We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambivalent feelings”
Review of Hacienda Pinsaqui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Pinsaqui
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ambivalent feelings”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Amazing history and concept but borderline liveable. Questionable cleanliness, care, and partial state of disrepair. We stayed in the Simon Bolivar wing May 2012. The sink and the sheepskin rug were from the same century - the rug was quite disgusting it was so filthy. The restaurant ceiling looks like it's going to fall on your head. Common area decorations are old, crookedly hung, dirty looking. But yet the idea of the hacienda is charming. Victor, the Spanish manager, is very friendly and nice but has budget constraints. Some of the rooms are being renovated, some decently. But no usual toiletries. We had "hello kitty" tissue paper and a plastic rip-off-the-top sample size shampoo. It was like they got it from somewhere else. Grounds were lovely but almost overground and disregarded. A shame it is so rundown. But if you don't have high standards (read very low) definitely interesting for a night.

Room Tip: Stay in the newest renovated rooms for cleanliness but in the old wing for the history and charm (bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    60
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
53
84
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We had the privilege of staying 2 nights at this lovely, historic Hacienda as a part of an Adventures By Disney trip to Ecuador. Our host, Victor, gave us a wonderful walk through the physical compound as well as the history. The grounds and the buildings have been wonderfully restored/maintained through the years. Our suite was quite spacious with very nice decorations, what appeared to be well maintained original wood floors and an adequate bathroom. Because of my companion's allergies we were unable to take advantage of the wood burner and, therefore, the room was somewhat cold and damp. The hot water bottles did take the chill off once we went to bed.
The staff and service were excellent. We had breakfast and dinner each day. The food was excellent. While we were there, a notable Ecuadorian dignitary was there as well. You would not have known this from the way we were treated and accommodated; it was as though we were the only people staying there.
If I were going to make any recommendations at all to the Hacienda they would be: 1) Consider adding at least 2 luggage racks to each room. I felt guilty putting my suitcase up on the lovely bench seat. My companion had to use the table in front of the bench. After one day of having my suitcase on the floor, I was getting into trouble with my back. I suspect this would not be a problem for a younger person. 2) Problem: the beds are too close to the floor. Consider raising the beds at least 6 - 12 inches off the floor. Perhaps adding a box-spring to the bed would solve the issue. Again, I suspect that this would not be as great a problem for a younger person; for me, however, it was difficult getting down to and then up from the bed. Ever if neither of these issues were rectified, I would happily stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaS260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogmore-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

An impressive old hacienda with great architecture and lush tropical gardens. Clean, comfortable with lots of character. The en-suite rooms are spacious and well appointed with plenty of power points, lights, large beds, power showers etc. Each room has its own fireplace or wood burner and in the evenings the turn down service includes a beautiful lit fire with a basket of logs, fresh filtered water, a hotwater bottle tucked between the sheets and dimmed lighting - lovely touches.

The food was excellent - locally sourced, buffet breakfast, 3 formal courses in the evening. The cosy cavern bar was a welcome retreat after a full day of exploring the surrounding area and the traditional house band was great. The horse riding seemed reasonable and a great experience for those who went. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Aim for the presidential suite in the main house for real luxury. For unique charm and character the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is really an old, converted hacienda. Each room was different and unique. We only stayed here one night and that may have been enough but not because we didn't enjoy it - there didn't seem to be many activities available. The staff was very friendly and the food very very good too! Aside from loving the fact that each room was large and unique, they also had a "cave" where they brought you in for some drinks - it was a blast and a neat place with tasty drinks. After some time in there you go upstairs for dinner which was well done.

They did have free wi-fi though you pretty much had to go to the common area to access it. What really put this place over the top was that the rooms had fireplaces in them and they would make a fire for us at night while we were eating. Thats a new twist on turn down service. Breakfast was American style which was a nice touch too.

The place wasn't in immaculate shape - maybe a 7/10. There wasn't any air conditioning but it wasn't really needed. The ground were pretty and well kept. Overall, this place was a great value.

I would suggest anyone stay here. I don't know what you would do for more than a night or maybe two in the area but I don't know what you would do to keep entertained in the meantime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Washout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

After a busy day at the Otavalo market, what a delight it was to make a stop at this simply gorgeous Hacienda. As you enter one feels he is in a time when romance and elegance was dominant in these kinds of establishments. Each room is more beautiful than the last, and when you arrive at the dining room, you take in a view of pure comfort and elegance. The menu is just filled with local delicacies and i chose one of the local favorites which is called "El Churrasco" and is a delicious steak covered with 3 fried eggs, done to perfection and served with a locally seasoned rice. Simply to die for. Everything from soup to nuts is fantastic. This was a place that i would have loved to have spent much more time, just enjoying the ambiance and relaxing in all its luxuries.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Very friendly service and a very warm welcome including a fun welcome drinks party in the 'Cave'. Dont expect full on luxury but the rooms are full of character and we loved the open fire in our room. Very impressive grounds. Food was ok without being memorable. We found wifi tv room very useful. Overall service was really excellent with nothing being too much trouble. Hot water bottles were brilliant

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy55bellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

After a recent stay at Hacienda Zuleta (see other review), we were looking for a more reasonably priced option since we travelled with our two young kids.
Hacienda Pinsaqui is a beautiful old Landhouse / Farm, quite well kept and with lots of charm.
As a family, we ejoied the spacious room that came with a nice fire place (lit at night) as well as the nice bathtub.
Breakfast is served in a room with a huge fire place and was pleasant. The buffet is not very extensive, but what is served is good (fruit, bread, yoghurts).
The Hacienda counts with an excellent restaurant, in fact one of the better ones we've come across in Ecuador, that serves a nice variety of food in a very nice setting.
There are horses and our kids enjoyed riding in the gardens of the Hacienda. Other guests told us, they were very satisfied with a horse back tour they did from the hotel. Nearby the Hotel, there are many nice things to do, such as hiking around a laguna, visiting the market of Otavalo or hiking one of the nearby vulcanos.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
6.3 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
7.0 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
#12 of 14 in Otavalo
12 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
118 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Pinsaqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Pinsaqui

Property: Hacienda Pinsaqui
Address: Hwy 35 - Panamericana Norte km. 5, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Pinsaqui 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Pinsaqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Pinsaqui Otavalo
Hacienda Pinsaqui Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing