We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BEAUTIFUL HOTEL AND RESTAURANT”
Review of Hacienda Pinsaqui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Pinsaqui
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

After a busy day at the Otavalo market, what a delight it was to make a stop at this simply gorgeous Hacienda. As you enter one feels he is in a time when romance and elegance was dominant in these kinds of establishments. Each room is more beautiful than the last, and when you arrive at the dining room, you take in a view of pure comfort and elegance. The menu is just filled with local delicacies and i chose one of the local favorites which is called "El Churrasco" and is a delicious steak covered with 3 fried eggs, done to perfection and served with a locally seasoned rice. Simply to die for. Everything from soup to nuts is fantastic. This was a place that i would have loved to have spent much more time, just enjoying the ambiance and relaxing in all its luxuries.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 221 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

Very friendly service and a very warm welcome including a fun welcome drinks party in the 'Cave'. Dont expect full on luxury but the rooms are full of character and we loved the open fire in our room. Very impressive grounds. Food was ok without being memorable. We found wifi tv room very useful. Overall service was really excellent with nothing being too much trouble. Hot water bottles were brilliant

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy55bellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

After a recent stay at Hacienda Zuleta (see other review), we were looking for a more reasonably priced option since we travelled with our two young kids.
Hacienda Pinsaqui is a beautiful old Landhouse / Farm, quite well kept and with lots of charm.
As a family, we ejoied the spacious room that came with a nice fire place (lit at night) as well as the nice bathtub.
Breakfast is served in a room with a huge fire place and was pleasant. The buffet is not very extensive, but what is served is good (fruit, bread, yoghurts).
The Hacienda counts with an excellent restaurant, in fact one of the better ones we've come across in Ecuador, that serves a nice variety of food in a very nice setting.
There are horses and our kids enjoyed riding in the gardens of the Hacienda. Other guests told us, they were very satisfied with a horse back tour they did from the hotel. Nearby the Hotel, there are many nice things to do, such as hiking around a laguna, visiting the market of Otavalo or hiking one of the nearby vulcanos.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Jan., 2012.
Plusses;The grounds are incredible, as beautiful as any I have ever seen in 30 countries and 30+ years of international travel. The hotel itself is old and historic, charming, unique. The horses in the stabvle on the grounds area vision of beauty.
Minuses; Restaurant was grossly over priced and very unimpressive food. Either lower prices or get serious about creating a real restaurant worth of these prices. Rooms are charming but can be cold and draftly (it's a 300+ year old hotel reemember). Aside from horseback riding and walking the lovely ground, nothint to do. An outdoor hot tub or jacuzzi and fire pit with comfortable outdoor furniture in those wonderful grounds would have made all the difference and made the place a memorable experience. For some rooms, you have to either walk through the kitchen or around the entire building (not pleasant if it's cold or raining) to get from the front to your room. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful but one new assistant manager yelled at us for trying to walk through the kitchen on a rainy night (after showing us to our rooms through the kitchen on our arrival!). Perhaps just had a bad night.

Overall, for the high (for Ecuador) prices you pay here, it's not really worth it., Better to stop by for a coffee and walk the wonderful grounds than to stay here. Not bad in the least, but with some minor improvments as above would be really special!

Room Tip: stayt away from rooms in back or behind the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelandAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We spent a night here while traveling up north.

It was perfect. We were fortunate enough to have Room 1 all to ourselves - the room where Simon Bolivar would stay when passing through.

It was full of charm and comfort of another era. The room is a bit cool so pack warm pajamas, but they make up for it with a space heater and even boiled water bags (?) placed in between the sheets during turndown service. A welcome treat indeed.

The restaurant was friendly, good service with some of the better fare found in all of Ecuador -especially the soups. We loved the canzelo sipping by the fire with fresh empanadas during the happy hour, preceded by walking around the gorgeous grounds.

The only thing we regret is not carving time out to go on a trail by horseback. The horses there are beautiful!

There is a PC for internet access if you must use during your stay as well.

Seriously, a must stay with good service in a place with history and good info. Yes, its a bit rustic and cool at night, but all a part of its charm.

Room Tip: There are a few new rooms that looked excellent or try for Suite 1 - Simon Bolivar's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambieni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Certainly oozing with character and charm and not a little beauty in its lovely setting and surroundings.

Somehow just falls short of converting the fantastic opportunity all this uniqueness offers into an experience to be remembered with complete positivity.

The setting is lovely and the gardens pretty, although not as beautiful as other haciendas we visited in the area. The place has a shabby charm, but just feels a bit like it's in need of a bit of a tasteful overhaul to be regarded as a luxurious experience. The idea of having your fire lit as you dine is wonderful, but when it's gone out by the time you get to bed and you can't get it relit even when asking, you wish they didn't bother as you cuddle your hot water bottle and feel cold!

Warm bath one day, tepid the next. Lovely soft croissants one morning, hard as rocks the next. Food generally was ok but unexceptional. Wine was highest price I've found for equivalent Castello del Diablo so far in Ecuador.

With a bit of money spending on this place, it could be truly wonderful, but for now I'd look elsewhere in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emben10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for three nights with our tour group. Our cabin was far from the main building, and was accessed by walking down an uncovered, poorly-lit, cobblestone path, which was puddley and slippery when it rained (which it did). We had trouble locking and opening the door with our old-fashioned key, and we left it open much of the time. (There were no safes in the cabin, but the manager assured us that the entire hacienda was safe;) The room was L-shaped and large, but had little furniture and very poor lighting. Storage space for our belongings was minimal and the small closet contained only three wire hangers. There was no comfortable place to sit other than the bed. Nightime temperatures in Otavalo are quite cool, and the heating provided was inadequate. There was a tiny electric heater on a short cord and a wood-burning stove, which was lit every evening. The staff also put hot water bottles in the beds. None of this helped in the middle of the night or early in the morning when one needed to use the frigid bathroom, which had no source of heat. Early morning light entered, as there were no room-darkening shades, so, if you make the mstake of staying here, be sure to bring eyeshades.

Speaking of the bathroom, the shower curtain was much too short, and almost the entire bathroom floor got wet when we showered.

On the positive side, the gardens are lovely, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our group had special dietary requirements, and they were catered to..

Room Tip: Get a room near the main building to lessen your chances of tripping on the cobblestone paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
6.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
227 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
4.7 mi away
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
#11 of 14 in Otavalo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#2 of 14 in Otavalo
148 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#4 of 14 in Otavalo
119 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#7 of 14 in Otavalo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Pinsaqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Pinsaqui

Address: Hwy 35 - Panamericana Norte km. 5, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range: $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Pinsaqui 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Pinsaqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Pinsaqui Otavalo
Hacienda Pinsaqui Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing