We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Ranked #1 of 29 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night while on a tour, but everyone on our tour wished we could have stayed longer.. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by this unique hotel, its beautiful setting and the friendliness of its employees.

Our cabin was clean and comfortable with two large beds (a queen and a double,) a working fireplace and a large couch under a picture window overlooking the lake. The bath was modern and had plenty of hot water. .Since it was a chilly night, the staff lit the fireplace and placed hot water bottles in our bed.

The hotel offers free wifi which we were unable to get in our cabin, but could access in the main lounge.

The restaurant which overlooks the lake served the best meal I had during my 8 nights in Ecuador.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEL67NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Good morning. Sorry for our delay in our response. We are just retaking the media management. Great comment, thank you. We are very proud to serve you the best meal in Ecuador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    65
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
98
79
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

my husband and my self we stayed in "Cabano de Lago" had a great time, it's very beautiful place on the lake, nice and quiet, friendly stuff , i love the music in the restaurant launch over look on the lake and nice Ecuadorian coffee, will come again, thanks......we had a pleasant time.

ND

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashadann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your comment. Sorry for the late answer, we just retake the media management.
We are happy you enjoy your time here in the lake. Hope see you again. We will be welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Gate 1 Tour of Ecuador, and were just blown away by the setting, grounds, tranquil gardens, and the "Bunny World" mini-golf! We had a private cabana with a wood burning stove, which the staff lit for us while we dined on a delicious dinner, while overlooking the lake. Hot water bottles tucked into the covers was another unexpected little touch. We loved the log cabin so much, we borrowed a tape measure to draw a sketch map, as it would be the perfect "guest house" to build someday... Tip: the mini-golf is harder than it looks! There is a hole that goes into the chicken coop and then your ball rolls down a ramp into a nest! The entire staff was outstanding, and the gals who greeted our bus were dressed in traditional Otavalo embroidered outfits. The Christmas spirit was pervasive, but not overpowering. A little noisy in the morning from the neighborhood barking dogs...

Room Tip: See if you can get a private cabana, as opposed to a duplex unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archaeogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Good morning. Thank you for your comment. Sorry for the late answer. We are retaking the media management. We are happy that you enjoy your time with us. Thanks for the mini golf tip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Wow, this place is beautiful. Located on a picturesque lake below the mountains, the Cabanas del Lago consists of a number of well appointed cabins with a main lodge with a reception area and restaurant right on the lake. Our cabin was very cozy and the staff lit a fire on for us and placed hot water bottles in our bed while we were at dinner – what a nice touch!! The grounds are in a garden setting with many beautiful indigenous flowering plants and it is a great place for taking photos. We had a very delicious dinner at the restaurant with our group and the buffet breakfast the next morning was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at this wonderful hotel, and one night is not enough. This place was astounding. It was a very pretty place. The gardens were enough to take your breath away. Winding your way around the paths to your rooms was a treasure in itself. There was also a miniature golf court and a small petting zoo that consisted of bunnies, roosters and chickens. The rooms were small but extremely elegant. They had wonderful picture windows with wrap-around seating, and two double beds. We visited this place in November therefore the temperature did dip to 47 degrees at night. It was a bit cold but the staff at this hotel knew how to keep you warm. We were surprised to find wonderful, terry cloth covered, hot water bags in our beds. Talk about cozy and warm. Not to mention, we had a roaring fire in our fireplace at the foot of our bed. It was right out of a storybook. The bathroom was updated and huge. However, I will tell you to wear socks on your feet. The bathroom floor was beyond cold. They provided us with soap, lotion, plenty of tools but there were no washclothes. Be sure to bring your own loofah or pouf sponge. There was a little store located on the property where the local ladies sold their goods. The prices were relatively cheap. We ate at the restaurant on site. The service was outstanding. The employees couldn't do enough for you. The food was average but the setting was spectacular. The restaurant overlooked the lake. In fact, it was so stunning that you tend to overlook the average food. Breakfast was served outside and they had a variety of items to choose from, local fruit, cheeses, eggs, pancakes, yogurt and granola. Overall, this was a hidden treasure and one that should not be missed. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: I don't think that there was a bad room in this place. Everything was beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hacienda was beautiful.....our room was very large, when you go for dinner they build a fire in your fireplace....very nice! The dinner was excellent...I had spaghetti and the desserts were great. The staff was exceptionally friendly . The gardens and setting is just beautiful.....and the restaurant overlooks the lake. Breakfast was good with many fresh fruits and the jams were excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckylou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night with Gate 1. Arrived late in the day so didn't get to enjoy all the amenities. Our room was large with a huge built in seating area. Loved the fireplace and the hot water bottles. Good service. Food was OK. Good pancakes at breakfast. Loved the bunnies.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rbgrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
5.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
7.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#2 of 29 in Otavalo
525 reviews
2.0 mi away
cabin Balcon del Lago
cabin Balcon del Lago
#3 of 40 in Otavalo
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Cabanas del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Property: Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Address: Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Cabanas del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome lakeside hotel offers a traditional and international cuisine. Comfortable and cozy cabins decorated with a unique andean-contemporary style. Beautiful and peaceful gardens in the middle of a typical andean scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hosteria Cabanas del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Cabanas Del Lago Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing