We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay in Oro Verde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family stay in Oro Verde”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

OK, I have done my fair share of traveling and staying in 5 star hotels with children and seen various welcome kits for the children -but the one at Oro Verde beats them all! They had written my children's name in huge letters on the floor and filled the room with toys for both of them! We were welcomed in the airport by smiling staff who served us cold towels and cold water - which in 40C is highly appreciated. The breakfast buffet - don't know where to start - but that alone is worth a trip to Guayaquil! There is something for EVERY taste at that buffet! My sons have never eaten that much as they did every morning here - and they are quite picky! We even made it to the fine dining restaurant and had an out of this world menu with a mix of the best Ecuador has to offer. We stayed in one of the newly renovated Tower Suites - very comfortable, fresh and modern and a perfect choice for families.Overall what stands out is the impeccable level of service - sincere and warm and difficult not to be happy here:-)

Room Tip: Club Room or a Tower suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exuberant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Exuberant,

thank you so much for sharing your experiences at the Oro Verde with the TripAdvisor community. It is always great to hear from our guests that enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to have you and your family back with us soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    385
    110
    36
    15
See reviews for
222
456
106
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a suite that seemed huge after spending four days in a very small cabin on the M/V Legend in the Galapagos. Lovely bathroom with a great shower. Very comfortable king bed. Best breakfast we had anywhere in Ecuador. All staff were great. Had dinner in the fondue restaurant first night. Very good but spendy compared to what we were paying in Quito and Mindo. Location is okay. Had private transport to and from the airport because we didn't know they provided it for free. We used their private taxi to take us to the Park Historico since I had a sprained foot. He waited while we went thru the park. Cost was $25. Would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Linda B,

thank you for sharing your experience at the Or Verde with the TripAdvisor Community and I am happy to read you enjoyed your new rooms and our breakfast buffet.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is somewhat old and shabby, but after travelling in The Galapagos for 2 1/2 weeks, this place seemed like paradise. The front desk agent was fantastic and met our every request: good wifi signal, king bed, and a bathtub (all those things we missed!).
He ended up upgrading us to a suite and we barely left our room (except to go to that weird fondue restaurant), since our flight was at midnight.

Our agent didn't tell us there was a free hotel shuttle, so we were very surprised to see a man with our name on a sign waiting for us when we got off the plane.
If we're ever stuck in Guayaquil for a day again, this is where we'll be.

Room Tip: since most guests here are on their way back from the galapagos, ask for what you specifically need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chavalaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear ChavalaSantaFe,

thank you very much for your review of your stay with us and I am happy to read you enjoyed your time with us. We are currently in the process of refurbishing all our areas and I do hope you will visit us again.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 1 night when we arrived in Ecuador before heading north to Quito and Baños. Then we stayed again on our way to Galapagos and then again at the end of our trip. The hotel provided us with free transportation to and from the airport all three times. We we given the same room for each night of our stay and all the bottled water we could drink. The room was a lovely, modern suite that was the perfect size for all three of us. The room was clean and well appointed. We had all the free bottled water we could drink. The staff was friendly and helpful, quickly correcting mistakes in the billing. The breakfast was disappointing and not included in our room so after the first night, we opted out for the rest of our stays. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mike N,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Oro Verde Guayaquil with the TripAdvisor community and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet which usually receives much praise from our guests and am very happy to hear you would stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family stayed at the Oro Verde Hotel 2 days pre-Galapagos and 1 day post-Galapagos. It was an oasis in downtown Guayaquil. The facilities and rooms were clean and pleasant, as was the pool and bar, but it was the staff that made it special. they were uniformly cheerful, positive, eager to assist, and patient with our Spanish attempts, even thought they all spoke very good english. The concierge helped with dinner reservations, transportation, and several other things and was efficient and extremely helpful, as was the front desk staff. Its the people as much as the facility hat makes a stay pleasant and they were the best here. Would recommend to close friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear David K,

thank you so much for your kind words regarding our team. It is always wonderful to hear that we were able make a good impression and I am grateful for your recommendations.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our trip to Ecuador brought us to Guayaquil, Hotel Oro Verde, where we were customers, many years ago.

Friendly service, good food, nice rooms and best location.

Don't miss the great breakfast und lunch buffet in the Patio Restaurant.

Room Tip: contact directly reservation departement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisstravelerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Swisstravelerms,

thank you very much for your kind review and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our breakfast buffet! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Oro Verde for 2 nights prior to trip to Galapagos, and one night on return from the islands. The hotel room on the first part of the trip had not been renovated and was quite dated. This was on the 6th floor. The room was fine; mattress was a bit hard; room didn't smell terribly fresh. The room on the 2nd stay had been renovated and was really quite nice.

Galapagos: we spent the week on a liveaboard dive boat, and the diving lived up to the hype. On one dive at Darwin's arch, we saw Whale sharks, school of hammerheads, a tiger shark casually swam by, spotted eagle-rays and turtles everywhere.

We flew into Guayaquil, but most of the people on our boat flew into Quito prior to departing for the islands. Quito definitely has a bit more to offer for a day or two ashore compared to Guayaquil. The hotel's location is fairly convenient, in that you can walk to most of the sights fairly quickly.

If I was to plan another trip to the Galapagos, I'd probably fly into Quito first and on return from the islands fly into Guayaquil and rent/hire a car to visit some of the nearby beach towns (Montanita).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkNelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco_v_Baselli, General Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear MarkNelsen,

thank you for your comments and impressions regarding your stay in Guayaquil and Galapagos. We are currently finalizing a full refurbishment of all our rooms and I regret you were assigned one of our un-refurbished rooms during your first stay. I do hope you enjoyed your second stay with us and found the nearby tourist attractions to your liking.

Yours sincerely,

Vasco v. Baselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 59 in Guayaquil
878 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#9 of 59 in Guayaquil
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 59 in Guayaquil
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 59 in Guayaquil
484 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 59 in Guayaquil
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Property: Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre y Garcia Moreno | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing