We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite!”
Review of Le Gourmet

Le Gourmet
Ranked #32 of 447 Restaurants in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
BsAs
Level Contributor
184 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Walking into this restaurant inside the Hotel Oro verde is walking into a special experience. Even though we were part of a group,we got top service in an incredible place. he food was French exquisite from the tuna, to the salmon,to the meat everything was just superb,the staff very friendly and the only regret was the time the desserts took!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    20
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Try the Seafood & Chicken”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The staffs are extremely hospitable and the food are excellent . Especially the salad and chicken entrees were well prepared. The portion is quite generous (considering the reasonable price)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vs4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A skillful combination of 'typical' and gourmet”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our only dinner in Guayaquil but worth it. The chef managed to take typical Ecuador food and elevate it to gourmet status - 7 spice crab and shrimp, spiced pumpkin soup, grilled shrimp with black rice but best of all - a superb chocolate souffle (made with Ecuadorian chocolate, of course). You might want to eat early (7PM) if you are looking for a quiet and romantic evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well above average for a hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We tend to find local restaurants out perform hotels but in this case we had a great evening with most of the dishes being excellent on the tasting menu although the desert did not quite touch the spot for me. The cold sea food soup was particularly good. We chose their wine matching option which was good value although it was never going to truly complement the food. Dry fizz with desert?
Service was excellent and although the dining room can seem a bit formal we had fun. Having checked TA for reviews we found lots of reviews of the hotel but very few of the restaurant hence posting a review

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
273 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Haute Cuisine portions”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant serves great food, however some dishes were better than others. The octopus starter (a variation of pulpo a la gallega) was a bit undercooked and not as soft as it should be. The escargots were fine as was the lobster. The sirloin beef we sent back as it had many sinews.

The restaurant was based in French Haute Cuisine so don't expect large portions....

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gourmet also viewed

Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 

Been to Le Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing