We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DreamKapture Hostel
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I have mixed feelings about Dreamkapture. I can´t speak for the private rooms but I stayed in a dorm room which I thought was adequate. I like the property all in all and to me it had a Florida beach motel type feel. The small swimming pool was a plus and I really liked the upstairs patio. Breakfast was really good. The location is close to the aiport and bus terminal but a hike into town- 30 mins at least by bus. I thought the staff was decent but the owners were really nice. Isabella is a bastion of Galapagos knowledge and the hotel is also a travel agency so she can set up a last minute cruise for you. But make sure you check aorund because they can´t always get you the best deal as was the case with me and I ended up booking through an online agency. It depends what you are looking for but I really liked Dreamkapture because I had no problem staying out of the city center. Guayaquil was definitely not my favorite place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alotacolada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    68
    37
    23
    14
See reviews for
5
72
36
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

We stayed here for two nights before flying on to Galapagos. Its a miserable, depressing place, just about clean enough to tolerate, but only just. The rooms are overcrowded with beds and lacking in natural light. The yard contains locked up animals, the lounge has shells on the wall from giant turtles, and the staff are only just about bareable.

The area the hostel is located in is also terribly depressing. Only stay here as a last resort.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themissusandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guayaquil hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed here for one night before and two nights after going to the Galapagos. Our first night was in a double room with a/c ($30p/night) which was quite comfortable with a good bed. Unfortunately our hot water (electric shower head) did not work which they couldn't fix on the spot so we used the shared bathroom. When we brought this up with the staff when we returned (to get the price of a room with a shared bathroom) they were not at all happy to help us.

We stayed one night in a private room and one night in a dorm room ($10pp) on our return. Dorms were also comfy.

The first morning when we went up for breakfast (which is lovely by the way, toast and scrambled eggs, coffee/tea and juice) we got up there not long before the 10am cut off. Staff walked past us but didn't help. When we went down to reception at about 10.10am (after waiting 20mins) to ask for breakfast they told us 'there isn't anything left'. Only with a lot of pushing did we get our brekkie!

Dreamkapture also has a travel agency. One of the staff members (?owner) was very very helpful and we booked our cruise last minute for the Galapagos through her. She was also very helpful with general questions and made up for the lacklustre performance of the other staff (who were a lot better when she was around!).

Overall the place is a very nice place with a decent kitchen and sitting areas, a marmoset breeding thing in the garden so you can watch the tiny monkeys playing, and a decent travel agency. But the staff definitely need to work on their service for the amount that you pay. The location isn't great either.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2010

A cosy and calming hostal, love the bedroom fans and little swimming pool to cope with the guayaquil heat. Free internet and wifi, breakfast included (fruit french toast and maple syrup every 3rd day, makes a nice change from eggs!), TV lounge, kitchen, outside patios with tables and hammocks, and a choice of nicely furnished rooms. On a direct bus into town and to nearby malls and close to the bus station and airport. The hostal also has an on site travel agency so it's easy to get up to date info on galapagos and all aspects of ecuador travel, including the best things to do in an around Guayaquil. The owners and staff were friendly and chatty, and have put finishing touches in the rooms to make them a cut above many typical backpacker haunts, but with similar prices. I'd definitely recommend this hostal if you're visiting Guayaquil.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81Lora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We made a reservation to arrive at 1 in the morning. When we arrived at the hostel, the reservation was there (we already payed a deposit), but they had no room for us. Looked like they don't understand night reservations, were very confused. Returned the deposit, minus the fee we payed to reserve through a website, refused to pay us taxi to another hotel. We found a great place! Hotel de Alborada, same area, same price, private bathroom, air conditioning, TV, fridge in the room! breakfast included on a rooftop terrace, free internet, very clean. www.hoteldealborada.com - highly recommended!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nikan_dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quocluu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Dreamkapture provided us with choices of boat trips and answers questions before we made a decision. We booked the trip from the USA and all the paperwork went fine. They also booked airline flights for us to/from Quito/Galapagos island. Upon arrival at the Baltra island, we were met by the boat guide as Dreamkapture said.
All in all, we had a very positive experience with Dreamkapture.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank quocluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed for 1 night before flying to Galapagos. Although it was clean and beds fairly comfortable, the staff were pretty rude (not offering any kind of help or elaborating on anything when we asked for something), there were only fans (and it was hot when we stayed), there was only one bathroom downstairs and in the morning, all the tables were full for breakfast. I asked for just a juice and the lady said no because there were no seats. Given it could have been a miscommunication, she certainly didn't stop me when I said we didn't have time to wait. Not my most favourite place to stay, but it wasn't terrible.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippa-h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamGalapagos, Propietario at DreamKapture Hostel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment which was useful to analyze during this time and use as a feedback. Now a day, people who was working in the hostel is not here anymore. We have prepared people who received training from courses organized by the Municipality; the idea is to promote tourism with a good service. This program started last year and we were one the first hostels to be part of this program hiring people, and helping others to do their internship in our hostel to be able to find a job in other places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
3.7 mi away
Villa64
Villa64
#10 of 60 in Guayaquil
160 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#25 of 60 in Guayaquil
46 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tomo Hostel
Tomo Hostel
#4 of 51 in Guayaquil
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Funky Monkey Hostal
Funky Monkey Hostal
#25 of 51 in Guayaquil
69 reviews
4.1 mi away
RE Bed And Breakfast
RE Bed And Breakfast
#1 of 51 in Guayaquil
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DreamKapture Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DreamKapture Hostel

Property: DreamKapture Hostel
Address: Alborada Doceava Etapa Manzana 02, Villa 21 | Calle Juan Sixto Bernal, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamkapture is only 10 minutes away from bus terminal and the airport. Dreamkapture Hostel is located in the suburb of Alborada just north of the center of the city. There are many great restaurants nearby where you can enjoy local crab dishes, ceviches, and other typical foods. Dreamkapture is located near shopping, restaurants, and theaters. Our neighboorhood is friendly and the people are nice and helpful.Members of our office staff speak Spanish, English, and even French, and offer great information about Guayaquil, Galapagos, Jungle, Buses, and all of Ecuador.Members of our office staff speak Spanish and English, and offer great information about Guayaquil, Galapagos, Jungle, Buses, and all of Ecuador.Our hostel is a friendly and comfortable place where happy people are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your DreamKapture Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing