We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in a club floor room. It was spacious and elegant. The staff were amazing and exceeded all expections of a 5 star international hotel. Breakfast in club lounge and in the restaurant down stairs. Plently to choose from. The baked goods in the hotel were amazing!! Very impressed with room service and all the restaurants. The hotel provides free airport pickup, just email them prior to arrival. They also have their own cab fleet which will drop you off at your destination and come back for you at a specified time, which made it safer.

Room Tip: We were in 810. It was very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynndiania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    363
    105
    34
    14
See reviews for
209
439
102
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in anticipation of going to Galapagos. They sent a mini van to pick us up at the airport upon arrival at no charge and this was very nice as it was our first time there and we don't speak spanish, so a little added comfort there. The hotel itself has a very nice lobby area, nice bar and breakfast room and workout facilities. The main resturant isn't open on Sunday nights which is a shame, since it's supposed to be the best in town. The second restaurant, the swiss chalet was a disaster, both the food and the service was terrible. We have spent much time in Switzerland over the years and this is not representative of the country other than the light wood furtniture design perhaps. We used room service for dinner the following night and that was a much better choice, good food and service at reasonable prices. The buffet breakfast was also very good. The spa, also with very reasonably priced services for massage and mani/pedi was good, and had a wonderful masseuse. There is also a nice gift shop on the premises as well as a popular bakery/cafe that we enjoyed. The location is not in the best neighborhood, but then again Guayaquil in itself is not very impressive in the downtown area other than the parks and the Malecon, but for being the financial center of Ecuador it was rather disappointing as a city, Quito is the place to go...

Room Tip: We got 2 queen beds, when we would rather have a king, make sure to request the bed type you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plumesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in a single non smoking room for 1 night in late Dec 2012.
The hotel is advertised as 5 star and is one of the Leading Hotels of the World.
The amenities provided was great. The mini bar was free - contained 4 bottles of water + 2 soft drink bottles.
Other positives - WIFI was free and the amenities provided in the bathroom was of very good quality.

There was an iron and ironing board provided which was very much appreciated.

The bed was heavenly, easily King sized and so comfortable with a very thick duvet.

Since I arrived late and didn't feel like wandering out for dinner, especially in Guayaquil which is not the safest city to be wandering around in after dark - decided to order room service which arrived promptly. The food was delicious with portions on the generous size.

Appreciated the fact that breakfast was available from 5:30am in the morning since I had an early flight. The breakfast was buffet and the selection extensive.

In summary I was very much impressed and would stay here again if I were to come back to Guayaquil.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

One of the best hotel I ever stayed in. Service is simply perfect. Rooms are spotless. All staff members took really good care of me and I felt like being at home.
Breakfast is great both at ground floor and at executive floor.
Cristina Levis

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stay far away, this is a crap hotel! Small rooms, poor service and bad air of the hotel room.
This should be a 5 star hotel. No more a 3 star rating and the price. All in all, very unhappy, for the price I expected more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JegerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This older hotel recently refurbished very nicely is in downtown Guayaquil. it is a welcoming place with very helpful and professional staff. We stayed here only two nights and probably will never return to Guayaquil, but this will remain a memorable hotel experience. Hotel offers good free wi-fi, free room minibar and included breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Oro verde the first time when I was ten years old, and that is a good while ago, the hotel was brand new and when it opened came to change the game on what a hotel was supposed to be in Ecuador, as time went by Oro Verde grow to be the Queen of Guayaquil Hotels, and then something happened to her , she started to show her age, it was looking like a lady with a sad midlife crisis. I remained a customer maybe only because of the sweet memories of a past childhood.
But then something changed... In the past year Oro Verde has recovered her soul, its like if the people working there have found again their once lost pride, the atention to detail is back,the genuine smiles are back
Le Gourmet, for me the best restaurant in Guayaquil, is a showcase of creativity , good service and true hospitality, as you don't need to sell one of your kidneys to afford dinning there, quite the contrary is almost absurdly reasonable .
Usually I stay in their Club floor, but last time due to the lack of availability there I was offered a suite in their remodelled tower , which was yet another pleasant surprise, very modern and sober décor, BIG room with a separate lounge, great for meetings and two bathrooms.
In short: Oro Verde Guayaquil has waken up from and retake her rightful place as La Grande Dame of Guayaquil

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NathaliaU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#4 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#10 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#5 of 60 in Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Property: Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre y Garcia Moreno | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing