We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An quiet oasis in Otavalo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Pachamama

Cafe Pachamama
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: International, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Pachamama is located inside hotel La Posada del Quinde, just five blocks from the Plaza de Ponchos market. Our fireplace lounge, outdoor patio and garden provide something extra for travelers, as well as our freshly-prepared, organic food with local ingredients. To top it off, we offer more vegetarian options than any other restaurant in town and many delicious meat options as well. But even if you're not a vegetarian, we have plenty of meat-based dishes and burgers to please meat-eaters as well.
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An quiet oasis in Otavalo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've had several lunches here with consistently good food. You sometimes wait a while as they must make everything without a microwave which is fine. There are lovely garden views and the food is worth the wait. It's a very clean place with fresh food deliciously prepared at great prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    33
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at La Posada del Quinde where this restaurant is located and found the food here to be excellent! My favorite was the enchilada casserole which is actually a vegetarian dish. It was so delicous I ordered it twice during our stay. Breakfasts were hardy and served with a wonderful array of local fruits and the coffee was tops as well. The staff was friendly, warm and always smiling and we had no trouble communicating in our broken Spanish.

The local entertainment on Friday night was a real plus as well. We did try a few other local places to eat but found Cafe Pachamama to be the BEST PLACE in Otavalo. Try it! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow and Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We happened on Pachamama by accident, looking for a restaurant that had been recommended, but closed. What a nice surprise when we walked into this beautifully laid out restaurant.

The servers were very friendly and the food was fantastic. The variation on foods there was quite interesting and we were so impressed, we went back the next night too. I agree that the brownie and ice cream is heavenly - you can't ignore it because the aroma hits you the minute you walk in the door.

Would highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olivernewwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still clean and good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I just went back to Otavalo and I returned to had dinner here; i was quite happy to see that the quality of the food has not changed and the atmosphere is the same. Good to see that they are keeping the same standard

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intlalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful food and great menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had all three meals at the Cafe Pachamama during our week at the hotel. They were all excellent! Great service and served beautifully. But you can't have a meal there without having the brownie and ice cream!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pachamama also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Cafe Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing