We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit Tired...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caracol Azul

Caracol Azul
Ranked #9 of 428 Restaurants in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, International, South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
271 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Bit Tired...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We decided on an early dinner at this Guayaquil landmark... We had to rap on doors and windows when the clock showed fifteen minutes past 7PM opening time... This restaurant which quickly filled with its' complement of US visitors en route to or from the Galapagos, is 'tired'. The food which has drawn rave reviews over the years to us seemed only a notch or two above average. Most decent seafood houses in North America outclass this dining experience. No doubt this local fixture will remain in its past glory living on its laurels state until the owner passes on. This is not for the faint of heart when reaching for the bill!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oca007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    99
    34
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

What more can anyone want in Guayaquil than an evening at the Caracol Azul with delicious fresh seafood and very attentive service. We were a group of seven and all left feeling that we had each had special attention. The "corvina" (sea bass) was perfectly prepared and served.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IntlTraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent as always!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you want the best seafood, this is the best place in Guayaquil. Dishes always have the perfect touch and feel the cool of the ingredients. Not cheap, not too expensive, but the quality and service justify their prices. Good appetite!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best ceviche ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a gentleman I sat next to on the plane fro Cuenca to Guayaquil and while I don't know what the general pricing is in Guayaquil, my travel partner and i did not think it was overpriced for the wonderful food--especially the ceviche. I'd go back in a minute.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarinTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Seafood Well-Prepared but Overpriced for Guayaquil”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Caracol Azul seems to be in a bit of a time-warp. Tuxedo clad waiters with top notch service and white tablecloths didn't seem to match the clientele - most diners were in casual attire. The menu is quite pricey for Guayaquil, and the dishes on the menu also don't appeared to have changed for decades, the menu is not modern but sticks to classics. The most basic grilled seabass was $14-15 - a bargain by U.S. or EU standards, but not for Ecuador's normal pricing structure. Spicing up your seabass with sauces, shellfish, etc, can nearly double the price of the dish. I had the simple corvina a la plancha as I love the flavor of seabass - it was delicious and served with some simply-prepared steamed vegetables. The portion was generous. I also started off with a Peruvian ceviche - for $15 it was a big portion and tasty, but again, seemed rather pricey. Overall, if you are looking for well-prepared seafood and not modern dining, this is a good destination as long as you know you are paying more than you would at most restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank soleil17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caracol Azul also viewed

Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 

Been to Caracol Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing