We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tangara Guest House
Ranked #6 of 77 Guayaquil B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We were warmly received at Tangara by Antonio and the staff here, and shown to a spacious room with AC and colourful throws on the beds. We went out for a late dinner to a recommended place nearby and enjoyed a delicious breakfast the next morning of fresh fruit and eggs.

We had to go straight on with our traveling but the hospitality here made us sad not to stay in Guayaquil a bit longer. We'll definitely stay at Tangara if we return one day.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 55 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Tangara Guest House itself is fairly ordinary so if you're looking for fluffy towels, 24 hr concierge service and a bar in the lobby you may want to go elsewhere. On the other hand if you seek a warm, family-like home stay and a host who spares no effort in making your visit a pleasure the Tangara is the place. In spades.

The Tangara is located in a quiet neighborhood, away from the commotion of busy streets. Yet, it is only a short 10 minute drive to the airport, bus station and the Malecon 2000 and a quick walk to the Malecon Salido. The rooms are clean & comfortable. The breakfast is ample with choices of eggs, fruit, toast and fresh Ecuadorian coffee. We truly felt like we were visiting friends or at least had been invited into an authentic Ecuadorian home.

The proprietor, Antonio, who speaks fluent English, spared no effort in helping to make our visit a success. We came to Ecuador on a combination business and pleasure trip. Antonio gave us valuable information that helped us achieve success on both scores. I simply cannot express adequately our appreciation for all his work on our behalf.

True, there is no bar in the lobby where guests can grab a cold drink. But there is a well stocked refrigerator in the kitchen and an honor notebook for guests to record whatever they use. Guests are also allowed 24 hr access to a full kitchen and are encouraged to prepare their own meals if they wish.

I suppose the best recommendation is not gushing words on a travel forum but whether or not a one time guest would return in the future. No question there, the Tangara Guest House will always be our home away from home whenever we come to Guayaquil.

The one and only downside is the Tangara is under the flight path of the nearby airport so you may hear the occasional plane passing over head. On the plus side, the efficient air conditioners drown out most of that noise anyway, particularly in the early morning hours when you're still asleep

Room Tip: Ask for rm #5 in the back of the house and away from street noise and a busy playground on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyinPawPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Tangara during a stopover in Guayaquil and had a very positive experience. The rooms were clean and air conditioned, the breakfast was great an the property is very secure. Further, the location is central to the airport + tourist areas + main shopping malls (about $4 USD taxi ride to each).
The staff are very helpful - we had to catch a 3am flight and someone got up and organized a taxi for us.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dicktation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed two nights in Tangara in a private room. We made a reservation on forehand and although we arrived 24 hours later because we got stuck in Cuzco airport, we didn't have to pay for the night that we weren't there. The staff is very friendly and helpfull and the accomodation is cosy, just like a real home. We really enjoyed it! When we arrived in Galapagos after we left i realised i lost one bag. I emailed Tangara and they had found my bag. 1,5 Weeks later we arrived in Guayaquil airport again to take a bus to Banos and there was the receptionist standing with my bag! If you are looking for a nice, clean, friendly and 'make yourself at home' stay: go here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bregje J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived into Guayaquil in the morning after an overnight bus ride & took a taxi to Tangara Guest House. We were able to check into our room early, which was great to freshen up. The room was clean with comfortable beds & private shower. Good hot water. There is a communal indoor & outdoor area with wifi available. Breakfast is good - fresh fruit, choice of eggs, bread, jams, fruit juice, etc.

Whilst the guest house is not in the centre of Guayaquil, it is only an easy 25 minute walk. We visited during their Independence Day so the town & Malecon was very busy, but nice to see families out & about. There is a park nearby which has various restaurants, although these were closed when we stayed. There are plenty of pizza, parradilla places, street food & typical food places nearby.

Tangara is well located for both the airport & bus station, so a great place to stay if you are stopping over. Both are a short, cheap taxi ride away. A one way taxi ride to either is included in the price of your room, which is useful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have faithfully stayed in this spot for my GYE layovers over the past five years because on my first trip my luggage was lost by the airline at midnight and by the time the paperwork was done for it, an hour had passed yet Tangara remained faithful to their promise to provide an airport transfer EVEN after long delays and at 1 am in the morning- they were still there waiting for me! That's reliability and integrity and it was important to me because I wouldn't have wanted to be abandoned and alone in that airport that late without accommodation. This earned my total respect for them.

Apart from that the rooms are very clean, breakfast is good, there is beautiful art and murals everywhere, there is a kitchen for cooking along with hot and cold water for drinking. Food can be arranged and ordered and anything you need, Antonio can arrange to provide it for your stay. It's very affordable and I definitely would recommend this place (and have many times to other travelers).

Thank you again Antonio and I wish you well until the next time!

Superfood Chef Michelle

Note to travelers: If you found this helpful please give feedback to Trip Advisor with the button provided and thanks for reading my review!

Room Tip: It's very close to the GYE airport and a perfect choice for quick layovers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank thesuperfoodchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangaraguayaquil, Owner at Tangara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments, they remind us the importance of little details and they renew our commitment to look after our guests safety and comfort, as we have been doing for nearly twenty years now. It will be our pleasure to see you back in Guayaquil again. Wish you luck in your travels and in your contribution for a healthier world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We flew back from the galapagos and were taking a bus the next day so wanted some thing close to the airport and bus station. And after hearing about guayaquil a reputation we wanted somewhere safe. Tangara also arranges a pick up from the airport so we felt we were in good hands. The rooms were large, clean, had air con and hot water and was nice and quiet. The included breakfast of toast, fruit, eggs, juice coffee and tea was great too. The highlight was the owner. He was so friendly and helpful especially about calling around multiple numbers for a few hours trying to get our bags back for us when the airline lost them. There's not too much to walk around to but we weren't staying there for that. Great place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kieranspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 62 in Guayaquil
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa64
Villa64
#10 of 62 in Guayaquil
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exe Galeria Man-Ging
Exe Galeria Man-Ging
#13 of 62 in Guayaquil
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Suites Guayaquil
Suites Guayaquil
#25 of 62 in Guayaquil
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
1.2 mi away
Tomo Hostel
Tomo Hostel
#4 of 55 in Guayaquil
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangara Guest House

Address: Ciudadela Bolivariana, Block F House 1 | Manuela Sáenz & O'Leary streets, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Guayaquil
Price Range: $32 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangara Guest House is conveniently located within 10 minutes by taxi from Guayaquil International airport and from downtown. We are very close to the Malecón del Salado (one of the two main waterfronts in the city) and to the main University in the city. More than a room, guests get a house to use as their own with free access to the kitchen area. Free touristic information and advice is also available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tangara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing