We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & unexpected traditional restaurant!!”

Arbol de Montalvo Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 94 Restaurants in Otavalo
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Latin, Mediterranean, Ecuadorean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Arbol de Montalvo restaurant is located in the back of our hotel Dona Esther. Please walk in on every night except Monday nights. During the weekends we're also opened for lunch and breakfast is of course every morning available (we have a nice choice in breakfasts, $ 4). Our menu highlights the Ecuadorian ingredients; we always try to find a way to cook something special with the typical and many ingredients of the country, packed in a different dish. For example the "pollo del arbol", chicken with a surprising sauce of "tomate de arbol", or tamarillo. And of course we also serve pizzas, but pizzas in a wood burning oven with home made dough and good quality toppings. We also have gluten free and vegetarian options. The atmosphere is cosy, no rush, we prepare everything fresh. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed January 4, 2019

We looked a long time to find a traditional ecuadorian restaurant in Otavalo, to finally found this place. It was better than expected. The meals were original and typical from the country. We tried the Cazuela de Mariscos & the Chocolate Chicken. It was delicious! The atmosphere is cosy and friendly, I really recommand this place if you want to live a culinary diner, full of ecuadorian traditions!!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 101 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Some of the best pizza I’ve had in Ecuador. The food is good and so is the service. It is a little expensive for Otavalo but I recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MikeS1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Arbol de Montalvo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Thank you so much for your good recommendation! Quality Ingredients is a big part of what makes us better than the cheaper restaurants...always a difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Biking 18.000km make you crave for healthy with love prepared food. Warm welcome, good wine and perfect pizza made our evening. They only work with local products!
Note the eco touch.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SpinningSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Arbol de Montalvo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you so much, we hope you love Ecuador on bike! groetjes, Arthur en Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

The restaurant is very small and adorably rustically arranged. The menu offers both local Ecuadorian and European influenced dishes, even wood oven pizza. Totally recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rangkaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

We stayed at Dona Esther Hotel and the Arbol de Montalvo Restaurant is downstairs. We enjoyed our dinner and breakfast.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arbol de Montalvo Restaurant also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Atuntaqui, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Arbol de Montalvo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing