We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This very busy hotel isn't far from the airport in Guayaquil and it felt quite new. The room was large and felt a little bit clinical as the walls were mainly bare but it was very clean and well appointed. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable which should have ensured a good nights sleep but even the comfort of the bed couldn't drown out the sound of the loud music from below our fourth floor window! After 2am we finally got some much needed rest.
The bathroom( no bath) was very nice with an excellent shower and very nice toiletries.
The hotel also boasts a very nice bar which had excellent service and lovely pub food.

Room Tip: Unless you want to join the party ask for a room as far away from the music as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMPridham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear DM Pridham,

thank you for your kind review and please accept my apologies for the unfortunate noise disturbance you suffered. I hope you had a wonderful time in Ecuador and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

LAN airline put us up here when they were having their usual holiday season issues and lucky for us the airport in Guayaquil does not permit airlines to keep their delayed passengers in the terminal so they bussed us all out to either the Sheraton or the Oro Verde and needless to say, I got the Oro Verde.

Of course there were a lot of people trying to check in at once but they handled us all fairly quickly. The lobby had a bit of a musty smell but there was a TON of rain in Guayaquil during the previous days so maybe there was some excess moisture laying around.

The room wasn't gigantic perhaps 275 square feet but all the furnishings were modern which was a nice surprise as the lobby looks a bit dated. There were free sodas and waters provided in the minibar which is pretty much unheard of in 4 star hotel. The shower was great. Way above average there. The Oro Verde has a nice "classic" bar which looked like a nice place for a drink and there are a couple of restaurants. We had the buffet for dinner and although there wasn't an abundance of choices the quality was quite good.

What I like about this hotel in comparison to the chain hotels which all seem to be in the neighborhood directly west of the airport is that the Oro Verde is right n the center of downtown Guayaquil. Most people are staying in Guayaquil because they're on their way to the Galapagos so if you want to actually see some of the city, the Oro Verde gives you a chance to catch some local flavor. If you stay at the Sheraton or whatever you basically have a couple of US style shopping malls close by.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HurdyGurdyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Hurdy Gurdy Man,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences at the Oro Verde with the TripAdvisor community. I am sorry for your travel delays and happy your enjoyed your overall stay in Guayaquil with us.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here in January 2014, before and after Galapagos cruise. It had everything I needed -
Lovely staff. Nice pool. Excellent massage. Great breakfast. Room service excellent. Reliable rides to and from airport.

Room Tip: The room I was in on the second floor was updated but had little natural light. During my post crui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear AR K,

thank you very much for your kind comments and review of your stay at the Oro Verde Guayaquil and I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, Jan 13-15, following our trip to the Galapagos. Warm welcome at check-in, spacious lobby. Our room was ready when we arrived around noon and it was nice to walk into air-conditioning as it was very humid in Guayaquil. Room was spotless, beds comfortable and the bathrobes were a welcomed treat. The only bad part was the slow service in the main restaurant. Waitress greeted us promptly took our drink order then came back for our food order. Other diners arrived after us and received their food before we did. It wasn't like we order anything special just salad and soup. Food was good once we got it. Spa was nice, though they only have one masseuse, Fabilola was great! Breakfast buffet was very good with lots of variety. Overall a very nice hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Liz F,

thank you very much for your kind comments and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed Fabiola´s massage and our breakfast and wish to apologize for our tardiness in the restaurant.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here one night as guests of LAN due to a trip disruption to the Galapagos. As you can imagine, we were grumpy that our 7-day trip to the Galapagos was only going to be 6 days, but as soon as we arrived at the hotel, we calmed down a bit. We expected the airline to put us in some cheap place, but that was not the case at all. This hotel is beautiful and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms have free wifi and they are more than happy to have one of their drivers take you around, if necessary. We had to go to the mall on the other side of town to get our reimbursement from the airline and the driver took us there, waited for us, and brought us back. The hotel is located downtown, only a short walk from a pretty park with iguanas. We enjoyed going there, but were told not to go anywhere else as Guayaquil is not the safest city.

We also had breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel (courtesy of the airline) and all the food was delicious. The shuttle to and from the airport was also reliable and safe. Oh, my husband thought the shower was the nicest shower he's ever been in. It had a rainfall shower head with nice pressure and flow.

Overall, we had a nice stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smkozlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear smkozlow,

thank you for your kind review and I am happy to hear that we were able to somewhat minimize the disappointment that your travel disruptions must have caused. I hope you had a wonderful time in the Enchanted Islands and that this was not your last visit to Guayaquil or Ecuador.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

OK, I have done my fair share of traveling and staying in 5 star hotels with children and seen various welcome kits for the children -but the one at Oro Verde beats them all! They had written my children's name in huge letters on the floor and filled the room with toys for both of them! We were welcomed in the airport by smiling staff who served us cold towels and cold water - which in 40C is highly appreciated. The breakfast buffet - don't know where to start - but that alone is worth a trip to Guayaquil! There is something for EVERY taste at that buffet! My sons have never eaten that much as they did every morning here - and they are quite picky! We even made it to the fine dining restaurant and had an out of this world menu with a mix of the best Ecuador has to offer. We stayed in one of the newly renovated Tower Suites - very comfortable, fresh and modern and a perfect choice for families.Overall what stands out is the impeccable level of service - sincere and warm and difficult not to be happy here:-)

Room Tip: Club Room or a Tower suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exuberant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Exuberant,

thank you so much for sharing your experiences at the Oro Verde with the TripAdvisor community. It is always great to hear from our guests that enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to have you and your family back with us soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a suite that seemed huge after spending four days in a very small cabin on the M/V Legend in the Galapagos. Lovely bathroom with a great shower. Very comfortable king bed. Best breakfast we had anywhere in Ecuador. All staff were great. Had dinner in the fondue restaurant first night. Very good but spendy compared to what we were paying in Quito and Mindo. Location is okay. Had private transport to and from the airport because we didn't know they provided it for free. We used their private taxi to take us to the Park Historico since I had a sprained foot. He waited while we went thru the park. Cost was $25. Would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Linda B,

thank you for sharing your experience at the Or Verde with the TripAdvisor Community and I am happy to read you enjoyed your new rooms and our breakfast buffet.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 62 in Guayaquil
985 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#3 of 62 in Guayaquil
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 62 in Guayaquil
515 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 62 in Guayaquil
968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Unipark Hotel
Unipark Hotel
#8 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range: $102 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing