We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great hotel!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is great. The staff are helpful and the rooms were very very nice. The location is in a rough area so you really can't venture out too far by yourself, especially at night. There is security around the hotel so itself is very safe. A cab fare is only $4 and can take you almost any where for that price. The hotel is 10-15 mins from the Airport which is nice and easy to get to. The bakery in the hotel is awesome and very inexpensive. The food is very good in all the restaurants within the hotel itself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154919Michaelt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear 154919Michaelt29,

Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our homemade breads and pastry for which we are well renowned in Guayaquil.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    363
    105
    34
    14
See reviews for
209
439
102
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel twice before and after visiting Galápagos Islands eating in the Gourmet and Fondue Restaurants. On both occasions we were upgraded from their club rooms to a suite.
The staff were friendly and efficient, the restaurants good and the breakfast excellent.
The transfers to the airport were reliable and short so all in all a great success.
Although it's always easy to find fault the hotel deserves 5 * not least due to their honesty. Our friends were travelling back a day earlier and left cash and other valuables in their room safe.
We were able to pick these up all in tact to the relief of our friends. Honesty in hotel staff is critical, the Oro Verde's staff demonstrated the value of this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Nick T,

Thank you kindly for your taking the time to share you experience with the TripAdvisor community and I am truly happy you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in our team members and I am happy they did not disappoint.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel whilst visiting Guayaquil on both business and pleasure. It is the best hotel in Guayaquil.

The hotel I is very lavish and has a fantastic breakfast.

A very comfortable hotel and a pleasure to stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Englisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Englisc,

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are always happy to hear that our breakfast has "hit the spot".

We do look forward to welcoming back.

Yours sincerely,


Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel with a great location. It is in a very safe part of the city which we took advantage of. We walked around and did some shopping and eating. We were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise. The room was large and clean. The staff was friendly and very attentive. We were even given vouchers for 2 free drinks downstairs at the bar. Unfortunately we had to leave very early in the morning to catch a flight and could not take advantage of the free breakfast. However there was a table set up in the lobby with a tea/coffee station and some bread and pastries which was very nice. There is a free shuttle to and from the airport. This is a first class hotel in my mind. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandL561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear JandL561,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Oro Verde with the TripAdvisor community and I am truly happy to hear you enjoyed our service and your overall stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here before and after visiting the Galapagos Islands. We took advantage of the free airport shuttle service, which we booked in advance. One of our group had her luggage end up in Brazil, so some of us missed the scheduled shuttle, but they sent another back for us half an hour later.

Guayaquil is Spanish-speaking, and communicating can be difficult for those of us with limited Spanish. This is true even at the Hotel. Signs and menus are multi-lingual, and there is no problem getting by in English at the front desk. But the staff at the restaurants may or may not understand English. For example, on our second breakfast, I decided to forego the $24 huge and delicious breakfast, and asked if a section stocked mostly with cheese and bread was complimentary. The waiter said yes, but a fellow traveler suspected, correctly, that he hadn't understood what I was asking. We ended up being billed $24, although they removed the charge from the bill when we explained what had happened. If you don't want to pay $24 for the full breakfast, you can order from a menu and pay less, $16 for an enormous Ecuadoran breakfast with many local delicacies. Better still, book one of the slightly more expensive club rooms on the 8th floor, and the full breakfast is included in the charge. Considering the savings if you want the full breakfast, the complimentary snacks, and the fancier rooms, it may end up costing less. We stayed in the ordinary rooms prior to flying to the Galapagos, and they were more than adequate. But the club room on our return trip was well worth the extra expense. Our flight from Guayaquil to Miami was a red-eye, so we asked if we could stay until 3pm rather than the usual 11am checkout time. There was no problem. While we were hanging out in the common area on the club floor, the attendant came up to us and said she had noticed that our flight was not until close to midnight. She said the hotel was lightly booked and that we were welcome to stay in our room until 8pm. They even allowed us to bring a couple others from our group up to our room on the 8th floor (something that is usually not allowed) rather than wait in the hotel lobby. There was a bit of confusion when we checked out, since they usually charge extra for a late checkout, but, as with the surprise charge for the one breakfast, they cheerfully removed any extra charge from our bill.

We had an extra day prior to flying to the Galapagos, and the concierge suggested walking a few blocks east to a lovely walk along the Rio Guayas. This gave us a chance to see some beautiful gardens and a museum on the walk north along the river, and to get a better feel for Guayaquil.

One surprise: when we went to have a beer and a glass of wine before leaving for the airport, we found that there is no alcohol served after 4pm on Sundays. This is not a hotel policy, it appears to be the law in all of Ecuador.

Room Tip: As noted above, consider paying extra to book a "club room" on the 8th floor, particularly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpl_jpl_jpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear jpl_jpl_jpl,

It is always rewarding to read a review and find out that my team was able to attend and adapt to our guests specific needs. I do apologize for the two misunderstandings that resulted from some of our team members not speaking English. As you very rightfully indicate in your review, Guayaquil has yet to become a bilingual city, however this is something that does in no way diminishes its hospitality.

I do hope you had a wonderful time in the Enchanted Islands.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beautiful large room. Best breakfast with omelets made to order and a myriad of choices including meets, breads, fresh fruits. The breakfast room served the best coffee ever and I've had excellent coffee!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear P A,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay and our breakfast buffet with the TripAdvisor community. We pride ourselves in our breakfast, homemade breads and pastry as well as our 100% Ecuadorian coffee. We are firm believers that a good breakfast makes any day a better one.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I can’t recommend Hotel Oro Verde enough, especially considering what a great value it is for the money.
When we arrived after a trip through the Galapagos, we were greeted with cool towels and fresh juice in the lobby, and a quick check-in. The modern guest rooms are beautiful, with lots of extras like a rainforest shower, minibar, robes and slippers. As one great perk, the hotel staff drops off some incredible chocolate creations for all guests arriving as part of a tour group. We felt bad that we couldn’t eat it all!
There is also a nice pool and a big gym, and the hotel is just a few blocks away from the Malecon. The doormen are happy to help guests into a safe taxi, and there is also complimentary shuttle service to the airport all day long.
As for breakfast…wow! Never in my entire life have I seen such a huge spread of food! There were about four tables worth of pastries, cereal, yogurt, pancakes etc….including a made-to-order omelet station and roast beef carving!
One tip: If you’re looking for a good place to eat lunch, grab a Panini from the deli in the lobby—they’re amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGlobeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear The Globe Guide,

I wish to thank you for having taken the time to share your moments with us with the Tripadvisor community. It is always a great satisfaction to hear that the hotel and my team where able to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Property: Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre y Garcia Moreno | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing