We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood, pleasant ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caracol Azul

Caracol Azul
Ranked #9 of 428 Restaurants in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, International, South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
athens greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood, pleasant ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

When some business connections suggested eating at this restaurand I was not hungry but very, very tired. But I had to go and I am glad I did: The food was excellent (I deal in seafood, so anything less than absolutely fresh wiould not do for me), and I mean EXCELLENT, the people were nice and attentive but not overbearing. Probably they realized we are discussing business matters and they kept their distance.
The place was spotless, calm and cool - exactly what I neede that evening!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank julianaathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    99
    34
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were in Guayaquil for 3 nights and ate there all three nights. Each night the seafood was cooked to perfection. The sauces were different from what we are accustomed to seeing in the USA, but they were wonderful on all the dishes we ordered. After the first night the waiter remembered our preferences and on the third night, a week later, he still remembered! The garlic shrimp is to die for as is the grilled octopus and sea bass with almond sauce. The desserts are equally fabulous, if you have saved space. If you are in Guayaquil it is worth every penny of the $5 taxi ride from the Hilton, even if it is pouring rain and the streets are seriously flooded!
PS there is no outdoor seating but once clicked by accident I can't remove it and I didn't want to negatively impact the review

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to this restaurant three times during our visit to Guayaquil, Equador, because we liked it so much. The food and service were consistently excellent. Our hotel had recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“60s músic with great ecuatoriano seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Food, service was great, lunch time was awesome .
We had the shrimp ceviche and the sea bass ceviche all fresh and great tasting.
Highly recommend the seabass Caracol Azul was the ultimare disb.
Only issue was The músic and The table cloths. Music it was billboards 100 for 1960 not suited to the atmosphere. The table cloths were dark and did not look to hygienic.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WelltravelJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent- go there frequently”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant to take business contacts to. It is in a central downtown location close to some hotels. It has excellent seafood- I would suggest a corvina with a marisco sauce. It is not designed for a quick lunch- if you have time and want to enjoy a long lunch this is the best place to talk and enjoy excellent seafood.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bocoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caracol Azul also viewed

Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 

Been to Caracol Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing