We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plastic floors in room, only duvet on bed, forgot about breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The WiFi did not work in the room, but the front desk gave me an Ethernet cable to use, which worked fine.
They have fake wood floors in the rooms, which I did not like. They clicked and clinked, and when coming out of the shower you got sand and dirt on your feet when walking across them.
The top cover on the bed was a duvet, and nothing else. It is a cultural think I guess, but I don't like having just a duvet---I'm either too hot with it or too cold without it and keep waking up to pull it up or throw it off.
Our group of 16 had an early departure, and the hotel was supposed to provide us with a continental breakfast in the lobby, but they forgot about it. Just before we got on the bus, they brought out some juice, coffee, and rolls.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OroVerdeGuayaquil, Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Xenophonanabasis,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience in our hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience experienced with your breakfast order and your overall experience.

We are constantly working to improve our service and product hence please accept our apologies once again and very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent two nights here before returning home. Large comfortable rooms with big beds, large bathroom but typical city views over other buildings, although from our room we could see across the city to some coloured houses on the hillside. Very convenient for the airport. We ate here both nights as we were 'recovering' from 10 days in Peru and a weeks cruise around the Galapagos and the early mornings all that entailed. I have to say the food we had was average. One of our party sent his fish back the first night as it was so dry and crozzled it was inedible. Why do restaurants insist on preparing easy meals first eg sandwiches with chips, then putting them on the counter whilst preparing something else? This meant that two of us got lukewarm chips. Breakfast was exceptional with all sorts of dishes and we wished we could have had the same choice at night as we did at breakfast. It is the first time we have seen a full cooked turkey for breakfast! Eggs as you like them, lovely pastries - oh and the hotel has a delicious cafe at the front of the hotel serving yummy cakes as well as hot food and sandwiches. We enjoyed our stay but not being woken up at 4.00 by security because our room alarm had started flashing. Security looked around, seemed satisfied we were not on fire and left. They did their job well but we were now wide awake for the next few hours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greystones23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the moment we pulled up for our first stay we were blown away all personale desired to make sure on stay was first class. Adriana who was the front desk person handled use and a flght crew 10 folks in all in miuntes. Then they had us up into our room and what a joy the suite was fantastic! Perfect is the only word to use. My wife didn't want to leave, we returned four days later and if possible it was even better. The staff recalled us from our prior stay and the care was more spectatular! EVERYONE on the staff wants every moment to be perfect and it WAS.
We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Get a Suite brand new and modern, first class. Higher floors have more sun light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ripb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OroVerdeGuayaquil, Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Ripb747,

Thank you for posting such kind comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to Oro Verde. I am delighted you had such a positive experience and will ensure our staff in particular Adriana are recognized for their dedication towards our guests.

In the mean time, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to let us know about your stay and very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming back on many more occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hotel Oro Verde has the most courteous and helpful staff. They routinely go out of their way for clients. The price is very reasonable, the rooms are impeccably clean and the beds very comfortable. They also have extras such as free wifi, 24 hour business center, free access to exercise room and pool and free shuttle to and from the airport.
The three restaurants on site serve delicious food and their gift shop has reasonably priced local artisanal wares.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OroVerdeGuayaquil, Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Hrayra,

Delighted to hear you were wowed by your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to tell us about it on Trip Advisor. We are aiming to provide the very best value and quality for our guests and are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we are most welcome for your feedback.

Hoping to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We lucked into this hotel. We were offered a choice of 3 when we booked a detours trip with ecoventura to the Galapagos. Ecuador requires a couple nights on the mainland and I did not want to deal with the altitude of Quito, so Guayaquil it was. What a joy! Turns out the Quito folk had to stop over anyway! Oro Verde was ready for us-even though our American Airlines flight was delayed 12 hours. We were met with fresh juices and cool wet towels-even whilst checking in. Full valet service, quiet, very spacious immaculate rooms. Secure storage of our midwestern garb not needed in the Islands. Incredible food; perfecly done seafood in exquisite delicate sauces and trditional succulent plantains, fluffy rice. Towers of desserts-especially luscious ecuadoran chocolate and rich ecuadoran coffee. The staff aim to meet your every wish. Edgar helped arrange a city tour - excellently done, even for AFTER our check out time. We were welcome to use concierage services and shuttle for our red-eye flight out. This is what you think of when world-class hotel comes to mind. Don't miss the little hotel shop-it's chock full of hand made artisanal carvings, weavings, art work and true Panama Hats-which by the way, always were and are made by expert hands in Ecuador! Don't miss this luxurious relaxing experience, there is no reason to go anywhere else! We are a group of 7 friends, now all mid-age who love to experience travel and new cultures. We all travel a LOT. We were stunned by the level of general professionalism and UNIFORM HELPFULNESS of literally everybody.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in '42' or '44' are down the hall-and are all immense corner suites, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burke_152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OroVerdeGuayaquil, Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Burke152,

Thank you so much for all your rewarding comments about your recent stay at Oro Verde.
I am delighted you enjoyed our hospitality so much, we strive to provide service with warmth and care and we are recognized for preparing one of the best Ecuadorian food in the city.

We are grateful for such positive feedback and thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor . We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were here overnight en route from The Galapagos to Cusco, but in that short time, we were very happy with the hotel. in particular we had the tasting plate degustation menu with paired wines at The Gourmet Restaurant and this was a superb experience in every way. Sadly we were the only guests that evening, and the service was ,of course first class.
Our only glitch was the safe did not work initially, but a call to Housekeeping resolved this immediately .

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After checking in and QUICKLY checking out of the Hotel Rizzo due to cockroach infestation, we made a quick Trip Advisor search and found Hotel Oro Verde. We headed right over, expecting it to be completely booked.

We were extremely surprised, and grateful, when the women said, "We are full but I'll see how I can help you." In 1 minute we were on the phone with their international booking agents, who got us a beautiful room and had us set up with a booking number in 5 minutes. Incredible service.

As if that amazing service wasn't enough, you get a complimentary drink at the bar, all of the drinks in the room's mini fridge are free-of-charge and can be replaced, AND they offer shuttle service to and from the hotel included in your room price.

This hotel is BEAUTIFUL... the rooms are absolutely spectacular. So comfortable, incredible shower (I didn't want to get out!) and excellent wifi. Not to mention the poolside area and the pool itself are so beautiful... the guy in the fitness centre even kept the pool open for us for an extra half hour because we arrived late.

The restaurant is also beautiful. The woman working was very helpful in choosing a wine and our meal. The food was outrageously delicious for the price (I recommend the quesedillas and the smoked salmon sandwich.. $11 and $15 respectively, wine is $8/glass... the Chilean merlot is fantastic).

ALL of this for only $158/night. It may be on the expensive side for most places in Ecuador, but when you look at all you get, it is a steal... especially since the cockroach infested dump we came from was $50/night!

Room Tip: ANY room is fantastic. If you want to save money (although I'm not sure how much the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMeagerMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OroVerdeGuayaquil, Manager at Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Megnaay,

Delighted to hear you were wowed by your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to tell us about it on Trip Advisor. We are most grateful for your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,009 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#3 of 62 in Guayaquil
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 62 in Guayaquil
519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Guayaquil
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 62 in Guayaquil
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range: $96 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing