We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Condor Park

Condor Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.74*
and up
Private Day Tour: Otavalo Condor Park Plus Cotacachi or Peguche Waterfall
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is great. Other reviewers who complain about the people only speaking Spanish may want to remember that you are IN ECUADOR. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the raptor show even though we don't speak a word of English. We could pick up bits and pieces but mostly it was just wonderful to see these magestic birds up close.
This project is an important one as it's part of a conservation effort to save all these beautiful birds.
The views from the park are amazing too - you can see the whole Valley of the Sun stretching out below you with the volcanic peaks on either side. Stunning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PCheramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    123
    39
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting, worth while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The raptor refuge is interesting. Allow 2hrs to see. Small fee to enter and support the work of rescue for while birds.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RustySmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“See the big birds soar over the Andean valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

There is a show at 11:30 except on Mondays. The show is done in spanish so bring a translator is you don't speak the language. The show is about an hour long and you get to see owls, eagles, hawks close up and fly over the valley and your head. The host is informative. If you have kids, they have a time to get pictures taken with some of the birds. The park is also a bird zoo and there are 2 condors that you can see close up along with lots of other birds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A bird enthusiast's delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This rehabilitation and refuge for the birds is fascinating and thrilling (especially when they have a few eagles and other smaller birds give an aerial exhibition under the fantastic watch of the dutch man and his staff). There are 2 exhibitions, the one we were fortunate to be at 11:30 AM and the other at 3:30 PM i believe, is something one should not miss. They have owls, massive Andean condors (wing spans of 10 feet), bald eagles and other wild birds. One gets even a chance to hold a small bird on a leather cushion at the end.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank torblore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haida Gwaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beautiful birds and interesting info available about them (although I was hoping for more).
The 'flight show' is cancelled if there is rain.
We didn't miss it though and on seeing the trained birds who would have performed, I felt sad for them although I do realize that there is a long tradition of keeping birds of prey as trained work animals.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaN0mada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Condor Park also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Condor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing