We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bargain and a beautiful hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riviera-Sucre

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Riviera-Sucre
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A bargain and a beautiful hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was recommended to us by our hostel in Quito. It was beautifully painted, with hammocks everywhere and a cool subtle political touch to it, which I loved. The owners were just lovely and were great on filling us in on what to do and where to go. Otavalo is just a wonderful place anyway but the location of this hostel was central and safe. For around $28US a night, we had big room with two double beds, a lovely tiled en suite and a view of the mountains from the balcony. Continental breakfast was $3.50, we had free wifi and a tv in our room. I wish we could have stayed longer as it was the perfect wee 3 day break from Quito that we needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploradoraNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
54
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel is centrally located. The inner courtyard room was spartan but clean , safe and quiet. I did opt to pay an extra $2. per night for a room heater while I was there, which made the chilly nights more comfortable. The shower was spacious with plenty of hot water.There were outside rooms in the back , 11 , 12 , 13 and 16 that all opened out onto a lovely garden. I would ask for one of those next time. Don't waste your money on their breakfast...it consisted of a hard roll that you can buy anywhere on the street.There are plenty of better places to have a morning meal.

Room Tip: Ask for the outside garden rooms 10,11, 12, 13 and 16 in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

A quaint colonial styled building with an interior garden courtyard. The rooms are nothing fancy, just basic, comfortable and clean. Wi-fi reception is adequate. The property is conveniently located just 2 blocks from the main square and restaurants of every kind are all within easy walking distance. The hotel has a common area kitchen that can be used by all guests during certain times of the day. A TV room has books and DVD's available. The dining room also doubles as an internet studio with PC's available for use at a nominal fee. The only problem we had was with the shower; it was either super hot water or cold water, nothing in between.

Room Tip: The garden rooms face the open courtyard garden area that offers sunshine and lots of natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our room was spartan but clean and opened onto a lovely courtyard garden, which made a wonderful place to enjoy our coffee and breakfast each morning. Marie and the two young men who helped her were very accommodating. The location was good, a block from the central plaza and just a few blocks from the market. At $28/night, taxes included, the Riviera Sucre was our best value in Ecuador.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The rooms were huge and very clean. We had the room in the back that was very quiet and close to the garden. The whole hotel is very comfortable and everyone who works there is very kind. Flores, the owner, was very sweet and accommodating to us and the price was unbeatable. We had to leave a day early though we wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlefrangipane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We (couple, 41 & 50) stayed at Hotel Riviera Sucre for four nights in May 2014. We paid $30 for a room with a private bathroom. The room was average size with a small balcony and two comfortable beds - a queen and a double. The bathroom was okay size but a bit smelly. There was lots of hot water. The hotel is in a very nice colonial building with a beautiful courtyard and cozy salon. The kitchen is big and well equipped (pots & pans) but not well stocked (condiments & spices). The staff had a nice fire in the salon two nignts, which was real nice. There are two internet computers but they charge for use ($1/hour). They also offer laundry service. Riviera Sucre is two blocks from the main plaza and ten mimutes walking to the market plaza. There are many restaurants, shops and ATMs very close by. The staff did not speak English but they were friendly and helpful. Riviera Sucre is a nice, convenient hotel and for the price a good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We don't put reviews on tripadvisor often, but for this nice and cozy hotel we felt that we needed to share our nice experiences here with others..
The one thing we would like to put focus on, is the staff and owners. They are without a doubt the most friendly we've witnessed in Ecuador. Lieva and Freddy (the owners) gave us good advice about Otavalo (where to go, nice secret walks that aren't in tourist guides, events that are going on in neighboring villages, ...), and on top of that, they helped us plan the next 12 days around Ecuador (it turns out he worked years as a guide in Ecuador, Bolivia and Peru, and she travelled almost the entire world).
What they meant for us is truly exceptional.

So apart from that, it's also well situated (1 min walking to Otavalo's main square), has a very nice breakfast (I went every day for the fresh fruit yoghurt mix with self-made muesli, phenomenal..), hammocks to chill and a nice little garden full of flowers.
Our room was cozy, clean and had its own bathroom and toilet. The way it's painted is according to how it originally was, so many years ago. It gives you a special feeling.

Next time we're in Ecuador, we're definitely going back.

Enjoy everybody!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLievens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
10.8 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera-Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera-Sucre

Property: Hotel Riviera-Sucre
Address: Garcia Moreno 380 | y Roca, Otavalo 06, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing