We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An elegant hotel but poorly run” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unipark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Unipark Hotel
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
201 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“An elegant hotel but poorly run”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel was as modern and well appointed as any we've stayed at. It is centrally situated across the street from a very pretty park. We would have rated it very highly if only the staff weren't so hopeless. Our first sense that there were problems came before we left home, when we wanted to find out if the hotel offered transportation to and from the airport. We used the email on the website to query this but never received a response. So we called the hotel and got a recording asking us to hold the line -- which we did for about 5 minutes without anyone ever picking up. Fortunately our travel agent was able to arrange airport transportation for us. When we got to the hotel, issues persisted. The hotel is split into two portions, one in front, the other at the other end of a connecting mall. To get to your room in the latter you use your room card to access the private elevator. When we got to the elevator, we found that the card would not work, so we had to wait until someone came down the elevator in order to get on it and to our room. Getting back down involved a similar process. We went back to the front desk and after waiting forever, we had a new room card cut but after the trek back to the other end of the mall we found that it didn't work with the elevator either. We were, however, luckier on the third try, after another long wait. The best adjective we could use to describe the staff at this hotel was "clueless". A word of caution: we had been warned that Guayaquil, unlike the other cities we visited in Ecuador (Quito, Cuenca) was somewhat rough. We thus took routine precautions that we usually do when visiting such cities, like keeping our wallets in a fanny pack and not wearing jewelry. We were glad we did when two guys approached the couple we were walking with in a busy downtown area, pulled her gold earrings off her ears and ran off, melting into the crowd. Guayaquil is an interesting and picturesque city that can be very enjoyable but these things can happen, so be alert.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unipark_H, Director of Sales at Unipark Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest:
We are glad you had a nice stay with us. Guayaquil is a very nice but big city and can be a bit dangerous as any other big city and as you said "these thinks can happen". Walking around the Malecón 2000, located 2 blocks away from the hotel is very nice and safe. I hope you visit us again in the near future and visit all the wonderful places Guayaquil has to offer.
What I am very concerned is about your problems with your keys, I am really sorry for the inconvenience, we are checking on it, so it does not happen again to any other guest.
Thank you for the information.
Please feel free to write me to my email if you are considering traveling to Guayaquil any time, it will be my pleasure to welcome you personally.

Best regards,

Mauricio Pacheco
Sales & marketing Manager
mpacheco@uniparkhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    316
    105
    17
    7
See reviews for
154
190
49
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Viña del Mar
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at Unipark Hotel last week, and it is very well located, two blocks to Malecon 2000, in front of the Iguanas Square (to see the reptiles themselves), and also I went by walk to the Mercado Artesanal (handcrafts market), so, is a very good option to stay and look around.

The area seemed so safe to me, I went by walk almost everywhere.

The rooms are nice. The Hotel has two sides, the main building (where I stayed), and the new building, where there are kind of Apartments.

Also, in the same building, you have a little shopping center, many little things, but to see around.

Friendly staff,
Sushi Restaurant,
Buffet breakfast at UniCafe,

Everything fine!!!

Room Tip: Choose those from X04 and ahead, and from the 6th floor, because they are in front and you can see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenita_vina_del_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unipark_H, Director of Sales at Unipark Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a great stay with us. Guayaquil is a very nice but big city and could be a bit dangerous as any other big city. Walking around the Malecón 2000, located 2 blocks away from the hotel is very nice and safe. I hope you visit us again in the near future and visit all the wonderful places Guayaquil has to offer.

Best Regards

Mauricio Pacheco
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a very well located hotel, close to El Malecon, where you can find good dinning options. Rooms are good and service is also ok. The building is a little old and that can be seeing inside the rooms, but overall it is a good option.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1Arlyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unipark_H, Director of Sales at Unipark Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are very pleased to know you had a nice experience during your stay in Guayaquil. I understand you booked one of our standard rooms. I would like to invite you to visit our web page www.uniparkhotel.com and discover our new Signature Floor. We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Mauricio Pacheco
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The AirPort Shuttle is free which is a huge plus. We stayed in one of the newer suites and it was great - clean, comfortable and great value for money. Guayaquil is not really a city you want to be walking around in at night so we really appreciated the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Fabulous service and meals. A bit expensive - not just for Ecuadorean standards - but definitely worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mad2live482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unipark_H, Director of Sales at Unipark Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest:

We are very pleased to know you had a nice experience during your stay in Guayaquil. Our commitment to offer our guest a friendly and personal service is very important to us. We thank you once again for choosing Unipark Hotel as your home in Guayaquil. Hope to see you soon again
Best regards,

Mauricio Pacheco
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
243 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is located across the street from one of the main squares and near a beautiful church. You are with in minutes of the river park promenade. The employees are a delight and went over the top to help. This is a great hotel to either finish or start your Galapagos Island trip. They do warn you about going out after dark and not to make yourself a target. The restaurant located below and adjacent to the hotel has amazing food and wine.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main tower due to the second tower entrance is through a shopping mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesscruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unipark_H, Director of Sales at Unipark Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we are very happy to know you had a pleasant stay at the Unipark Hotel. As you said Guayaquil is a great city and has a lot of wonderful places to show. We really hope you come back to visit us and enjoy the city and Unipark Hotel

Best regards,

Mauricio Pacheco
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here with the family at least a dozen times. Entrances are the first time confusing. We like the central location of the hotel close to everything. Good overall services. Nice breakfast. Free airport service. Fair value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hexeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unipark_H, Director of Sales at Unipark Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for being part of the Unipark Hotel, we are very happy to have you and your family as our guest and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Once you get over the maze of floors, entrances, walks through a mall (!) to get to your room, you're fine.
Here with a group tour.
Spacious rooms. Complimentary fruit plate delivered siesta time. Full tub, bidet, double sinks. Mediocre water pressure; water doesn't really get hot.
Not able to connect to wifi.
Buffet breakfast with lots of options.
Very centrally located although we were advised not to walk around at night, specifically along the malecon (river boardwalk).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wunderlustful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unipark_H, Director of Sales at Unipark Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for your note, we are glad you had a great stay with us. Guayaquil is a very nice but big city and dangerous as any other big city, but walking around the Malecón 2000, located 2 blocks away from the hotel is very nice and save. I hope you visit us again in the near future and visit all the wonderful places Guayaquil has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.1 mi away
Continental Hotel
Continental Hotel
#10 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#5 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#2 of 59 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unipark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unipark Hotel

Property: Unipark Hotel
Address: Clemente Ballen 406 y Chile | Casilla 563, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guayaquil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guayaquil
#9 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#11 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Unipark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Unipark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unipark Hotel Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing