We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for 1 night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DreamKapture Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good choice for 1 night.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were moving on to Cuenca in the morning. We took a local bus to the centre, which took about half an hour. The room was decent and airconditioned. The pool was off limits. They also have a travel agency in house.

- yesmads.com

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    68
    37
    23
    15
See reviews for
5
72
37
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Terrible. There was one bathroom for everyone staying as the only other one was locked up. The guy at the front desk told us we couldn't get the bus we wanted but that it was available for the next day and if we wanted to stay another night they only had their most expensive room available as a "big group was expected" which was an obvious lie as we were around until later and the hostel was still as empty as when we arrived. He was also completely unhelpful when we asked about other buses as we didn't want to stay another night, we ended up going to the bus terminal and asking ourselves and of course there were plenty available. As it was a night bus we went into town and were told in the afternoon that we had to get out of the hostel by 5pm or else pay $5 to stay, as our bus wasn't until 9pm. We left. Why would we want to stay??

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blitera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamGalapagos, Gerente at DreamKapture Hostel, responded to this review, November 15, 2015
Bronnnnn, thank you very much for your comments on our property.

If the receptionist told you that we were full that night, we were full. We frequently have groups of young students arriving late at night and leaving very early int he morning to continue their adventure in Ecuador or even Peru.Little hostels like us have often problems with the no shows, sometimes groups make reservations and they simply do not show. That is why we have been forced to change our policy and we started asking for deposits otherwise the reservation is not secure, and we can sell the this rooms to walk-ins.

At the reception we have information about the buses going to the main cities in Ecuador. Unfortunately we are not able to sell tickets for buses in the office.

About the extended stay.
When our guests check-in, they read our policy while we proceed with the registration, here we state about the extended stay. This was apply because after analysing the aproximately arrival time for our new clients or people staying in the hostel but sightseeing, we got as a result that between 5 to 6 they start coming back and we need the public areas for them. Our hostel is not a big place, we have a lot of open areas for our size but not enough to hold people staying, arriving and leaving. For us is important that our guest expectations are met upon arrival, that is why we sent our policies in the confirmation e-mail when you make the reservation. We also ask all our clients to read the policies while we do the registration and we have spare policy sheets in our rooms; besides that, we also have them on line. We sincerely apologize if you did not know in advance about the extra payment to stay longer in our hostel using our facilites like: internet, bathrooms, showers, towels, electricity, little pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guayaquil hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arrived late, they locked the exit door and would not let us out. We were intending on staying for two nights, but upon them demanding that we pay for the night we were unable to make it. We felt very uncomfortable. Called the owner of the hotel who is a Canadian and she was no help and showed no compassion whatsoever. The girl at the front desk refused to let us out of the property until we paid for the night we had booked for but had missed because of an accident. I do not recommend this hotel and would advise others to choose another one as well. The picture on the front page of the hostel is a swimming pool for small turtles as well and not for people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamGalapagos, Gerente at DreamKapture Hostel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
According to our cancelation and no show policy, there is a 100% fee for cancelation made less than 24 hours before the date or no shows without any notification. The reason for this is because the rooms are blocked and reserved and unavailable for any other guests. This is a normal procedure in hostels and hotels and clients are financially responsible for the payment of the room they reserved. We send a reconfirmation e-mail to all our clients which include information about the reservation, policy of the hostel, and our cancelation/no show policy. In this case, the owner was very flexible with them and willing to accept just the 50% instead of the full payment for the room.
This group was never held hostage. The door, they are referring to is our main office door and it is always kept shut even after people enter the hostel office. A member of this group was aggressive to our office worker, even after acknowledging the policy which is posted in our office and in there confirmation e-mail of the reservation. He was calling her a “cheat” and claiming she was scamming their money. They demanded to speak to the owner, who was contacted by phone, and spoke to them directly.
Afterwards they agreed to pay the 50%, which they did, and decided they would stay somewhere else and they were called a taxi by our office staff person, and they have never stayed in our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Arrived at dreamkapture knowing they had a booking office for galapagos boat tours. We were all on a very tight budget, after receiving information on available tours, we were told that only one cruise had the route we were wanting , so we paid significantly more for this boat based on that. As it turns out it had the same route as all the other options we had to choose from. dreamkapture took no responsibility and left it up to us to make dozens of calls to try and sort out our problem. it in turn ruined our experience, simply they made a big mistake and did nothing to fix it. this combined with payment being quite a hassle, a friend of ours was not allowed to wait for a taxi inside the hostel also, left to wait on the street, some very odd buisness practises to say the least. hostel rooms are ok, location is poor and hard to find. go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linden w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here in November of 2011 and enjoyed it so much we stayed here this time as well. We were in town for my fiance's K-1 interview at the US consulate so we made a two night visit out of it and did some tourist stuff while in town.

The Dreamkapture is a comfortable place and the people are very helpful. They work with a local taxi service so that is a plus when catching a ride in this part of town. The location isn't really "tourist" central but the hostel is nice and the price is good enough that you can afford to use the money you would have spent at a more expensive place to taxi around town.

There is some large commercial shopping and some reasonably priced seafood restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hostel.

Be careful in Guayaquil and don't carry around a bunch of anything that might make you a target. Guayaquil is constantly in the news for robberies and gun violence. With that in mind, I seem to pay more attention to my surroundings in Guayaquil than I do in other places while traveling in Ecuador. Actually............... I donated a camera to a pickpocket while passing through the main bus station near the airport in November 2011. So I'm a little more careful in Guayaquil.

We visited the El Faro near the Malacon as well as the Malacon itself. We also made a trip up to Parque Historico Guayaquil while in town. All three of these diversions are well worth the time. There is also a great parrillada near the Malacon. If you're in town, you've got to try the La Parrillada del Nato. There are different locations and the one we went to is one block off the Malacon and one block south of Avenida 9 de Octubre. Two words, Asparagus Soup!

If you're staying in Guayaquil, I highly recommend the DreamKapture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here on the way to and back from the Galapagos. We have travelled for 1.5 months in ecuador, and defiantly Dreamkapture is one of the top hostels that we've experienced in Ecuador thus far (management, cleanliness, communication, comfort). It was also well within our budget ($30/night). it's a 40 min bus journey to the city centre but as we weren't too impressed by it (many roads under construction but the malecon was pretty), we didnt mind that it was closer to the airport and bus terminal than the city centre.

Dreamkapture is close to a large north American style mall with a megamaxi (grocery store), laundromat, fruit stand. We made good use of the kitchen since we were traveling with a baby. Would recommend that they have a free-food bin and marker to mark your food in the fridge. The staff were very friendly and professional, some english-speaking as well.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter if you choose a private or shared bathroom, the shared bathroom is super clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamGalapagos, Propietario at DreamKapture Hostel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We would like to thank you for the good comments and the description of the area. It is an excellent suggestion to have markers to mark the food. We will start implementing that soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Not a good experience, the lodge is away from the center, in apart neighborhood and almost no one knows the address and the map that was provided was not clear enough .. I do not like that they charged me $ 5 per store only a small bag for a day and still having a reserve of return , seems excessive and I comment them and do not care .I had to pay the staff is normal nothiong special a bit careless for what you need and generally they're thinking all the time in the money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
3.7 mi away
Villa64
Villa64
#9 of 61 in Guayaquil
188 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
1.8 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 61 in Guayaquil
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 61 in Guayaquil
1,198 reviews
4.1 mi away
RE Bed And Breakfast
RE Bed And Breakfast
#1 of 54 in Guayaquil
218 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tomo Hostel
Tomo Hostel
#3 of 54 in Guayaquil
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DreamKapture Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DreamKapture Hostel

Property: DreamKapture Hostel
Address: Alborada Doceava Etapa Manzana 02, Villa 21 | Calle Juan Sixto Bernal, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamkapture is only 10 minutes away from bus terminal and the airport. Dreamkapture Hostel is located in the suburb of Alborada just north of the center of the city. There are many great restaurants nearby where you can enjoy local crab dishes, ceviches, and other typical foods. Dreamkapture is located near shopping, restaurants, and theaters. Our neighboorhood is friendly and the people are nice and helpful.Members of our office staff speak Spanish, English, and even French, and offer great information about Guayaquil, Galapagos, Jungle, Buses, and all of Ecuador.Members of our office staff speak Spanish and English, and offer great information about Guayaquil, Galapagos, Jungle, Buses, and all of Ecuador.Our hostel is a friendly and comfortable place where happy people are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your DreamKapture Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing