We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Crafts Market”
Review of Mercado Artesanal

Mercado Artesanal
Ranked #3 of 17 Shopping in Guayaquil
Attraction details
Reviewed July 3, 2018

The crafts market in Guayaquil is interesting, and you can find t-shirts, jewelry, rugs, blankets, trinkets, belts (I bought one), souvenirs, etc. There are restrooms on the premises. Although nice, I believe the craft market in Quito was better. The stall proprietors would call out to you when you pass, but they are not aggressive or obnoxious. Definitely bargain for whatever you buy, or you will be taken.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank RebelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"leather goods"
in 3 reviews
"south end of the malecon"
in 2 reviews
"trinkets"
in 4 reviews
"belts"
in 2 reviews
"stalls"
in 6 reviews
"shop"
in 3 reviews
"ecuador"
in 7 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2017

Many of the embroidered shirts/blouses are made in india. The "Made in India" tags on most of the have been removed. Just be sure what you are buying. We did get a very good deal on a white Ecuadorian hat and a leather handbag.

Date of experience: January 2017
2  Thank Bobcat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Many different stalls of inexpensive trinkets as well as higher quality homemade merchandise. Nice inexpensive belts, onyx figures, paintings, t shirts, alpaca stuffed animals, carvings, etc. Something for everyone. Seems safe. Don't forget to bargain!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank jmichel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

I love this market. Yes, there is lots of duplicates but if you are looking for Alpaca products, leather goods, Ecuador t-shirts and even some semi-precious beads to bring home - this is your place!

I bargain strong, the cheapest I got for the Alpaca blankets is $11.50 and the scarfs $5.25. I ended up buying 8 blankets and 16 scarfs so I definitely got a bulk price.

Visit in the afternoon, but they do close up just before 5pm.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank Five_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2016

This is that typical local place with every possible Ecuadorian trinket you could ever hope to find. Vendors at first act like they won't negotiate but yes they will!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank lisabinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado Artesanal also viewed

Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 

Been to Mercado Artesanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing