We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely environment and good choice of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mi Otavalito

Mi Otavalito
Ranked #7 of 63 Restaurants in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely environment and good choice of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Beautiful environment in this little restaurant and the staff are very friendly. Very reasonably priced

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank skitch16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Good soups and chicken dishes served by courteous waitress. Live music.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank micki27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Im a vegetarian and always find this a challenge, but the menu here had ample options for me

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sannettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lotta hype in travelbooks, better deals are elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We ate lunch here because of recommendation in our travel book. It was alright, but definitely over-priced for what you get! I recommend Cafe Salteneria (close as I can remember on the spelling).

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otavalo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long-time favorite in Otavalo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

This long time favorite in Otavalo, is always tried and true. They have an extensive menu of all types of meats, trout, corvina, seafood dishes, as well as a daily menu that will change every afternoon. The daily usually runs out early in the afternoon and this is a place where you can eat international fare as well as Ecuadorian Andean Typical plates, not found elsewhere for about $4-6. Great indigenous decorations enhance your meal and I believe former posters are right about Live Folklore Music Bands playing there on weekend nights. I have heard that they have a few rooms upstairs that they rent out to tourists. I eat there a few times a month, I've never had a problem.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodheartotavalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Otavalito also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Mi Otavalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing