We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to relax”
Review of Casa de Romero B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa de Romero B&B
Ranked #4 of 77 Guayaquil B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in April. The location is good for getting to see the rest of Guayaquil. The staff are friendly and directed us to the police station as some things got stolen on the bus journey. The kitchen is good if you want to cook and there is a supermarket across the road. The rooms are clean and the bathroom is nice. The book exhange is good and the shared TV is nice if you want to relax. It was a bit more expensive than other places we stayed but in general it was worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Romero B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

Very comfortable bed in a lovely, clean room with a balcony overlooking the city. Hot, powerful shower. The hostel is located on the 7th floor in the heart of the city. A great location for tourist activities and with wonderful views.

There is a lovely communal area with comfortable sofas, big TV, small bookshelf, computer and free wifi . Good breakfast included and the staff were all very helpful, welcoming and friendly.

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Guayaquil.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Casa de Romero was the best part of our stay in Guayaquil. We were nervous after reading about the crime rate here and were very happy with the safety of the hotel. The hostel is on the 7th floor, The building is locked at night and there's a doorman at the bottom. The rooms are really cute and super clean!! There's air conditioning and a balcony. The owners are sooo nice and really went above and beyond to help us with any questions. The breakfast is free and homemade (really good!). There's free wifi and a computer you can use in the front room. We loved casa de Romero and will absolutely book again if we ever stop through Guayaquil.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed at Casa de Romero as a transition between a trip to the jungle and our Galapagos Island adventure and it was a welcomed relief.

The hostel is safely tucked away on a 6th floor building in the heart of downtown Guayaquil. It's also about 6 blocks from the Malecon boardwalk, 3 blocks from the famous Iguana Park, and across the street from a large supermarket. The host/owner was very friendly extremely helpful which added to the comfort of our stay. Although the price was a little steeper than the competition it was well worth it and we would do it again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Casa de Romero is a wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of downtown Guayaquil. Ellen, the owner, is a classy woman that goes above and beyond to make sure you feel at home. We barely left the apartment for three days, because it was such a comfortable setting. Lodging comes with a filling breakfast, great wi-fi access and dozens of DVDs to watch. The street noise can be a bit loud, even up on the 7th floor, so bring earplugs or just turn on the A/C fan to sleep. Ellen keeps the place immaculate. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pesekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

The location is the only fault here as it is a 20mins taxi drive from the bus and airport, but when you get there the owner is a very charming host and will make you an evening meal at short notice. the rooms are very cosy and clean. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Casa de Romero is a clean, well maintained home in the suburbs of Guayaquil.
Nothing is within walking distance, but good bus service or a Taxi to the center of town is available. Bus service back to the home stops at 1930 from the Bus Terminal.

The only negative point I have experienced after staying their several times, was overbooking in two of my stays. Ellen took me to another hotel in the center of the city this last visit, but staying in the center of the city, wasn't in the plan.

Overall Ellen and her daughter(Andrea) do a a great job making you feel at home. My only recommendation confirm your reservation upon arriving, Also the rate for a single person is $24 per night. Two or more is $20 per person per night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.3 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#10 of 61 in Guayaquil
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 61 in Guayaquil
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa64
Villa64
#11 of 61 in Guayaquil
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Suites Madrid
Hostal Suites Madrid
#23 of 61 in Guayaquil
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 61 in Guayaquil
494 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 61 in Guayaquil
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Romero B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Romero B&B

Address: Velez 501 | and Boyacá, 7th floor, Guayaquil 090110, Ecuador (Formerly La Casa Tropical)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Guayaquil
Price Range: $29 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa de Romero B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will enjoy a family atmosphere, with comfortable bedrooms and a lot of facilities to make your stay more pleasant. The new Casa de Romero is located in the heart of the city, on the 7th floor from a traditional downtown building. Just a few blocks from the MALECON (the water front), one of the most important tourist spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de Romero B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Romero Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing