We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got ripped off, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We got ripped off, poor service”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were told that breakfast was included in the fee, we were charged $50.00 for 2 days of breakfast. There was apps. a 25% tax plus gratuity charge,,,(for NOTHING), so what I thought was going to be a bill close to $220.00 was in excess of $330.00 . Attempted to argue, but no negotiations were available.....we had someone waiting to take us to airport and had limited time to argue. NEVER again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank jlbussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis I, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Bussler,

We are concern regarding your comments posted on TripAdvisor and we think the least you deserve is an answer about every one of the issues mentioned.

1. About the breakfast information there must be a misunderstanding since your reservation was made through a website and we do not include breakfast in any of them, this information is not only at the website but on the registration document you signed at the check-in.

2. Our buffet breakfast costs US$14 plus taxes but for our guests we just charge US$10 plus taxes, you consumed 2 breakfast per day during two days, that is a total of US$40 plus taxes (US$48.80)

3. The local taxes are 12% VAT and 10% Service (22%), both taxes are mandatory by the local law and we can’t avoid them.

4. Instead of a negotiation there must have been a better explanation from our staff so you don’t get this bad impression of getting less than what you were expecting.

Please receive sincere apologies on behalf the Howard Johnson Guayaquil family, our main goal is to bring happiness to our guests and we are very sorry that this time we couldn’t reach it.

We would love to have the pleasure of having you back so we can get the opportunity to make it up to you. Thank you in advance for your patience and tolerance.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    156
    49
    17
    16
See reviews for
58
59
24
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Howard Johnson on our way through to the Galapagos Islands.
One night outward bound and another night before flying back to the UK.

We were looking for something clean, convenient and with all the mod-cons and it certainly didn't disappoint. The shuttle service is quick and easy to find; the taxi's in Guayaquil are worth a try just to give you an adrenaline rush!

The hotel itself is very nice indeed, the rooms are a really good size, cable TV, loads of channels, the beds are huge and very comfortable.
We went and used the spa, which again was excellent with a jacuzzi and sauna.
Just what you want after a long flight.

Having the mall and casino to close was handy for shopping; the restaurant is not going to set the World on fire, but we fancied eating out anyway and the staff were very helpful in recommending somewhere, ordering the taxi and telling up how to get back.

Guayaquil is not what I would call a tourist friendly city; I certainly wouldn't recommend walking the streets alone at night (or even as a couple....a group of 10 would be about right!) As such, the security at the hotel are well armed; which some might find a little scary, personally I found it reassuring.

All in all, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis I, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience, we are glad to see that we reached our goal which is bringing happiness to your stay.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

In a hotel of this level, you don't expect that: 1- some of the reception staff do not speak English; 2-when requested to call a taxi, they call unofficial ones (while everywhere in Guayaquil you find government posters that advise to only use official taxis). 3- the complimentary shuttle to airport arrives very late and while you are waiting, hotel staff tries to convince you to use a taxi instead. Last but not least, 4-the hotel restaurant food is not worth its price; prawns with spaghetti was actually a bowl of spaghetti with just 4 (four) prawns; the "corvina" (local fish delicacy) tasted like frozen cod etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Over the course of three months (from July to September 2012), I stayed at the serviced apartments (suites) being managed by the Howard Johnson. These are actually in another building (the Torre del Sol 1) right next the hotel along Abel Romero Street, but all service requests were handled by the hotel.

I enjoyed my stay very much. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful, and attended to service requests quickly. The rooms were well maintained and cleaned daily, with free wi-fi, big flat screen cable television, cutlery, cookware, stovetop, microwave, washing machines, and flat iron, and a separate living room. The bed was very comfortable. However, there was no bath, just a shower. Breakfast was available at the hotel building, and the quality of the food was quite good, though there could be a bit more variety.

The location was very convenient for me as a long-stay guest, being just walking distance to a big shopping mall, entertainment plaza, and supermarket. It is also a short distance away to the airport, with complimentary shuttle service both coming and going. However, if your business takes you to the southern side of Guayaquil (the maritime port area), the traffic you encounter while crossing through the center of the city can be heavy.

I actually stayed in two different suites. The first one I stayed in (on level 5, facing Torre del Sol 2) was near a big hospital, so sometimes there was noise from ambulances coming in at night, and the view was limited. However, with the help of Luis, their very helpful QA Manager, I was able to move a higher floor (level 8) on the other side of the building, once the room became available. The view was much nicer (facing Mall del Sol and Juan Tanca Marengo Avenue, and the hills beyond) and there was much less noise.

There were a couple of times when I experienced blackouts (in the local area) for several hours. When these occurred during the day, the generator in the apartment building was not enough to power all the rooms, so there was no air conditioning nor lights. However, at night, this was usually not a problem.

Overall, a very good stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and facing away from Torre Del Sol 2 are quieter, since they are facing away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniepoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The people in the hotel is very nice! they help you all the time, if you are traveling for business, don't worry, just only tell them your plans and they will help you!
Good food! Very kindly people!
Really you will enjoy it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. The location is ideal. There is a mall and many choices of restaurants within walking distance. The shuttle from the airport is also quite helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1981, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, it's our pleasure.
We are glad you liked our shuttle service, now we have wi-fi internet access on board so you can keep in touch with your family or business while you're being transported to the hotel or to the airport!

Best regards,

Luis Izquierdo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had to take an early flight to Lima and wanted to stay close to the airport.
We checked in at midnight with the staff very quick and smiley. They offered biscuits and drinks.
They arrange the early (5am) shuttle to take us to the airport without any problems.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrere1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Guayaquil
Courtyard Guayaquil
#12 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
2.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil
Address: Juan Tanca Marengo Avenue | Plaza Del Sol, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#8 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located only 3 minutes from the Jose Joaquin de Olmedo Airport and half a kilometer from Mall del Sol, the biggest mall in the city. This hotel has modern accommodations in the main commercial and financial area of Guayaquil. It features a health club, free WIFI as free parking as a guest. Rooms at Howard Johnson Guayaquil are luxuriously decorated and furnished with comfortable beds and feathered pillows. They come equipped with air conditioning, LCD cable TV, a coffee machine and a work desk. Room service is available 24/7. Wellness facilities include a Finnish sauna, jacuzzi and a gym. Check In: F&B zone offers buffet breakfast, and sit-down lunch and dinner. National and international dishes can be ordered for dinner, accompanied with a selection of delicious wines. There is also a Sushi Bar. Free Wi-Fi is provided on the shuttle service that runs every 30 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Guayaquil Hotel Guayaquil
Guayaquil Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing