We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Guayaquil
Brasília, DF
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very convenient and well located small business hotel. It's a few steps from Plaza del Sol Mall where you find many places to eat. Close also to the airport (free shuttle leaving every 30 minutes, 24-hour. It's simple, though. My only complain is the noisy aircon.

Room Tip: Take a room which do not face to the from door avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisamura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela S, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We really appreciate your comments about your recent experience . Please receive our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience regarding the AC noise. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit in our City.

Sincerely,


Patricia Lozano R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    161
    53
    18
    16
See reviews for
59
59
24
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our trip to Galapagos.
Location - It's close to the airport which is great and the hotel is a 2 minute walk to the Mall del Sol. The Mall is expensive, but inside there's a MegaMaxi Supermarket where you can find last minute things like sunscreens, snacks, etc...
The rooms were clean and spacious. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean. The ac was totally outdated and VERY noisy. It was impossible to sleep with the thing on, and I tried to open the windows to get some 'fresh' air, but quickly closed it again, as the traffic noise and pollution made it even worse.
The reception staff was very slow and it took - which felt like 'forever' to check - out.
For the rate the Howard Johnson charges, I'd rather stay at the Sonesta - it's a few $ extra, the same area and you're guaranteed a good nights rest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela S, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive warm regards from Howard Johnsong Hotel in Guayaquil; thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We really appreciate your comments about our location and facilities. Please receive our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience regarding the AC and street noise in your room. Your feedback is very important; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit in our City.

Sincerely,

Patricia Lozano R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked a room here for my partner and I to spend the night before going to Santa Elena for the weekend. He was going to arrive earlier than me so I called the hotel to add his name to the room. There was a long awkward pause... RESERVATIONIST: "So you're sharing this room with him?"....ME: "Yes." (Another long pause).... RESERVATIONIST: "But this is a king bed room.".... ME: "OK, That's fine."....RESERVATIONIST: "So you'll be sharing a king BED with him?".....ME: "I said a king room was fine, don't worry about it." After another awkward silence "He's on the reservation."

So when I arrive my partner had already checked in and was in the room. I stopped by the front desk to check in and get a key. The receptionist checked the computer and said, "Mr. XXXX has already checked in and is in the room." I said, "Great, I'll just need a key then." She goes, "But that room only has one bed." Trying to break the awkwardness with a joke I said, "That's fine, I'll be sure to stay on my side." She obviously didn't find it funny and said, "Excuse me for a moment." and walked into the office. After a couple of minutes she returned and offered me an upgrade to a suite if I purchased a second room. I said, "Why would I do that? I have a room." She said, "But Mr. XXXX is already in that room." I said (getting VERY annoyed), "I understand that, we're traveling together, and we're SHARING 1 room. I just need to get a key." She looked me up and down, visibly disgusted. Then picked up the phone and called the room to go through the same motions with my partner. ("There's a MAN here trying to share a room with you", offering him a second room, etc.) Finally she acquiesced and gave me a key. Needless to say, by this point I'm mortified and pissed off.

I went upstairs to find a cramped little room, with a busted bathroom door, an air conditioning unit from the 70's, and a sink that would barely drain. (OK, granted, by now NOTHING would've made me like this place.) So the next morning we try to call a taxi and find that the phone won't let us call out. I call downstairs to ask why the phone wasn't activated (I'd left a credit card for incidentals). She picks up, and I said "Hi, I'm in room..." And she cuts me off: "Yes, I KNOW who you are....you're Mr. XXXX's partner." Ummmm.... totally inappropriate, (and HOW exactly did she know this? I guess the staff has been gossiping.) But OK. I tell her the phone won't work and she says I didn't leave a credit card. I assure her I did and after much arguing back and forth she finally activates the phone.

The "piece de resistance" came when I went to checkout and was asked how I planned on paying for the second room. "Excuse me? Second room? I don't plan on paying for anything because we SHARED 1 room!!" I had to argue with several front desk staff for a few minutes, air all my business in front of the entire lobby, until I finally ended it by asking, "How can you dare to try and charge me for a room that a key was never even made for?!?" ......Silence.

I have been traveling to Ecuador for almost a decade now for business and leisure. I understand the culture is (outwardly) conservative and I play it very low key when I am there. I have never had any issues with any other hotel in Quito, Guayaquil, Santa Elena, or Cuenca. In fact, I've found the people in Ecuador to be quite welcoming, open minded, and respectful of other people's privacy. And I also know enough about Ecuadorian law to know that discrimination based on sexual orientation is illegal. I will be reporting this and posting it on every travel website I can find.

Besides, if I pay for a room, who's business is it if I bring a freaking clown up there with me? As long as they're an adult and I don't have a gun to their head, why should it matter? Totally disgusted.

Everyone staff member I came into contact with at this hotel was rude, judgmental, and incompetent. Here's some other hotels I've stayed with in this area that we're great: Hilton Colon, Courtyard Marriott, and Hampton Inn. Please stay at one of those if you value your privacy/dignity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kevi747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela S, Quality Assurance Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Please receive sincere apologies on behalf the Howard Johnson Guayaquil family, our main goal is to bring happiness to our guests and we are very sorry that this time we couldn’t reach it.

Thank you in advance for your patience and tolerance.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very close to the airport with a courtesy coach to and from. We paid $128 for the room, $178 including breakfasts and beer by the Jacuzzi.

The staff were great in every way. The facilities were excellent. The jacuzzi lacked a few bubbles but we still give 5 stars as he the staff were exceptionally exceptional.

Everything you would expect from a high class city hotel. If you need to recover from or prepare for a long flight we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstefaniaGranja, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mr Wombat 123

We kindly appreciate your comments to our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, since that is our goal. We will be expecting your next visit!

Regards,

Estefanía Granja
FD Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

1 night post-Galapagos stay, plus to view my former school and residence. The gratis shuttle bus was immediately available and concierge very accomodating (as I had seriously injured my knee in the Galapagos). A welcome drink was awaiting me; from check-in to showering was probably about 5 minutes. Its proximity to the airport was very appealing. A power-outage occurred minutes into my stay (albeit, it appeared that most of that region of Guayaquil was also affected). I did have a bit of a challenge resetting the aircon after the brief outage.

The front desk spoke ample English and hailed very quickly a reliable taxi for me. As all my cash had been tied-up in the Galapagos, I was happy to be informed that my taxi ride could be added to my room account ($10 for 3 (not adjacent!) stops...very reasonable, especially w the frenetic traffic). And, my taxi driver tried as he might to gain me access of my former school, he was very professional and included airconditioning (yipee).

I ate at the hotel, as I was on a very tight schedule. I wish my stomach could have waited for the 7pm buffet or that my knee was in better condition that I could have walked the few meters to more reasonable dining options. The hotel fare was fine (the Ecuadorian food was the best), and the staff was again, very accomodating, expeditious, and attentive.

I used the business center ("free" internet) which was quick andw which I had no issues. Probably 4 computers & I was the only person. When you print (free), you must pickup your printouts from the front desk, downstairs one floor.

I received my 4:30am wake-up call right on-time and the shuttle bus was waiting for me to deliver me to the airport. The shuttle driver even asked if I needed to return to the room to collect my knee bandages (without me mentioning it). They were concerned (&, very helpful on/off the bus) about my knee, even though I tried not to make a situation out of it.

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor, which was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birder1CocoaBeach_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstefaniaGranja, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Looking forward to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed only one night before going to the Galapagos and it was a nice stay. This hotel is close to the airport, it is very clean and has wi-fi. We also took the free hotel shuttle back to the airport, which was nice since it leaves every 1/2 hour. Everything went very smoothly. I recommend this hotel for short stays (since it is a big far from the Guayaquil attractions) or for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstefaniaGranja, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Looking forward to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Service sucks.
breakfast is terrible.
Rooms are old and seems uncleaned.
hotel personnel just walks into the room, without even knocking the door. Almost got me naked.
Smoke alarm triggered at 1:00am for no reason.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilsenerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstefaniaGranja, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Nevertheless we're deeply sorry you had a not so good stay. We're looking forward to know more about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 61 in Guayaquil
911 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Guayaquil
Courtyard Guayaquil
#12 of 61 in Guayaquil
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
Sheraton Guayaquil Hotel
#6 of 61 in Guayaquil
861 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 61 in Guayaquil
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#9 of 61 in Guayaquil
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil
Address: Juan Tanca Marengo Avenue | Plaza Del Sol, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#8 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located only 3 minutes from the Jose Joaquin de Olmedo Airport and half a kilometer from Mall del Sol, the biggest mall in the city. This hotel has modern accommodations in the main commercial and financial area of Guayaquil. It features a health club, free WIFI as free parking as a guest. Rooms at Howard Johnson Guayaquil are luxuriously decorated and furnished with comfortable beds and feathered pillows. They come equipped with air conditioning, LCD cable TV, a coffee machine and a work desk. Room service is available 24/7. Wellness facilities include a Finnish sauna, jacuzzi and a gym. Check In: F&B zone offers buffet breakfast, and sit-down lunch and dinner. National and international dishes can be ordered for dinner, accompanied with a selection of delicious wines. There is also a Sushi Bar. Free Wi-Fi is provided on the shuttle service that runs every 30 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Guayaquil Hotel Guayaquil
Guayaquil Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing