We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Friendly and homie hostel, with lovely views and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria Rose Cottage
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The Staff were very friendly, welcoming and very helpful about the things to do in the area. i was only intending to stay for two days but found my self so at home with the atmostphere that i stayed a whole week. The home cooked food was delicious and well portioned and it presented a great way of meeting other like minded travelers, which made for a nice atmostphere. I was impressed about the variation of travelers staying at the hostel and the way everyone was looked after, with even a young family and baby welcomed.
This was by far one of the nicest and prettiest Hostels ive stayed in and would encourage other travelers to give it a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldTerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 126 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2010

I stayed at Rose Cottage for around a month at the very beginning of my trip and after reading all the glowing reviews i was amazed that it surpassed my expectations. I used it as a base in order to learn Spanish and it served as the perfect backdrop, I really felt at home there. The food was excellent and as promised the views were amazing. All the staff were really helpful and friendly , very forthcoming with information about activities in the local area and advice on do´s and dont´s in Ecuador, which was really useful at the start of my trip. The hostel itself has a very homely feel and it is safe to say i had the best nights sleep there of any hostel so far as it is in very peaceful surroundings. However it is only a short distance by car from Otavalo and around 45 minutes walk so you never feel too isolated. This place was without a doubt my favourite hostel so far and the tennis court was a real plus. I was offered a discounted rate as i stayed for over a week which meant i could live really cheaply and this really set me up for the rest of my trip. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone, families, groups, lone backpackers and couples. I´m already planning to head back next summer as there´s so much to see and do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for 6 days in March. If you just want to chill out, the scenery is incredible and there are plenty of walks on offer and a big dvd selection. On the other hand if you want to do some activities, there are plenty of volcanoes to trek around, a tennis court on site and the town's markets close by. The hosteria is far enough out of town to be secluded, and yet close enough to be easy to get to and from via a quick taxi ride. The owners go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay and there are plenty of home cooked meals. I would definitely recommend Rose Cottage to backpackers and older travellers alike.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank womble7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

By far the best place i´ve stayed in South America. Amazing views, genuinely nice owners and a comfy bed for the night. This is great as a stop off on a friday night to see the wild markets on saturday but even better for a longer time. Otovalo has a lot to offer besides the markets and Rose Cottage have all the info you´ll need on the various volcanoes, waterfalls and condor parks in the local area. I met some really cool people there whilst feeling that i could relax in the comfort and luxury of the cottage area. Unlike other hostels in big towns it was pretty easy to chill out instead of feeling as if i had to rush around. Top marks from me and would love to return in a few years time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milowarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We made a reservation for 2 nights and ended up staying 4! Don't let the out of town location dissuade you from staying. It's a 30min downhill walk into town and a $3 taxi ride back. Complimentary pick-up and drop-off service from/to the bus station is available. The owners know you are there to see the Saturday market and will gladly give you a ride down in the morning. While the setting is very relaxing activities such as hiking and tennis are available. We stayed in the spacious 8 person dorm. The comfortable beds are upstairs while downstairs is the TV/DVD player and kitchen. The bathroom was spotless and the water hot.

Richard, Sophie and Alex were gracious hosts and the dogs great fun to play with. I accompanied them to a carnival fiesta in nearby Peguche where we joined a wedding procession with a marching band and attended a concert for the indigenous population. The headliners were from Bolivia! It was a fantastic experience.

I hope to return sooner than later.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dv0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I are staying in Quito for a year and we wanted to plan our first get away out of the big city into something a little more peaceful. We found Rose Cottage online, looked at the pictures, and booked immediately. We were NOT disappointed!

This was one of the most beautiful settings to stay in. The staff were extremely helpful and more than accommodating. The food, the conversation, just everything was exactly how it should be for a weekend get-a-way.

Honestly, one of the best hostels I've stayed at in the world. If you're looking to slow down, enjoy good company, and really relax you should stay here. I know we'll be going back time and time again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogdaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Rose cottage was a great place to meet other travellers. The views were so stunning, the air so fresh. It was a pleasure to come somewhere where the pace of life is so much slower. I stayed in the spacious dorm and was pleased to find a single bed (no bunk beds!) I ended up staying several days longer than expected enjoying the hammocks an hiking around the area including to nearby secluded waterfalls. The dvds, board games and pinpong were great fun in the evenings and the food was delicious and good value. The only criticism would be that my taxi got lost on the way up and overcharged me. Also one day we were stuck in a raincloud and could not see a thing!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffLillie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Luna Mountain Lodge
La Luna Mountain Lodge
#1 of 41 in Otavalo
103 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Casa Sol Otavalo
La Casa Sol Otavalo
#1 of 1 in Peguche
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 35 in Otavalo
553 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
24 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Rose Cottage

Address: Mojandita-Curubi | Via a Lagunas de Mojanda, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range: $23 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTERIA ROSE COTTAGE - A retreat in the heart of the Andes, and the perfect place for exploring the region’s attractions!Rose Cottage is an idyllic Hosteria with wonderful views in a rural setting overlooking the town of Otavalo, 3 kilometers away. Situated at an altitude of 2,800 metres, you’ll find it easy to forget that ten minutes down the road is the hive of activity of Otavalo, home to Ecuador’s most celebrated indigenous market. Our relaxed atmosphere and large open spaces make us popular with backpackers, couples and families alike.With seven different houses we have accommodation to suit all budgets. We offer a fully equipped family house, romantic chalet and a luxury apartment as well as double and single rooms (some with fireplace) and a comfortable dorm. Campers are also welcome. As well as a being an ideal base for independent travellers visiting the region, we are ideal for groups, parties, meetings, weddings, educational tours and learning Spanish.HOSTERIA ROSE COTTAGE OFFERS –- Attractive, affordable accommodation- Comfortable dormitory with TV room, safe storage & book exchange- Beautiful family house with stunning view & fireplace- Luxury cottage/suites with private fireplaces- Attractive restaurant with fireplace, terrace and live music- Spacious Library/meeting room with seating for 30- Hammocks, camping & outdoor log fire- Painting materials and musical instruments available- Friendly animals on site- Picturesque walks/horserding from Hosteria- Tennis court/table-tennis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing