We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beautiful large room. Best breakfast with omelets made to order and a myriad of choices including meets, breads, fresh fruits. The breakfast room served the best coffee ever and I've had excellent coffee!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear P A,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay and our breakfast buffet with the TripAdvisor community. We pride ourselves in our breakfast, homemade breads and pastry as well as our 100% Ecuadorian coffee. We are firm believers that a good breakfast makes any day a better one.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    353
    102
    32
    13
See reviews for
201
425
101
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I can’t recommend Hotel Oro Verde enough, especially considering what a great value it is for the money.
When we arrived after a trip through the Galapagos, we were greeted with cool towels and fresh juice in the lobby, and a quick check-in. The modern guest rooms are beautiful, with lots of extras like a rainforest shower, minibar, robes and slippers. As one great perk, the hotel staff drops off some incredible chocolate creations for all guests arriving as part of a tour group. We felt bad that we couldn’t eat it all!
There is also a nice pool and a big gym, and the hotel is just a few blocks away from the Malecon. The doormen are happy to help guests into a safe taxi, and there is also complimentary shuttle service to the airport all day long.
As for breakfast…wow! Never in my entire life have I seen such a huge spread of food! There were about four tables worth of pastries, cereal, yogurt, pancakes etc….including a made-to-order omelet station and roast beef carving!
One tip: If you’re looking for a good place to eat lunch, grab a Panini from the deli in the lobby—they’re amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGlobeGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear The Globe Guide,

I wish to thank you for having taken the time to share your moments with us with the Tripadvisor community. It is always a great satisfaction to hear that the hotel and my team where able to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Unfortunately we were only here for one night as we were on our way from the Galápagos Islands to Miami on our way back to London. We were upgraded to an Executive Suite and it was excellent. There was plenty of choice on where to eat (three restaurants) and we chose La Fondue which the waiter said was the only Swiss restaurant in the city. People near had a cheese fondue which looked really good. We had the asparagus risotto which, though it looked a bit like a rice pudding, tasted delicious. The hotel is lovely although the night we we're there the main, and somewhat expensive, restaurant was being dried out with a de-humidifier and had a rather musty smell. That apart a great hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect great views from your rooms but it really doesn't matter. Staff in the bar need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrookieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear CrookieLondon,

thank you very much for providing us with your very valuable feedback, which I have shared with my team as we continuously strive to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,


Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The service, the room, the food excellent! Everyone went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible! This is my 2nd stay and will def. come back! and their handcraft shops are great if you didn't have time to find last minute gifts.

Room Tip: I loved the suite, lots of space for a New Yorker that's used to a small apartment back home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbyrose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Abbyrose23,

thank you very much for your very kind words and sharing them with the TripAdvisor community.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back to Guayaquil and the Oro Verde soon. We will make sure to have one of our Leading Suites waiting for you.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I am a Guayaquil city local and as such from my point of view the Oro Verde Hotel is by far the best option in the city if you are looking for good service, atmosphere and quality food. The hotel is locatde downtown which is also a positive thing since now on days the area is in general safe. As in every other city you need to be carefull with the side streets after 10 pm.

Other options in Guayaquil like the Hilton or Sheraton are very nice too but they don´t compare in terms of service with the Oro Verde. Also, this hotels are in the new and modern área of the city which is nice but probably has not much to offer for tourist tryng to stay away from shopping malls and so on

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BERNIE2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Bernie2009,

thank you very much for sharing your kind words with the TripAdvisor community.

It is wonderful to receive feedback from residents of Guayaquil as we feel the Oro Verde has played such an intrinsic part in this cities recent history.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the hotel or at one of our restaurants.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
697 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here two nights, bookending a trip to the Galapagos. This is the top hotel in the city. It is a full service 5 star hotel. The rooms were , spotless and comfortable, though not unduly large, bathrooms adequate and the bedding very comfortable. Views from the higher floors are definitely much better. The staff is solicitous. The breakfast buffet was delicious and replete with choices.
The hotel has a number of restaurants; the one we had dinner in was excellent (for fondue), though not unexpectedly pricey. The lounge/bar was full service and had outstanding house wines.
Guayaquil can be a dodgy city when it comes to security. Staying in this hotel eliminates such concerns. If money is not of paramount concern, I do not think you can choose a better, more secure place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Rod McCleod,

my team and I are grateful for your kind review and very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope you had a wonderful time in the Enchanted Islands and hope you will visit Ecuador and us sometime soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lane, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here at the end of our Galapagos trip. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Pretty much everything about this property is quality!!

I emailed ahead to arrange a shuttle from the airport. There was a driver with a sign waiting in the hallway outside baggage claim for us. A smooth ride to the hotel and a speedy check-in. Our regular room was upgraded to a suite because we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. What a great surprise. Flowers and fresh fruit! Our bellhop explained the amenities in the room without us asking.
We showered and went down to the dining room for dinner. They wouldnt let us sit in the formal dining room because I had flip-flops on!! Oops! So we sat in the bar (El Capitan) and had a very nice dinner. We had breakfast in the "patio" dining area. It was excellent. Fresh eggs, fruit, yogurt, granola, shrimp cervice, rolls, juice and more.

My wife got an excellent massage in the spa.

The only real problem we had was a wedding/party that was downstairs. The band started playing at midnight and didnt stop until 3am. Im not sure why a hotel of this caliber allows something this disruptive at those hours. We called the front desk and they said there was not much they could do.......

Our return trip to the airport was timely as well. We caught the 4 am shuttle for a 6am flight. They sent an armed guard with us in the shuttle van.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear golfhorse,

thank you very much for sharing your kind comments with the TripAdvisor community.

I am truly sorry you were disturbed by the noise from our banquet area and we are reviewing our procedures and policies to ensure private events do not affect the quality of rest our guests get while staying with us.

We have shared you comments with our spa team and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#2 of 60 in Guayaquil
812 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#5 of 60 in Guayaquil
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#9 of 60 in Guayaquil
1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 60 in Guayaquil
453 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Property: Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre 414 | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing