We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Nice hotel, good for an overnight stay. Staff could be a bit more friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

I stayed here on a Sunday night. The hotel public areas are large, cool and check-in was efficient and pleasant. My room was large and the beds comfortable. The wallpaper was badly stained. Now to Kafka. We were invited to the bar for a Welcome Cocktail. "You will have a beer?" "No - I will have a gin & tonic" "No". So i took my voucher back and offered a $20.00 note. "No" "You have a beer".....and so it went on until the girls in the bar refused to deal with me. They then produced a man so i asked for 2 beers. "No - you have no voucher". "Yes I do" they are sitting on the bar. Got the beer. Go to front desk who explain that you cannot buy alcohol on Sundays. I am now on a mission and 2 hours later gin& tonics delivered to the room. The law is clear YOU CANNOT BUY ALCOHOL on a Sunday. So don't offer it if you can't deliver - don't open a bar with 20 different vodkas glaring at you and EDUCATE your staff. Seeing the manager the next day he explained the law. I had to cut him short - by then I KNEW the bloody law. SORT your staff out. The staff was pleasant - the food was edible - my room needed a man with some wallpaper.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This hotel should be stripped of its accreditations. It was shabby and dated. The food was dreadful and the service non-existent. The rooms didn't have wifi and we were chased after by the reception team because we'd forgotten to tell them we'd taken a bottle of water out of the mini bar. The rooms are dark and depressing and in bad need of refurb and you couldn't see the tv from the bed. The pool area was like being in a prison yard. We only stayed one night en route from the Galapagos and couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieBAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We just recently toured Ecuador and part of our tour included Guayaquil. We stayed at this hotel but would definitely not recommend it to anyone. We chose it only because of its location which was somewhat close, but not close enough, to the Malecon.
The hotel is dated. But my first turn off was when my partner and I went to the hotel bar. We thought we'd get a drink before dinner. We order vodka martinis, and were absolutely shocked when we got the bill for over $40. Yes...for 2 half-full martini glasses.
We have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world and have eaten at some of the finest restaurants in the world and have NEVER spent $40 for 2 vodka martinis.
The room where we stayed was equivalent to the Holiday Inn in the states, one that is 30+ years old.
The only redeeming quality of the hotel was its buffet breakfast which was adequate but nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

If you find the 40's and 50's romantic this is the place for you. Otherwise, stay at the new Hilton or Courtyard. Here are a few highlights:a lobby that hasn't been updated in decades; a small room with linoleum floors, no chairs to sit on, no dresser or shelves to place anything on;air conditioning that stops at swelter;a sink that doesn't drain;no mixer taps in the sink or tub; no face cloths;main restaurant closed;business center that limits internet access to 30 minutes;concierge who has perfected at least 20 ways to snarl;pervasive smoke stench throughout. Front desk was quite helpful, as was van driver, but this was offset by multiple warnings not to go out on the street,not to walk anywhere, not to hail taxis, not to carry cash etc etc. I really did not like this place

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albert19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

in the business district of Guayaquil, colonial style interior, a little small rooms, ver good breakfast buffet, very friendly staff, wellness, fitness and jacousy area, free WiFi, business center is open 24 hours, 2 restaurants and separate bar, own limousine (taxi) service, cooperate rate around 130 US$

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I stayed at the Oro Verde for two nights while being on a road trip around Ecuador. To say it upfront, the Oro Verde is a very nice hotel, but not one of the "Leading hotels in the world" as they claim. It is located in the center of Guayaquil, so I assume it is perfect for business people. For tourists not so much. They claim that they are within walking distance from the Malecon, but that's 13 blocks...quite a hike especially in the Guayaquil heat.
About the hotel experience...the room was of reasonable size, tastefully decorated, very clean with a very comfortable bed, and it was quiet: double windows and an almost silent A/C system. Staff were very friendy and helpful, providing me with every info and assistance I needed. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The pool-area is a concrete desert with flower pots, but then I don't expect a tropical garden in the center of Guayaquil. Wi-Fi internet was slow because of a weak signal. Parking in a garage across the street was included in the room-rate.
But still, after having travelled all across Ecuador, I found the Oro Verde to be overpriced. The room-rate alone was high by ecuadorian standards. The price of food and drinks in the restaurants made you feel like you were in the US and not in Ecuador. And despite being a good hotel, the Oro Verde provides nothing out of the ordinary to justify those prices.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallomainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 62 in Guayaquil
967 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
#9 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
#3 of 62 in Guayaquil
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guayaquil Airport
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
Grand Hotel Guayaquil
#6 of 62 in Guayaquil
512 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
#7 of 62 in Guayaquil
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil

Address: Avenida 9 de Octubre y Garcia Moreno | Garcia Moreno, Guayaquil 090150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range: $112 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil, Member of Worldhotels offers an exquisite combination of European experience and Ecuadorian hospitality. Our full-service, downtown hotel offers the ultimate in sophistication and comfort for business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel's superb location in the Guayaquil commercial and financial district means you are within walking distance of popular tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping as well as cultural and historical sites. The hotel is also just a quick eight-minute drive from the airport and offers complimentary transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oro Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing