We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel except for the water pressure” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Chasqui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Chasqui
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hostel except for the water pressure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at Hostal Chasqui for 2 nights at the end of January 2014. The staff were friendly and responsive. Our private room had a double and single bed, TV, DVDs, bathroom and private balcony (with stunning views of the town and mountains surrounding, especially at sunset). The room was quite chilly in the evening as there is no heating, but there were about 6 blankets on the bed so once you were in it you could warm up quickly. The curtains were also very thin so if you want a sleep in, bring an eye mask. Upon arrival we were given a tour of the hostal, a detailed map of the town and advice on things to see and do around Otavalo. The only major downside to our stay was the shower. There was next to no water pressure from the hot tap, so your choice was either a freezing cold shower or a luke warm shower under what felt like a dripping hose pipe. If the water pressure was fixed we would definitely stay again, because Hostel Chasqui is good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
55
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Friendly staff, good kitchen, wifi, decent location, awesome views, free washing & free DVD rental (outdated but still good!)

Cons:
Not great social environment or area, no heating (gets pretty cold)

Would stay here again

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TF91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was a nice place, multi-level hostel with a cool community kitchen on the top floor and a few nice roof/courtyard areas to hang out. great views of Cuicocha and Otavalo as this place is a bit up the hill on the south end of town.

the room was nice. there was hot water but the water pressure was quite low.

wifi available. no breakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We received a really warm welcome and a tour of the hostel. Our room was well equipped with a double bed plus single, tv with DVDs and ensuite. The shower was warm bit really low water pressure. The kitchen is really well equipped and there is even a book exchange. The hostel is in a good location too, a 45+ min walk to the waterfalls, 10 mins to the main square, markets and supermarket. The only downfalls are that there are no common areas (having said that we didn't see that many guests when we were here!) and the staff doesn't have grey English so were limited in their ability to provide advice for onward travel but did give us a map with information about what to do in Otavalo which was very helpful. This place in not fancy and also not cheap but it has all you need.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyY86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Hostel chasqui has a great location, a few minutes walk from the main plaza, and the rooms and balconies have beautiful views across the town and the surrounding mountains.

Milton and Roberto, the owners, were so kind and welcoming, and the level of helpful tourist information that they provided on arrival, alongside a detailed map surpassed that of any other hostel in Ecuador. Even when we had some trouble with kitchen water pressure due to street construction, they were very responsive in fixing this issue as quickly as possible.

Great value for money - large double room with private bathroom and TV and DVD player!

Excellent facilities, clean kitchen with two stoves, free laundry (!), strong wifi, large DVD selection and great drying facilities on roof.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesbeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The GOOD : We arrived to Chasqui with such a warm welcome and were given an ensuite room with a TV and DVD player! The rooms were comfy and upon arrival we were given all necessary information such as tourist spots and good restaurants. They even do laundry for free which is brilliant!

They have hundreds of DVDs and when we asked if we could stay longer, it wasnt just a "yeah, sure", like most hostels would say, it was a "of course, were happy to have you in our home and can we get you anything - clean towels etc?" which I thought was really good customer service.

Additionally, whilst the building is on the outskirts of the main central area, its only a 5 minute walk to the main plazas. The building is slightly on a hill and the views from the kitchen are just brilliant.

The BAD: We explored the hostel a little bit, its huge with what looks like a projector TV, a bar, an outside area and loads of rooms. This could be such a brilliant hostel for young people, rather than a hotel and its a shame most of the space is wasted/not being used. The only one criticism we have of the hostel (and its not major) is that the staff are sparse. We could have quite easily walked out without paying (but we didnt!).

The UGLY: Nothing!

This place was a really nice place to stay and explore the town with a really affordable price. If we are ever in Otavalo again, we will definately be staying here. Also, the statue of Bender (Futurama) in the lobby is awesome!

Room Tip: we were on the outside lower floor. The shower was hot and powerful and the views were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a large double room with private bathroom for $12ea per night. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and with good pillows (which is rare!). There is a big kitchen with two cookers and three fridges. There are multiple sun decks (some hammocks/ comfy hang out furniture would be a nice addition and we just might not leave). There is a TV and DVD player in the room with some DVDs. The shower was hot. There are sinks and a washing machine you can for free. The rooms ate quiet and dark at night.
The best thing about this place though is Roberto the owner. He couldn't be more helpful. Every person that arrives he gives a full very useful orientation with a map describing all the highlights of the town and what to pay for each part. He is super helpful with everything and could not be more attentive. He genuinely enjoys helping people which means its a pleasure for all concerned. Absolutely top rating from me for a hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aunty_minxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Luna Mountain Lodge
La Luna Mountain Lodge
#1 of 36 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Geranio
Hostal El Geranio
#8 of 36 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 27 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Chasqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Chasqui

Property: Hostal Chasqui
Address: Piedrahita 141, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Chasqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing