We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosteria Rose Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa Mojanda(Otavalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Coraza(Otavalo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Maria(Otavalo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Lily(Otavalo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
80
23
15
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
23
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe owneramazing viewscharming propertyother guestsspacious roombeautiful gardenrosadormwalksjacuzziecuadorchimborazocasafireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 128 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Rose´s Cottage is perfect for anyone, families, backpackers, etc. The cottage is set on top a hill just outside Ottavalo (easy to enter the town within minutes) with fantastic views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. There are several hammocks placed around the cottage grounds that offer the perfect place for relaxing. The rooms are comfortable and extremely clean. There is even a room to watch DVDs while relaxing at night and a ping pong table in one of the common areas. During my stay, we even cleared out the tables in the kitchen for a free salsa lesson from a couple visiting from California.

Rose´s offers tours to surrounding sites, such as to Cuicocha Lake and Cotacachi. They also provide additional inside knowledge of the surrounding area, such as a beautiful waterfall only a 30 minute hike from the cottage, not frequented by other tourists.

I am unable to compliment the owners enough. Rosa and her family (Ecuadorian/British) give back to the local community. She has given some of her land to a local school, given donations to the school, and given writing/reading lessons for free to local residents. When we visited the Saturday Ottavalo market (a must do), Rosa drove us into town and pointed out some good places to eat. I lost my book in Canoa, so Rosa and her son Richard gave me the latest edition of the Economist for free. Richard even helped me chase down my bus to Banos (after Rosa and Richard gave me a free ride to Ibarra to get the bus!).

If you go to Ottavalo, do yourself and the local community a favor by staying at Rose´s Cottage!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoBigBlue83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I travelled around most of Ecuador, and genuinely felt that Rose Cottage was by far the most enjoyable part of my stay. It is the perfect hostel for its location - set high enough for fantastic, 360 degree views of the surrounding mountains, and with great owners, we were given inside knowledge (and even private tours!) of the less well known and thus particularly beautiful landscapes. The family run place gives a real sense of welcome, with the perfect mix of Ecuadorian effervescence and English geniality, help, advice, information and space were all there at the same time, whenever you needed it/them.

Great value, great food, an awesome balcony/platform(?) extending over into a deep valley (with incredible hammocks!) - I couldn't recommend it enough. With a selection of little and medium sized, rustic/chic style houses, the rooms are great, and I recommend getting involved with the occasional indoor table tennis - the family are pretty good!

It's quite far from the airport (2 hours I seem to remember), but the Otavalan people, their ancient tradition, cultural rarities like the animal market and general market, coupled with the scenic surrounding area make it a must for any trip to/around Ecuador.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amrt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I had the honour of being one of the first guests at Rose Cottage. I was expecting lots but was totally taken aback when i arrived.

The photos just dont do the views justice and no description can properly capture the great atmosphere. Otavalo itself is an incredible place with markets, beautiful buildings and killer scenery-an absolute must in S.America. The small ride up the hill into the community where Rose Cottage is based is a journey into the real Ecuador. Waking up to that view is something i´ll never forget.

Id recommend it to everyone, whether youré looking for quick getaway or someplace to chill for a while. Its almost worth flying out just to spend a week or so there. I was in the basic dorm and it was palacial. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingwomble84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Found this hostel due to a poster and some leaflets i found in quito. I was delighted to find a unique hostel. The owners are a charming Anglo-ecuadorian family who made me and my 3 friends feel very welcome. After making the booking they picked us up from the panamerican highway and drove us upto their retreat free of charge. Once there we immediately noticed the fantastic views of Otavalo town and the Volcano that surrounded it. We were also walmly greeted by their staff and and other members of the family. The dorm was really fantastic. 6 large comfortable single beds with a bathroom attached. Below was the communal tv room and library and next to the dorm a tennis court with balcony where we enjoyed a beer. Food was very good value at $5 and we were joined by the family who also helped us plan our trip further. They showed us to the local waterfalls and also took us to the animal market which was probably more interesting than the actual market, all for free. The one thing would be that it is a bit difficult to reach and cabs don't seem to know where it is.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews