We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice before/after Galapagos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great choice before/after Galapagos”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We chose the Hotel Palace over other larger hotels, based on great reviews and were not disappointed. I booked directly and all communication was clear and helpful. Love the location downtown, has feel of a boutique hotel - nice rooms, comfortable beds, and made us feel very welcome. We stayed one night both on way to and from Galapagos. After long day of travel, it was comfortable room, nice (included) buffet breakfast, and easy transport to airport. Return trip we had a bit more time, enjoyed the Malecon on Sunday afternoon/evening, then went back on Monday morning again. We wish we'd spent at least 2 nights so we could have enjoyed a full day in Guayaquil - we didn't have time to see much of the city and explore. We had dinner at the hotel both nights, food was very good, restaurant service was average. Staff helped me print out boarding passes for return flight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AG552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Hotel Palace over than other hotels chains. Your comment makes stronger our service commitment to our guests.

We are very happy to of being part of your Galapagos Experience and also hope that you have the chance to return to Guayaquil to visit all the places you didn´t see.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Lorena Garay C.
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    236
    55
    10
    2
See reviews for
115
228
66
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Upon returning to Guayaquil, we stayed here for the evening. Though driving to this downtown location was a bit harrowing, once we arrived we were able to park in the lot around the corner, though it was not valet parking. The multi-lingual staff was helpful and able to arrange travel to the airport next day, as well as allowing us to park the car for a few days at $8/day, which is far cheaper than airport parking.

The downtown location is a bit difficult to find given the traffic, but once there, it is close to the Malecon (nice walking area with shops, banks, restaurants, etc.) and we walked around for a few hours before dark. A very pleasant location to be in.

The rooms were clean and well-maintained, with AC, an mini-bar/fridge, TV, and nice bathroom. The lobby had a seating area, computers, and a restaurant is attached. We dined at the restaurant for dinner, which offered good food though slightly elevated prices for the area.

The biggest disappointment of this hotel was the noise level. There is either a dance club next door or there was a wedding reception the evening we stayed. Whichever it was, we could FEEL (and hear) the music until 430 am. Despite the comfort of the room, the noise level was difficult to handle and definitely detracted from our stay. It would be worth inquiring about noise and parties before booking a room. We did not get a chance to check around the hotel for a club.

The next morning, breakfast was supposed to be at 630, but come 700 am, the restaurant remained close. This was a shame as it was included, but we had to leave for the airport to catch a flight.

The value of this hotel is good and offers some nice amenities. However, the downtown location is possibly an issue due to noise.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the street and not above the events location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmm6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us.

We are sorry to read your comments about the noise that night. Please rest assure that I will check this and look for an inmediate solution.

Best Regards,

Lorena Garay C.
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Palace on the way to the Galapagos. I booked the hotel directly about 9 months before our trip, and had several email exchanges to share flight information, etc. as our plans (and flights!) changed between the time I made the reservations and our trip.

Unfortunately our flight arrived 6 hours late. We had arranged for airport pickup through the hotel, and were greeted at the airport by our transportation. The hotel is not far from the airport (thank goodness) and it is just a few blocks of the Malecon. When we arrived at the hotel, we found out that the person who had picked us up was not the person from the hotel! We eventually figured out that, unbeknownst to us, our Galapagos hotel had also arranged pickup. No problem, we got everything worked out, and I'd much rather have an over abundance of pickup than be left at the airport!

The hotel itself is just lovely! The room was large with a king size bed (yay!) and a large bathroom. We did not spend a lot of time there, unfortunately. After a quick shower we went out for a walk, and dinner at a local restaurant. It was very convenient to have an ATM right across the street. There are several restaurants walking distance, and we felt very safe walking around. We were there the night that Ecuador qualified for the world cup, so there was a lot of excitement and positive energy in the streets. The Malecon is just lovely, and I wish we'd had enough time to see it in the daylight as well. What we saw of Guayaquil was lovely.

Breakfast was included, and it was quite abundant, with a buffet as well as eggs cooked to order, yogurt, cereal, fresh breads, hot coffee and more.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street and was still quiet, so I suspect that there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonflydebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for posting your comments here.

We are happy to know that you found the hotel Lovely! and we hope the next time you can spend more time with us.


Thank you for choosing Hotel Palace, we hope to have you here again.

Best Regards,

Lorena Garay C
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

When we first arrived (very late at night) the location of the hotel seemed a bit dodgy, as everything was closed and shuttered, as is normal in Guayaquil. We were shown to our room and the poor bellboy had his work cut out, as we had tons of luggage. He was very kind and ensured we knew where everything in the room was before leaving. The next morning, we discovered that the hotel was excellently located to access the river front board walk and is also close to the Iguana park, a noted stop for tourists and locals alike. The breakfast buffet had enough diversity to be enjoyable for our weeks stay. When we arrived the hotel smelled musty from a water issue in one of the rooms, but the staff were trying to fix the issue. The room was very clean and we were provided water bottles daily. A great place to stay for your stay in Guasyaquil.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street seemed reasonably quiet, so I assume the ones at the back of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danrobe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your commments of Hotel Palace in Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read when our guests enjoy the hotel location and take advantage of it visiting all the interesting places of the City.

It is good to Know that our staff served you in a good manner.

We look forward to have your visit again.

Best Regards,

Lorena de Bianchini
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have 14 family members come in from Canada for my wedding in Guayaquil. We had our wedding at another site but I had my family stay in this hotel as well as it being the base for all my wedding planning. The staff were amazing! They were very quick to help and attentive to our needs. At one point, 200 roses walked through the door and they quickly (without being asked) gathered up containers for us to put them into with water. When you walked by, the maids would come out and greet you although you couldn't speak the same language. The hotel is very clean and although it was really busy those few days, quiet and still great service! Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again! thanks for everything!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peipeifranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

For us was an honor to acommodate you and your group on your wedding dates. We are glad of being part of this important event in your lifes.

Thank you very much for your lovey comments. We are glad to know that the staff do their best to serve you and your family.

If in the future you plan to visit Guayaquil please come back to Hotel Palace we will be more than happy to have you here again.

Best Regards,

Lorena de Bianchini
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the way to Galapagos. The facility and room were so clean and the breakfast was also good. It is in the center of the town, close to the Iguana park, easily accessible to everywhere. The stuff treated us very kindly when we made a mistake during the stay. It was very impressed. This was the best hotel in Ecuador for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0m0rin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest:


Thank you for choosing Hotel Palace for your stay in Guayaquil. We are very flattered to read your comment. It is nice to know that the staff was kind with you.

We wish you enjoyed your Galápagos trip and Guyaquil city.

Please come back to Guayaquil, Hotel Palace is your home!

Best Regards,

Lorena de Bianchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in late July twice. Once on our way to the Galapagos where we were very pleased with the modern decor and comfortable beds and pillows. When we first arrived, they put us in a room near the elevator and then very kindly showed us a few more rooms so we could choose which room would be the quietest. They also kept our excess luggage for us for the week we were in the Galapagos for no charge. When our flight was delayed, necessitating an unexpected stay - they gave us a very good rate and were very kind and sympathetic. We also ate at the restaurant which served really delicious food. The breakfasts were yummy as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest:


Thank you very much for posting your comment at this website. We are very happy of being part of your Galápagos experience and also we are very pleased to know that the staff were helpful and empathic with your needs.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Palace for your stay in Guayaquil. We hope to have the opportunity to have you here again.

Best Regards,


Lorena de Bianchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#11 of 59 in Guayaquil
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 59 in Guayaquil
484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 59 in Guayaquil
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.1 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 59 in Guayaquil
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Guayaquil

Property: Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Address: Chile # 214 entre calle Luque y calle Velez, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palace Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark seven story hotel situated in the heart of the Guayaquil city center, Hotel Palace Guayaquil is considered to be one of the most traditional and well known hotels in town. Its ideal location is within easy walking distance to the city’s main attractions, financial and shopping areas. The hotel offers ninety five spacious, comfortable and charming guestrooms, all fully carpeted with high ceilings, individually controlled air conditioning, black out draperies, three telephones, including one in the bathroom with international direct dial... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palace Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing