortable and location is in the country so it is quiet - slept really well here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our stay at Hacienda Pinsaqui was very nice. The staff catered to every needle had Special touches like gorgeous fresh roses in your room to warming the beds with hot water bottles for the cold nights, and lighting your room's fireplace for your bedtime are just a few of the special treats. The grounds were well maintained with plants unique to Ecuador highlands.
We were met by the owner when we arrived and he checked on us daily to see that we had a good experience.
When he found out that my daughter was a volunteer in Ecuador he offered the organization huge discounts for their future stays there.
I loved this hacienda and plan to go back soon!

Room Tip: We had Simon Bolivar room- it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is an elegant, quiet and rambling traditional homestead just outside Otavalu and a perfect foil after a hectic day at the markets. The walls are a meter thick, our room had a fireplace, and hot water bottles in the beds on a cool night! WE ate at the restaurant as there's not really anything else locally and couldn't face a cab ride after the excitement of the markets - the pre dinner drinks and entertainment down in the bar/tack room were wonderful but the food in the actual restaurant was a little pedestrian - although the service and atmosphere were wonderful. We did the 3 hour horse trek in the morning with Carlos which was a fabulous ride - meandering through the village and farms coupled with several canters and gallops up to the high pastures on sturdy responsive horses with gorgeous sheepskin saddle cushions (the only word for it!).

Room Tip: We had room 6 - in the main house near the lounge area but still very quiet. Two double beds for my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands ,NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Well ,if you want a true Hacienda experience go here !
Can you image 4 generations living and caring on a visitor destination spot ....and all with extreme excellence ,be it ,food ,accomadations ,horses ,beautiful surroundings,hammocks ,wonderful Ecuadorian music and very handsome and ever present owners .

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pennywave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is an incredibly historic hotel, built in the year 1790. The hotel and the rooms have a charm that cannot be replicated - it is old, it is unique, it is historically Ecuadorian. Simon Bolivar himself stayed at this hotel. We were greeted to a welcome drink at 7pm that had a wonderful Andean band playing local music, which was wonderful. We then had dinner in their restaurant (soups/appetizers in the $5-8 range, main course prices were around $12-15). But unless you have a car there is no other options around - you will eat in the hotel. The rooms were somewhat Spartan but the unique. It gets quite cold at night but they will put on a log fire in the room and put hot water bottled in your bed. (There is also a plug-in space heater if you want it). There are no televisions in the rooms but there is a tv room next to the computer room (where there is also good free wifi - but available in the main building not the rooms). The grounds and gardens around the property are stunning. The next morning we were greeted by a perfectly clear view of the Cotacachi Volcano, in its snow-capped glory. This is one of the most unique hotels you can ever stay at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in Pinsaqui as part of our tour of Ecuador and Galápagos Islands.
I was excited to read about Hacienda's history, but the reality was disappointing. We stayed in room number 7 and not only it definitely seen better days, the atmosphere there was straight from Psycho. Perfect if you want to be frighted by a member of staff following you around and appearing behind your back, coupled with weird noses and creepy sounds at night. Bathroom is complete with an ancient bath and a mandatory shower curtain. Be warned!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irinichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
6.3 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
218 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
114 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
14.1 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
3.9 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#9 of 14 in Otavalo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Pinsaqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Pinsaqui

Property: Hacienda Pinsaqui
Address: Hwy 35 - Panamericana Norte km. 5, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Pinsaqui 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Pinsaqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Pinsaqui Otavalo
Hacienda Pinsaqui Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing