We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located on a picturesque lake below the mountains, the Cabanas del Lago consists of a number of well appointed cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Ranked #1 of 33 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Wow, this place is beautiful. Located on a picturesque lake below the mountains, the Cabanas del Lago consists of a number of well appointed cabins with a main lodge with a reception area and restaurant right on the lake. Our cabin was very cozy and the staff lit a fire on for us and placed hot water bottles in our bed while we were at dinner – what a nice touch!! The grounds are in a garden setting with many beautiful indigenous flowering plants and it is a great place for taking photos. We had a very delicious dinner at the restaurant with our group and the buffet breakfast the next morning was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 273 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at this wonderful hotel, and one night is not enough. This place was astounding. It was a very pretty place. The gardens were enough to take your breath away. Winding your way around the paths to your rooms was a treasure in itself. There was also a miniature golf court and a small petting zoo that consisted of bunnies, roosters and chickens. The rooms were small but extremely elegant. They had wonderful picture windows with wrap-around seating, and two double beds. We visited this place in November therefore the temperature did dip to 47 degrees at night. It was a bit cold but the staff at this hotel knew how to keep you warm. We were surprised to find wonderful, terry cloth covered, hot water bags in our beds. Talk about cozy and warm. Not to mention, we had a roaring fire in our fireplace at the foot of our bed. It was right out of a storybook. The bathroom was updated and huge. However, I will tell you to wear socks on your feet. The bathroom floor was beyond cold. They provided us with soap, lotion, plenty of tools but there were no washclothes. Be sure to bring your own loofah or pouf sponge. There was a little store located on the property where the local ladies sold their goods. The prices were relatively cheap. We ate at the restaurant on site. The service was outstanding. The employees couldn't do enough for you. The food was average but the setting was spectacular. The restaurant overlooked the lake. In fact, it was so stunning that you tend to overlook the average food. Breakfast was served outside and they had a variety of items to choose from, local fruit, cheeses, eggs, pancakes, yogurt and granola. Overall, this was a hidden treasure and one that should not be missed. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: I don't think that there was a bad room in this place. Everything was beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hacienda was beautiful.....our room was very large, when you go for dinner they build a fire in your fireplace....very nice! The dinner was excellent...I had spaghetti and the desserts were great. The staff was exceptionally friendly . The gardens and setting is just beautiful.....and the restaurant overlooks the lake. Breakfast was good with many fresh fruits and the jams were excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckylou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night with Gate 1. Arrived late in the day so didn't get to enjoy all the amenities. Our room was large with a huge built in seating area. Loved the fireplace and the hot water bottles. Good service. Food was OK. Good pancakes at breakfast. Loved the bunnies.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank rbgrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel comprises of log cabins - (standalone or units of 2) on a pretty lake (Lago San Pablo). The cabins are spacious, ours was in front of the marina with an unobstructed view of the lake. The cabins are heated by wood burning fireplaces which are turned on by the staff when guests are having dinner (make sure you have enough logs as the fireplace is the only heat source and the rooms can get a bit cold). They additionally provide a hot water bottle (which you can use to warm your feet or back). The garden is beautifully landscaped with a small waterfall at one end and very pretty flowers everywhere. Part of the garden area has been converted into a mini golf course which requires a $6 ticket. There are some rabbits, parakeets and hen on the golf course boundary which you can see without the ticket. There is a marina area which offers many kinds of boating options. The hotel restaurant has some unique furniture near the bar and many waterfront facing seats. Wifi is available in the restaurant and rooms (central rooms are more completely covered than the ones near the marina).
Our stay with Gate1 included dinner which was good and service was very fast (finished a 3 course meal in under 45min even with a 32 person group). Breakfast was decent as well with very nice pancakes.
To hotel staff - improving wifi strength and providing portable electric heaters in rooms would make this perfect.
To travellers - be warned, you may fall in love with this charming place and not want to leave.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night in October on a tour of Ecuador. I really enjoyed this place. There is not much in the immediate area surrounding the hotel so be prepared to stay near the property. First off, you should know that there is a bunny garden. Yes, that's right. Bunnies. Even baby bunnies, that you can pick up and hold. They also had a mini golf course, but it was pretty expensive so we decided to skip that. Second, the lake is really pretty, especially during sunset. Third, the Otavalo staff working in the restaurant are some of the nicest and hardest workers that we met in Ecuador. The food was pretty good too. Fourth, the rooms were basic but adequate. Our room was a decent size and the fire place was a nice touch. Unfortunately, my room did not have any hot water in the morning despite keeping the shower running for over 10 minutes. Needless to say, it was a very cold morning for me.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyla M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our second trip to Otovalo but the first to the lake. We would probably never have found this gem if it were not for the tour company. As others have said, the rooms have fieplaces which are lit each night for heat not just ambiance. The hot water bottle was a real treat in keeping the toes warm throughout the night; something to think about for the upcoming winter chill. the bathroom was quite adequate with plenty of hot water and a skylight that let in copious amounts of light. Overall, we were delighted with the accommodations and wish we could have prolonged our stay.
The restaurant was very good with a delightful view of the lake. The bar was ok and a bit pricey.
There appeared to be many things to do at the resort during the "season" but not at this time of year.
This location merits a repeat visit.
Gate 1 finds great, out-of-the-way places!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
5.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
227 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
7.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#2 of 14 in Otavalo
148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#2 of 33 in Otavalo
532 reviews
1.8 mi away
PuertoLago Country Inn
PuertoLago Country Inn
#8 of 33 in Otavalo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Cabanas del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Address: Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range: $114 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Cabanas del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome lakeside hotel offers a traditional and international cuisine. Comfortable and cozy cabins decorated with a unique andean-contemporary style. Beautiful and peaceful gardens in the middle of a typical andean scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Cabanas del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Cabanas Del Lago Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing